We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makati Shangri-La Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Makati Shangri-La Manila to your Saves list
Makati Shangri-La Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Across The Horizon
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Exactly offer quality standard of Shangri-la service, they have chinese speaker management which made the life more easy. Must try their japanese restaurant Inagiku! Food quality is perfect, cheaper than other inagiku in asia. Room size is spacey, good executive lounge facilities. Overall cleaningness is good. Hotel is safe and secure. Staff are courtesy. Checkout better go to lobby becoz executive lounge sometimes is long queue.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    304
    57
    28
    18
See reviews for
180
192
131
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

With my sister we stayed for 5 nights, the staff and the services is the best I have ever had as well as the breakfast, we were at the 11 floor and the room is ok, the bathroom need lost of upgrade.
there was lots of black moisture in the shower, they came and fixed it right away it was very inconvenient cause I could not access the room almost all day because of the smell of the products they used!!, and this should not happen in a 5* hotel.
We were in japan a few days before at the shangri-la and it was the best hotel ever !!

Room Tip: make sure the bathroom is clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto K, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Nelly799,

Thank you for your sharing your recent experience at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. I was quite concerned about the feedback on the bathrooms. You are quite right; this is unacceptable and for that, please accept my sincerest apologies. Please know that our Engineering team has been working tirelessly day and night to do maintenance work and enhancements on our room facilities to better serve our guests.

Should you have further comments and suggestions, please do not hesitate to let me know. My email address is reto.klauser@shangri-la.com

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you can revisit us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Reto Klauser
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I like Shangri-La, I always did. It is the epithomy of service-orientation. Staff is serving you with a smile and it always comes across as sincere. I like the rooms and I like the pool. Breakfast buffet is the best I've ever seen. I had fresh mango every day :)
One remark - they make you sign a waiver when you like to take out a sandwich, really! That is British burocracy to the max.
But then again, next time I am in Manila, I will again stay at this beautiful place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto K, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Robbie,

Thank you for sharing your comments during your stay with us. We have carefully noted your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed the mangoes during breakfast.

Regarding the sandwich: this is a food safety precaution that we undertake every single time a guest takes out any food. We take food safety very seriously and have measures to ensure all the food served within and from the hotel are prepared in the most stringent preparation guidelines.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Makati Shangri-La, Manila in the near future.

Sincerely,

Reto Klauser
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for 1 night. Front desk accommodated all our request coz we checked in almost midnight and everything went well.

Very clean rooms and it is really a 5-star hotel with all the amenities you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was first class, excellent staff and gorgeous room. Unbelievable ( and way too large) breakfast buffet-Chinese, Japanese, Indonesian, Filipino, Western...they had at least six huge banquet tables with tons of food.

Nice pool, centrally located, except it is impossible to move anywhere in Manila, too many people and too few roads. accompanied my husband on a business trip, or I would not have gone.

Room Tip: Don't know. we had a quiet room, 11th floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is grand and impressive not only by its facilities but by the attitude of its staff. I was there for 1 week in July and will be back again in Nov for business. My stay had some hiccups but all was rectified. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola,
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great hotel. Stayed again in the Horizon Level. Dissappointed in the room and the low level we were on and the room was tired. Staff in the Horizon level excellent. Food and drinks everywhere above and beyond most places. This is the 4th time we have been here. Service in the Buffett restaurant was terrible. Watch on your bills as service is included in everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Makati
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#2 Spa Hotel in Makati
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makati Shangri-La Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.