We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel. Typical Shangrila.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makati Shangri-La Manila

Save Saved
You added Makati Shangri-La Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Online 3+1 Offer
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Makati
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel. Typical Shangrila.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is located close to the business district. There is a shopping center just opposite the hotel with Subway, TGIF, Hardrock Café amongst other outlets. Rooms are very well equipped and well maintained. I don't prefer road facing rooms. When I checked in I discovered that my room was indeed road facing. The hotel promptly changed my room to a pool facing one. Staff is very courteous. Food is good however the vegetarian choice is very limited. Don't miss the wonderful book mark that they leave by your bedside everyday. I love their attention to detail. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    267
    48
    25
    17
See reviews for
172
176
125
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Surely a 5STAR!!! Highly Recommended
Expensive but it's worth what you paid for :) Happy Guest here!
Luxurious, Very accommodating, Friend and Professional Hotel staff
Shangri-La Makati staff are all 5STAR Professional
They are very helpful with concerns/requests always with a smile :)

Rooms are very good, Lobby is luxurious, restaurant "RED" is a fine dinning restaurant and really good, Conway's a bar at the upper lever/2nd level is good also.

Facilities are really good and I say this is the Top hotel in Makati City.
Kudos Shangri-La Makati!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The lady in the check-counter accompanied me all the way to my room and explain how everything works. I think that is top class service!
Great wi-fi connection, facilities like swimming pool, tennis courts and gym are fantastic.

Room is very well presented and fantastic bed and pillows too.

Excellent location as well as it is right in the heart of Makati financial district and Greeenbelt is only a block away.

Check out was simply a breeze.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 days 3 nights with my sister and nieces last April 2012. Enjoyed our stay so much. Very comfortable hotel room we had. Buffet breakfast was remarkable since it has different cuisines to offer. Loved the swimming pool. So inviting! Will look forward for another stay in this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

*free wi-fi : strong connection; type in guest and the password for the day (or week)
*soothing live music at the Lobby
*walking distance to the best shopping mall in makati (Greenbelt)
*restaurants: Shang Palace, RED, Inagiku
*excellent staff (and they're all pretty, friendly and professional)
*one of the best breakfast buffets in the city

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I can't say anything bad about this hotel. From the moment you enter, right up until you leave, staying in Shangri-la, just feels right, all the time. It's grand, it smells good everywhere, the staff take care of you and your requests promptly, yet it doesn't feel patronising, or intimidating at all. You are provided with complete amenities, but should something be missing, just ask and it will be provided.

The breakfast buffet at Circles is a must, so better include when booking, it is cheaper that way. Inagiku Japanese Restaurant is a favorite. I like to eat there during slow nights. Sit by the bar so you can interact with the chef and ask questions about their dish, if that's your thing.

The location is superb. Walking distance to shopping and dining havens such as Greenbelt, Glorietta, Landmark, just to name a few. There is also a Starbucks right across the other entrance.

I never get tired of Shangri-la.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The renovated rooms are nice. Staff service at check in was excellent. I took the airport pick up by hotel and when I arrived, I was greeted when I got out of the car and taken straight to the room for check in. I requested for a room change as there was a strong varnish smell. The food at paparazzi restaurant was good, but I found it very expensive. The lobby bar has a wine buffet at 700 pesos, a great value- they had 6 red and 6 white on the buffet. The breakfast had a nice spread as well. Health club was decent size and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#2 Spa Hotel in Makati
#2 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makati Shangri-La Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.