We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service + Facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makati Shangri-La Manila

Save Saved
You added Makati Shangri-La Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Online 3+1 Offer
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Makati
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service + Facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Shangri-La Makati is a beautiful hotel, the decor is classic & luxurious. We walked into a stunning room filled with rose petals (see photo) and some treats for us to enjoy. The service upheld at Shangri-La was professional, curteous and the team went above and beyond for us during our two seperate stays.

The hotel is supremely positioned to explore the city and it's shopping! Greenbelt Shopping malls are only a few minutes away.

We have stayed at Dusit Thani Manila our last time in Manila and found the rooms were noisy and the service was not consistent. We would love to return and highly recommend this Shangri-La Makati.

Room Tip: Book a Horizon Club suite - you'll enjoy a higher floor and access to all club level offerings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    914
    261
    46
    24
    17
See reviews for
168
173
124
680
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

the pastry selection was impressive and the quality of the food is above every hotel in Asia. The service is super attentive and always ready to anticipate your needs. the hostess were very warm and welcome you with a big smile, that's exactly what I need at 8 o clock in the morning. Ronald, the waiter, was always smiling and friendly, once understood I love mango approached me every morning with a huge glass of mango juice. Amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip April 2012.
The hotel is in the centre of the business district within a few minutes walking distance of a huge array of shopping malls and restaurants. I found the hotel a luxurious oasis from the hustle and bustle. You will find security pretty tight - to get into most of the malls you will need to get through security and metal detectors. The hotel security is similar.
The hotel itself I found to be excellent - possibly the best I have stayed at so far. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and polite. They even have a bell boy at the elevators to choose your floor!
I had a club room that was large and luxurious with all the facilities you would expect of this class of hotel. The lobby and large lounge area is spectacular with live music every evening, The buffet breakfast is by far the biggest and most comprehensive I have ever seen - really overwhelming. I ate out most nights but did try the Japanese restaurant and found it quite expensive but excellent. However, I would recommend getting out and trying other restaurants. There are some excellent Japanese and local restaurants and prices are very reasonable.
I have no hesitation recommending this hotel and I will use this again on my next trip to the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, spectacular view. They pay attention to detail here, but for the price that should be a given. The staff was very helpful - currency exchange, arraigning a tour, offering advice on getting to certain parts of town - terrific. Even the security dogs wagged their tails in greeting. Live music in the gorgeous lobby was always a treat. Breakfast buffet was abundant, the variety of choices was overwhelming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Rooms are big and well equipped. I especially like the fact that they leave a multi travel adaptor in the room for overseas guest like myself. Service is good and and the breakfast spread is enormous. The room I was in showing its age, the both cupboard didn't close properly but otherwise its still a great room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great hotel service,even better restaurants. Security was always tight, they look underneath your car for bombs! Hotel view was awesome overlooking greenbelt. Could use a better tennis court!
Spa was average, but better than most.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for about a week in January 2013, on a business trip. I was on the club floor, so had access to the Horizon Club, which was really nice - they have soft drinks, coffee and tea the whole day, cocktails and finger food from 5 to 7pm, and wine and cheese until 9pm. We arrived slightly late for the 7pm cutoff time on the first day, and unlike other hotels where they take away the food at 7pm sharp, the staff there gave us plenty of time to fill our plates. And they even specially cooked another dish for us!

The room was nice and spacious, and I was extremely impressed that there was a printer / scanner in the room! Also, free wifi everywhere. Food at breakfast was great as well. It was my birthday, and someone showed up at my door with a birthday cake! Plus, I was very impressed with the fact that when we got into a regular taxi from the hotel, they took down the taxi number for security purposes (they checked the cabby's ID) and they also wrote down the cab details on a slip, in case we left anything behind.

All in all a great experience. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Club rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#1 Business Hotel in Makati
#2 Spa Hotel in Makati
#2 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makati Shangri-La Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.