We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Makati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makati Shangri-La Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Makati Shangri-La Manila to your Saves list
Makati Shangri-La Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Beyond the Horizon
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Makati
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay in Makati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Enjoyed a week stay as part of a conference in Manila. My room was on the 20th floor and it was a good size with a King size bed which was very comfortable. Airconditioning was quiet but had I had some slight noise during the night from the lifts - not a huge issue but if you can ask for a room away from the area it will be perfect.
Food at the Shangri La was memorable if you can arrange a dinner at Red you will not be dissappointed with the service and quality of food, other mentions to the Japanese restaurant which we also enjoyed.
The pool area is not busy so it was quite nice to sit and enjoy a cocktail in the balmy evening, nice fresh juices and really good club sandwiches!
This was my first stay at the Shangri La and I enjoyed the attentive service and excellent food in this hotel, it is a haven in the busy city of Manila. Shopping centres nearby are very good and it is a safe area for you to explore.

Room Tip: King size bed is very comfortable, but try and ask for rooms away from lifts as it can be a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    378
    74
    32
    22
See reviews for
215
230
152
916
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Excellent service delivered at "The Shang" -- friendly, personal, yet un-intrusive. Like their advertising says, hospitality is "in their nature"!

The room is very comfortable, well-appointed, and spacious. I had two twins (king room not available), and I must say the twin bed is quite large -- closer to a queen size.

The gym is one of the largest I've seen in a hotel, with lots of windows. There is even a separate room for spin bikes.

This is my first time staying at a Shangri-La, and I will be more than happy to come back and stay on my dime (this was a paid-for business trip).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I've approached a front desk officer to arrange a cake to be sent to the room for my friend's birthday. She was not willing to assist and tried to push me to go on my own to the bakery or concierge. I had to emphasize that I'm a guest of the hotel staying at horizon. The cake was delivered to the room without a candle. Concierge is the only saving grace.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon_Boy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Excellent hotel, surrounded by shopping malls, you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

For the second time within this year we stayed in ShangriLa hotel in Makati, it is one of the best five stars hotel I have ever stayed in.
Location is perfect, among different malls and shops that deal with all, clothes, electronics, house holds, cosmetics, medicines, restaurants, night clubs, bars etc....as Makati City is the Diamond of Philippines I think the best of Makati is surrounding this hotel ...
Staff ....sooo friendly, helpful and dealing with you professionally.
Room and amenities ...as you expect in five stars hotel, clean, quiet with privacy.
Food ...the breakfast is perfectly selected to cover most tastes and desires.
Thank you Makati Shangri La

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

It's pretty obvious from all the other reviews that one thing is for sure - we all agree that Makati Shangri-la is a good place to stay! Great location - near all the big malls plus Rustan's supermarket (important when travelling with a baby!), good food - buffet is a must try and great hotel service and hospitality! This is the hotel to stay when in Makati!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Shangiri-La Makati is a great hotel in the capital of Manila. From time of arrival to departure I can only say ''fantastic''. What a credit to the hotel industry, I only wish others would follow their professional approach to hotel management services. I stayed in a executive room No:1030 which is very large and looks out over the front of the hotel. The room was top quality and very quite for a good nights sleep. The bar and resturants in the hotel are of 5 star quality and can not be faulted. I look forward to my next visit very soon. Well done Makati Shangri-La hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1030 is a great room, very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makati
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 74 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 74 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 74 in Makati
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#2 Spa Hotel in Makati
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makati Shangri-La Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.