We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Manilla” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New World Makati Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added New World Makati Hotel to your Saves list
New World Makati Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esperanza Street corner Makati Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1228, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good option in Manilla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very modern lobby and F&B venues, excellent breakfast. They have lots of staff therefore you will always be assited immediately. Rooms are spacious but furniture in the room is not as modern as the joint guest areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    401
    111
    53
    13
See reviews for
137
173
111
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have frequently stayed at this hotel on business trips in Manila and have never been disappointed with the service. Great buffet breakfast. Very courteous and attentive staff. Located opposite the shopping centre with great shopping for quality items. Many good restaurants with great variety of international food to choose. Last stay was in June and they were renovating the rooms which are quite large. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The lounge, lobby and rooms in the executive floors are newly renovated, so they are very nice compared to the other floors. Also make sure to upgrade to a room that will give you club access as it is really worth the money. The problem is the hotel is still undergoing renovation so it is still very noisy, we complained 2x about it, and they stopped the construction for a few hours.
The newly renovated rooms are very chic but the downside is they out a sliding divider and not a solid wall between the bedroom and bathroom, it looks nice but not practical as you can hear everything going on in the bathroom from the bed so not practical and definitely not romantic.
The hotel is very close to Greenbelt area for all shopping and dining needs.

Room Tip: Rooms in the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Booked a room for a night and and got the second night free as part of their promotion:) Location is superb, just across the Greenbelt shopping mall. Staff is efficient and friendly. The only downside is the renovation going on...we could hear the noise from the construction crew. But it's ok since we were mostly out during the day. And there's no free wi-fi. At this day and age, it should be free. Even SM malls have free wi-fi! Our room is just average, nothing special. I like the bathroom, though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
186 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I do like a lot about this hotel, but the rooms don't match the rest for quality.

Location is fantastic for the shopping mall, restaurants and nightlife. Main hotel restaurant is excellent, with a fantastic buffet every day.

Wifi not free, can never agree with that. Why not charge extra for running water, using the lights....?

Staff are, if anything, over-efficient! Very friendly (very Filipino in that sense) and will remove a plate, cup, etc pretty much the second you've finished... But four different waiting staff asking you within the first three minutes of being served your dinner how you're enjoying your meal - really??? And usually just when you've taken a mouthful of food... Calm it a bit, please!

The public areas are very grand, clean, modern, nice, the lobby bar area very good, but the rooms are like it's a different hotel. Gloomy, dull, dated, they feel more like something in a 2-star place, and from the 1980s. The quality in no way lives up to the rest of the hotel.

My bathroom did have a walk-in shower rather than something hanging on the wall in the bath (which I can never quite understand in so-called 4- and 5-star hotels) which is always a plus for me.

In summary, I think if you're going to stay in Makati, there are better places from the big names at a similar price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We chose this hotel for our last 4 days in Manila because of the fantastic experience my wife had there early 2012, when she "placed" there by KLM after a cancellation.

The hotel is a bit in the higher price range but it is worth evert peso.
We chose the Residence Club package which cost a bit more, but includes breakfast, a very good wifi access and access to the lounge at 24th floor for free daily coctail buffets and a variety of other choices.
The room on the 12th floor was good, not very luxurious but way above average filipino hotel rooms, with a good view over Greenbelt shopping area.
There was supposed to be some renovating going on, but nothing of that disturbed us.
The bed was wonderful.

Breakfast buffet on the ground floor was HUGE and overwhelming with filipino, chinese and americano choises. If you can't find anything to your liking there you should stay hungry.
Service at the brekfast table was perfect.
We also tried the breakfast in the lounge on 24th floorther was optional with the Residence Club package and the service there was more personal with good menu choices that could be adjusted to your personal liking, and a small buffet in addition.

The staff was always smiling and very helpful. After airport pickup (PHP 2800) we were welcomed and shown to our room by the staff, and the formal check in was done in the room.
There were helpful staff all over and you really felt appriciated as a guest.

The hotel is located in a fairly short distance from NAIA airport and in the middle of the shopping and business areas of Makati. Greenbelt was just across the street and Landmark, Glorietta and others within walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants at Greenbelt just across the street of you don't want to eat at the hotel.

We used their airport picup and delivery service both ways at PHP 2800 each way and the service was good and personal, and the driver picking us up had some handy shortcuts to handle the rush hour traffic, and he informed us all the way of where he was going, in case we would notice that he deviated from the presumed shortest route.

We had a late plane leaving NAIA on departure day and a big plus for allowing late checkout at the time of our choosing without any extra charge.

We will definately return here.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. If you want a view over Makati you should be above 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

while everybody was out on the beach, we stayed here during this weekend, enjoyed the calmness the hotel brins, plus the renovation did make us feel at home, the pool was well positioned, as it was not on the hot side, so we could very well be swimming event at around 3pm! food was great, love the breakfast buffet, made us full right until it was time for lunch again.. over all i would love to come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New World Makati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Makati Hotel

Address: Esperanza Street corner Makati Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1228, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Makati
#6 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#6 Family Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Makati Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury retreat and destination in the heart of the city, New World Makati Hotel is in the heart of “The Wall Street of the Philippines” -- the financial district of Makati City. Right across the street from the smart Greenbelt area of Ayala Center, the 595 stylishly appointed guestrooms and suites combine stunning city views with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New World Makati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Makati
Makati Renaissance
New World Makati Hotel Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New World Makati Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.