We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Manila to your Saves list
InterContinental Manila
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ayala Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was a bit skeptical on booking this hotel as it is quite known to be dated but I am very happy I did. The food is superb, staff are all friendly and as a local, I didnt feel discriminated like in some big hotels in the country.

The room is spacious. I commend the receptionists for being very patient with me and helping me find a good price for my stay.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to let the reception know your budget so they can find the right room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your your warm review.

We are happy that you were delighted with your stay and that you appreciated our services, facilities and food offerings. Your remarks definitely inspire the team to continue in delivering only the best to our guests, like you.

Please see us again in you future visits to Manila!

Best regards,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    282
    170
    52
    22
See reviews for
94
113
88
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I last reviewed this property in 2011 and I just want to quickly mention that the customer service at this Intercontinental is the best of all the IHG properties this Royal Ambassador has seen in his travels!
From Christopher Wichlan, The General Manager, to the lifeguard at the pool, to the security staff, I am always greeted warmly. There are newer properties around Makati, but, I will continue to return
Thanks Christopher ! I Customer service and the warm staff is the best here for five years plus!

Room Tip: Pool View tends to be a bit more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for a very humbling review. The pleasure is ours as we were able achieve our goal of extending a delightful stay to our dear guests. I will share your good words to my team. I am sure that they will be inspired.

We are always looking forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Was here on business w/c 14/7/14 and was really impressed with the hotel and the service provided.

Good points:

The welcome from the staff was very good indeed, as everywhere in Manila.

The food was excellent, with the buffet providing food to suit everyone.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Shower was very hot & powerful.

Not so good:

The live music in the bar was far too intrusive & loud.

The room itself smelled slightly musty.

The broadband connection was down more than it was up.

But there was Typhoon Glenda that week, & I can't praise the staff enough for getting through that & keeping smiling, it must have been tough for them.

So 4/5 seems fair, I think.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

I am happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Manila and appreciated our service, rooms and food offerings. Your comments are inspiring us to continue and deliver excellent service to our guests true our brand.

On the other hand, I apologize for your dissatisfaction with the music in our bar, room smell and internet. Rest assured that these had been brought to the attention of the concerned Department Heads.

We look forward to having you again.

Sincerely,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

i want to give a balanced review so I will review the positives before I cover the negatives.
People: Great service staff, always eager to help. very responsible. One of the best service staff i have seen in my varied travel, makes it hard for me to give them an average rating because they deserve the top rating. Interestingly there's also such a high staff:guest ratio, i see more hotel staff in the lobby than i see guest at any point of time despite the hotel doing full occupancy. smooth and fast check in and check out as mentioned by other travelers.
Breakfast: I liked the retro look and feel of the Jeepeney cafe where breakfast is served. breakfast by itself is an ok spread, however food & drink quality is not as good. they could do better, i am not sure if its a general problem with the Philippines standard that reflects here (my first trip to PH)
Negatives:
Dated building/Infrastructure/rooms:
Everything looks so dated like the hotel is still stuck in the 80's. right from the Lobby to the rooms, to the meeting rooms all have such a aged look i actually got depressed. while the hotel is due for a complete makeover and i am sure it will be a great hotel post renovation, what i cant understand is why does the lobby have to be so dull? is it because the owners don't want to invest in any improvements at such a basic level like a smarter lobby? renovated conference rooms? ..... even the guest rooms give such a dated feel. bathrooms feel old.
however rooms as mentioned by other travelers are def. clean. clean linen, contrast that will an aged carpet and the dichotomy beats me completely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your enjoying your stay with us and for your appreciation of our team's service. We always strive to deliver only the best services to our guest and we are grateful that our efforts get appreciated.

On the other hand, I apologize for your dissatisfaction with the hotel's overall ambiance. Rest assured that we have noted your feedback as we rely on you, our guests, on how we can better meet your needs.

Please see us again in your future visits to Manila.

Best regards,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile


ذهبت للفلبين اكثر من مرة للعمل اوصي به للعائلات العربيه بشكل كبير
الفندق في قلب منطقة التسوق مجرد خروجك من الفندق تجد مناطق التسوق مباشرتا امامك والكوفي شوب والسينما بالاضافه الى الامان التام في المنطقه. بالنسبه للافطار ممتاز حدا ومتنوع
اوصي به بشكل كبير للاخوان جميعا سواء عائلات او للعمل لن تندم باذن الله


Location is ideal and breakfast is ideal as well . I been there for 10 days i am highly recommend this hotel . The location in the medial of the shopping area . I been to Manila many times for business , i could not find find better than intercon hotel as location and serves . For family i would highly recommend this hotel for shopping as it is located in the hart of the shopping area

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Manila as you home away for home for 10 days. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our location and breakfast offerings.

We look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here in June 2014 again this time for six nights on business as usual. The service here is fantastic, everyone says good morning and asks you how you are. The pool area is very comfortable and a relaxing haven form the bustling city.

The rooms are slightly dated now but clean, ask for a room at the back overlooking the pool if you can. The bar has a great offer of happy hour with unlimited beer for a set price for three hours although it is a little sterile in there. I was slightly embarrassed by singers they have that will come and sit at your table with you and sing love songs at you, perhaps this seem more normal in the Philippines than for us shy people. The breakfast is a little expensive but the buffet is huge will all sorts of different food styles on offer and the freshly cooked omelets delivered to your table were very tasty indeed.

Well recommended for a business stay!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your thoughts with us.

We are more than glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, so much more that you appreciated our service, pool amenities and food offerings among others. Reviews such as your only inspire the team to maintain the hotel's mark of hospitality excellence.

We also wish to thank you for your suggestions as it help us identify areas of improvement.

Thank you for making InterContinental Manila as your home away from home! We are excited to welcome you back.

Best regards,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

First visit to Manila and the Intercontinental Makati. Enjoyed the stay every much. Yes, the hotel is showing it's age but polite service and good functioning rooms overcame any other negativity about this property. Check-in was a breeze with no waiting times and queues. High marks for smiles, politeness and greetings which I received every time you would pass by a staff member. Room at 10th floor was well equipped and everything functioning well.... comfy pillows, good size writing desk, flat screen tv, ironing board, hair dryer, safe, always replenished bottled water. Yes the bathroom is a little cramped, but very clean and adequately stocked. Two gripes: 1) the set of power sockets on the wall behind the desk were too close to the wall mirror made it a struggle to get all the gadgets and laptop charged up with the necessary universal adapters. 2) the room could do with better lighting. The hotel is in a good location - walking distance to malls, restaurants, supermarket and coffee shops. I would stay here again. Good job.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

It is with great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our services. Indeed, I am very proud of our team here as they always strive to deliver the InterContinental Manila brand of service that we are known for. I will share your kind words with them for inspiration.

We are all looking forward to your return visit.

Warmest regards from your InterContinental Manila Family,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Manila

Address: 1 Ayala Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
#10 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by National Artist Leandro Locsin, InterContinental Manila is a symbol of pride in the Philippines' premier financial and commercial hub-Makati City. The hotel is across the Greenbelt and Glorietta shopping and entertainment districts and is easily accessible from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. Our 332 guestrooms and suites boast every comfort for an enjoyable and unforgettable visit. The latest technology including in-room high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in public spaces is sure to please business or leisure travellers. For guests looking for extra space and added comfort, our Club InterContinental rooms are available and offer special privileges such as a Club Lounge for private check-in and check-out, sumptuous breakfast, afternoon tea service, evening cocktails and a selection of international newspapers and magazines. The Club InterContinental Lounge at the top floor offers a breathtaking view of Makati and the nearby Bonifacio Global City. InterContinental Manila offers one of the largest conference and meeting facilities in the city and has a well-established reputation for delivering the highest standards of excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Manila Hotel Makati
Intercontinental Hotel Manila
Intercontinental Hotel Makati
Intercon Manila
InterContinental Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.