We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay for six days and comfortable home in Manila” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Manila to your Saves list
InterContinental Manila
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ayala Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Makati
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Another stay for six days and comfortable home in Manila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here in June 2014 again this time for six nights on business as usual. The service here is fantastic, everyone says good morning and asks you how you are. The pool area is very comfortable and a relaxing haven form the bustling city.

The rooms are slightly dated now but clean, ask for a room at the back overlooking the pool if you can. The bar has a great offer of happy hour with unlimited beer for a set price for three hours although it is a little sterile in there. I was slightly embarrassed by singers they have that will come and sit at your table with you and sing love songs at you, perhaps this seem more normal in the Philippines than for us shy people. The breakfast is a little expensive but the buffet is huge will all sorts of different food styles on offer and the freshly cooked omelets delivered to your table were very tasty indeed.

Well recommended for a business stay!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your thoughts with us.

We are more than glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, so much more that you appreciated our service, pool amenities and food offerings among others. Reviews such as your only inspire the team to maintain the hotel's mark of hospitality excellence.

We also wish to thank you for your suggestions as it help us identify areas of improvement.

Thank you for making InterContinental Manila as your home away from home! We are excited to welcome you back.

Best regards,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    282
    171
    52
    22
See reviews for
94
113
88
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

First visit to Manila and the Intercontinental Makati. Enjoyed the stay every much. Yes, the hotel is showing it's age but polite service and good functioning rooms overcame any other negativity about this property. Check-in was a breeze with no waiting times and queues. High marks for smiles, politeness and greetings which I received every time you would pass by a staff member. Room at 10th floor was well equipped and everything functioning well.... comfy pillows, good size writing desk, flat screen tv, ironing board, hair dryer, safe, always replenished bottled water. Yes the bathroom is a little cramped, but very clean and adequately stocked. Two gripes: 1) the set of power sockets on the wall behind the desk were too close to the wall mirror made it a struggle to get all the gadgets and laptop charged up with the necessary universal adapters. 2) the room could do with better lighting. The hotel is in a good location - walking distance to malls, restaurants, supermarket and coffee shops. I would stay here again. Good job.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

It is with great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our services. Indeed, I am very proud of our team here as they always strive to deliver the InterContinental Manila brand of service that we are known for. I will share your kind words with them for inspiration.

We are all looking forward to your return visit.

Warmest regards from your InterContinental Manila Family,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a well located hotel with first class efficient friendly staff. The business lounge is very good. The food is very good.
The rooms are well proportioned.
The overall product is however tired - and this I saw in other hotels briefly visited. A major upgrade is overdue. Everything works but does need a makeover!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at InterContinental Manila.We are more than delighted that you enjoyed your lodging experience with us.

Your comments are all noted as we rely on you, our guests, on how we can better meet your needs.

Please see us again!

Best regards,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is well located in the central part of Makati, within the Glorietta precinct and a short walk to Greenbelt.

The hotel itself is starting to show its age a little, the rooms are large and spacious, but the furnishings are a little dated. The bathrooms I found a little pokey for my liking.

Having said that, the bed was comfortable. Because it is a little older style, some good discounts and rates can be had when compared to neighbouring hotels.

The best part of this hotel is the staff, very friendly, very attentive and always there to help.

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Manila as your lodging of choice.

I'm happy to note of your kind remarks on the hotel's service, rooms and location. We are indeed well known for these three aspects among the others and we are grateful that you appreciated these as well.

Your valuable suggestions has been noted as well for us to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As the first 5 star hotel in Manila the InterCon is not the most modern, but it has gravitas and quality rooms. The fittings are quality and it has a certain, and desirable ambience that is just a bit old school. I spend a lot of time in hotels and I love that slightly old fashioned feeling. Room service, a staple for the business traveller is reasonable and the food is excellent, the internet really works and then there are the staff. This is The Philippines so you get properly friendly staff and they are, well, just 'nice'. Location is just fine, with plenty of eating alternatives and shopping choice. And being on the edge of Makati means you can get away on the main roads as quickly as Manila traffic will allow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thought on us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the classic experience it brought to you. Being the first deluxe hotel in Makati, we definitely take pride of the properties elegance over the years.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phils
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I really appreciate the kindness of your Front Office personnel, Ms Mia Rosal. She saved me from a big embarrassing situation. She extended an extra mile for me that's why I felt so overwhelmed with her effectiveness and efficiency as FO Officer. She deserves a big praise and a raise! The incident I was referring happened sometime in March 2014, due to my busyness as a Finance and Tax Consultant of big companies, which made this delay but I cannot complete my day today without thanking her from the bottom of my heart which I came now to the hotel just to say "thank you so much Ms Mia for what you've done last time, it was really a rewarding gesture, you really tried to find a way to a very difficult problem. You are such a wonderful and amazing person. I am sure that the hotel management will see things that you have been doing and will also appreciate them. Again, I wish you good luck in all your upcoming and exciting endeavors. You are so great! God bless you more!"

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for such a warm review regarding our one of Concierge team members, Mia.
We are indeed very proud of her. I will share your kind remarks not only to her but to our entire team as well. Surely, they will be inspired to maintain InterContinental Manila's mark of hospitality excellence.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel made my stay much more enjoyable and memorable. From the front door how you are greeted warmly and with enthusiasm to the lobby ambassador who will help guide you to the front desk. And the class service does not stop there. Your front desk agents are professional and always has a smile that sincerely wants to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The bellmen are on top things, delivers your luggage in a timely manner. The staffs are truly dedicated individual focusing on excellent service! Oh, they always remember your name which is rare today in customer service.

Highly recommend this hotel if you ever in Manila .

Thank you Intercontinental you are a class act!

Elias samonte

Room Tip: Purchase a breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thought with us. It is genuinely appreciated.

Warm reviews such as yours only inspires us to continue to strive and keep our efforts up in making the InterContinental Manila a leader in hospitality excellence. Your kind words will be shared to the entire team.

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Manila as your lodging of choice. We are always happy to serve you.

From your InterContinental Manila Family,


Christopher W.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Manila

Address: 1 Ayala Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by National Artist Leandro Locsin, InterContinental Manila is a symbol of pride in the Philippines' premier financial and commercial hub-Makati City. The hotel is across the Greenbelt and Glorietta shopping and entertainment districts and is easily accessible from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. Our 332 guestrooms and suites boast every comfort for an enjoyable and unforgettable visit. The latest technology including in-room high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in public spaces is sure to please business or leisure travellers. For guests looking for extra space and added comfort, our Club InterContinental rooms are available and offer special privileges such as a Club Lounge for private check-in and check-out, sumptuous breakfast, afternoon tea service, evening cocktails and a selection of international newspapers and magazines. The Club InterContinental Lounge at the top floor offers a breathtaking view of Makati and the nearby Bonifacio Global City. InterContinental Manila offers one of the largest conference and meeting facilities in the city and has a well-established reputation for delivering the highest standards of excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Manila Hotel Makati
Intercontinental Hotel Manila
Intercontinental Hotel Makati
Intercon Manila
InterContinental Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.