We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not new but very well maintained hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Manila

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Manila
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ayala Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #14 of 64 hotels in Makati
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not new but very well maintained hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I am a critical hotel guest, I know. This hotel however is great. A friendly reception and a great room. Very clean, large, comfortable bed and super clean bathroom. I had the chance to visit the club lounge and was impressed by the service of the staff and good quality food.
Due to my work I didn't have the chance to see the pool or wellness area.
The hotel is directly next to one of the best shopping malls in Manila and located within the green belt, a very safe area of Manila. I would be happy to come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Reading such a wonderful comment like yours is truly an inspiration to our team to keep up good works up in making the InterContinental Manila a leader in hospitality excellence. Being a classic, we definitely view our age as our asset, and we are happy that you are able to appreciate this.

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Manila as your lodging of choice and we are excited to have you again.

Best regards,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    245
    148
    47
    17
See reviews for
78
106
81
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for a business trip. First impression was that despite great location the rooms were very dated and poorly maintained. All my colleagues said the same thing. The rooms smelt mouldy. I normally like to spend time in my room after business meetings relaxing but the vibe was so yucky that I went out every night or hung out on executive club. As I said, great location for shopping but not a very nice place for leisure activity.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for your dissatisfaction on some of our products and services. Rest assured that this is not the level of service of InterContinental Manila.

We treat this matter seriously and we would like to investigate further to address the areas concerned. As such, may we request for additional details on your stay. Please feel free to send these through a private message to this account.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN USA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

While I am a somewhat regular guest here, and I was happy with the refurbishment last summer, after this visit and feedback from coworkers, I am going to try a new hotel.
The staff remains excellant. The rooms - ok.
I am unhappy with room rates, charging for internet and hotel car costs to airport.
I was advised by my Manila office that there is a brand new Holiday Inn that is 2-4 min walk away and we all agreed to try this on next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on us during your recent stay. It is our pleasure to learn of your appreciation of the hotel.

Let me also take this opportunity to assure you that our internet and transportation rates are rightfully set and are very competitive within the industry. Furthermore, we also offer packages which are already inclusive of internet. Our friendly reservation agents can gladly discuss more of these with you. Nevertheless, your comments are all well-noted.

We hope to have more opportunities to have you again at InterContinental Manila.

Sincerely,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyG
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A modern, clean hotel right in he heart of Makati and all it's shopping delights. The staff could not have been more helpful, the room was large and comfortable with free wifi and cable. The Jeepney restaurant is terrific with, I think, one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever seen and the dinner buffet was awesome too.

Room Tip: We had a commercial view room on the sixth floor - private and a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your appreciation! We are more than glad that you had such a wonderful lodging and dining experience here at InterContinental Manila.

We would love to have you back to extend the same excellent InterContinental service to you in the future.

Best regards,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for one evening at this hotel while on vacation in Manila. We had a room overlooking the shopping complex, and while there was hustle and bustle beneath us, and the elevator was just outside our door, the room kept out all the noise. The room had a very comfy king size bed. The bathroom was little small, relative to the size of the room, but it was nice and clean. We had a couples massage and salt scrub at the hotel spa and the service was amazing. We booked our appointment at 11pm and had the salt scrub first, then a massage at midnight -- it was so relaxing, we pretty much sleepwalked back to our room!

The pool was okay, and a little bit confusing to get to. We had a buffet breakfast at Cafe Jeepney. The spread was a little odd for breakfast (sushi for breakfast?), but the food was yummy nonetheless. They weren't too accomodating when we requested a late checkout, however, they did hold our luggage for us for a few hours while we went shopping after we checked out.

Overall, it was a very nice stay and I would not hesitate staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are more than glad to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is our goal to provide only the best services and facilities to our valued guests and it is gratifying each time it is appreciated.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here on business. The room was ok, but nothing special and a little tired. Unfortunately my room was right beside the elevator and looked out over a concrete roof with a satellite dish. Bathroom was small for what is supposed to be a 5 star. I tried the main cafe in the lounge (where the breakfast buffet is served) and the pool restaurant and both serve the same menu. The breakfast buffet was passable, but not a lot of choices for hot food. Not a lot of seating in the lobby. I would choose the New World or Dusit Thani over this hotel if I was staying in Makati again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with regret to note of your dissatisfaction. Please accept my apologies as we fell short of your justifiably high expectations. Rest assured that we have taken note of your valuable comments as these help us identify areas of improvement.

We hope to welcome you back to serve you redeem you otherwise good opinion of the property.

Sincerely,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Located in the heart of the busy & bustling Makati City in Metro Manila, this hotel offers pleasurable & enjoyable amenities & privileges: buffet breakfast at the Cafe Jeepney, 24h complimentary access to the Gym & Fitness Center,coffee & tea making facilities in your room, 24h service to the Business center, valet services and room service.

As a frequent guest & member of the Priority Club group of hotels, I had the opportunity to check-in as an occasion of a Medical Scientific Meeting (and also for pleasure). The room assigned to me was really spacious. Unlike most other hotels, upon the approach to the toilet-bathroom (TBr), there is a small walk-in closet and separate water sink outside the TBr (a good idea because one can wash hands or face without having to wait for the TBr user to finish) . The toilet room has its own bath tub, water sink, & bidet.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the far end of the alley to assure you a really spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am more than glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental Manila. Your patronage and support is very much valued and we hope to have many more opportunities to welcome you back.

Best regards,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Manila

Address: 1 Ayala Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Manila 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LANDMARK HOTEL IN THE PHILIPPINES' PREMIERE METROPOLIS. Designed by National Artist Leandro Locsin, InterContinental Manila is a symbol of pride in the Philippines' premier financial and commercial hub-Makati City. The hotel is across the Greenbelt and Glorietta shopping and entertainment districts and is easily accessible from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. Our 332 guestrooms and suites boast every comfort for an enjoyable and unforgettable visit. The latest technology including in-room high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in public spaces is sure to please business or leisure travellers. For guests looking for extra space and added comfort, our Club InterContinental rooms are available and offer special privileges such as a Club Lounge for private check-in and check-out, sumptuous breakfast, afternoon tea service, evening cocktails and a selection of international newspapers and magazines. The Club InterContinental Lounge at the top floor offers a breathtaking view of Makati and the nearby Bonifacio Global City. InterContinental Manila offers one of the largest conference and meeting facilities in the city and has a well-established reputation for delivering the highest standards of excellence. For leisure time, we recommend a visit to the nearby Ayala Museum and the walled city of Intramuros. The island fortress of Corregidor is also a worthwhile outing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Manila Hotel Makati
Intercontinental Hotel Manila
Intercontinental Hotel Makati
Intercon Manila
InterContinental Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.