We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Manila

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Manila
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ayala Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Makati
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for one evening at this hotel while on vacation in Manila. We had a room overlooking the shopping complex, and while there was hustle and bustle beneath us, and the elevator was just outside our door, the room kept out all the noise. The room had a very comfy king size bed. The bathroom was little small, relative to the size of the room, but it was nice and clean. We had a couples massage and salt scrub at the hotel spa and the service was amazing. We booked our appointment at 11pm and had the salt scrub first, then a massage at midnight -- it was so relaxing, we pretty much sleepwalked back to our room!

The pool was okay, and a little bit confusing to get to. We had a buffet breakfast at Cafe Jeepney. The spread was a little odd for breakfast (sushi for breakfast?), but the food was yummy nonetheless. They weren't too accomodating when we requested a late checkout, however, they did hold our luggage for us for a few hours while we went shopping after we checked out.

Overall, it was a very nice stay and I would not hesitate staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are more than glad to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is our goal to provide only the best services and facilities to our valued guests and it is gratifying each time it is appreciated.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    255
    152
    47
    19
See reviews for
80
112
83
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here on business. The room was ok, but nothing special and a little tired. Unfortunately my room was right beside the elevator and looked out over a concrete roof with a satellite dish. Bathroom was small for what is supposed to be a 5 star. I tried the main cafe in the lounge (where the breakfast buffet is served) and the pool restaurant and both serve the same menu. The breakfast buffet was passable, but not a lot of choices for hot food. Not a lot of seating in the lobby. I would choose the New World or Dusit Thani over this hotel if I was staying in Makati again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with regret to note of your dissatisfaction. Please accept my apologies as we fell short of your justifiably high expectations. Rest assured that we have taken note of your valuable comments as these help us identify areas of improvement.

We hope to welcome you back to serve you redeem you otherwise good opinion of the property.

Sincerely,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Located in the heart of the busy & bustling Makati City in Metro Manila, this hotel offers pleasurable & enjoyable amenities & privileges: buffet breakfast at the Cafe Jeepney, 24h complimentary access to the Gym & Fitness Center,coffee & tea making facilities in your room, 24h service to the Business center, valet services and room service.

As a frequent guest & member of the Priority Club group of hotels, I had the opportunity to check-in as an occasion of a Medical Scientific Meeting (and also for pleasure). The room assigned to me was really spacious. Unlike most other hotels, upon the approach to the toilet-bathroom (TBr), there is a small walk-in closet and separate water sink outside the TBr (a good idea because one can wash hands or face without having to wait for the TBr user to finish) . The toilet room has its own bath tub, water sink, & bidet.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the far end of the alley to assure you a really spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am more than glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental Manila. Your patronage and support is very much valued and we hope to have many more opportunities to welcome you back.

Best regards,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for just a night. As expected for all belonging to the Intercon chain of hotels, hotel room was clean and staff was efficient. No free room wifi and its bathroom was considerably small for a 5 star hotel. Location is excellent. SM Makati is just across and Glorietta 4 is just a few steps away.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floor to avoid hearing traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated as we rely on you our guests, on how we can better needs. We look forward to having you back at InterContinental Manila.

Sincerely,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed two nights in early March. In the heart of Makati, just a one or two minute walk to assorted malls of Glorietta and the Green Belt. This means that there are heaps of shops, restaurants, bars and of course...ATMs. ^^ The hotel itself is a bit dated...but still really nice with great service and super clean. Complimentary turndown service with slippers and fruit...even for the regular room rate was a nice change from the Hilton brands which I usually stay with...(as you only get that service in Executive rooms with Hilton).

Moreover, the hotel has a club on the 1st floor (near the pool) called Icon. It gets super busy around midnight and packed with the mid 20s to early 30s crowd of well heeled Filipinos and tourists alike. The buffet breakfast was really great as well with a HUGE assortment of food (everything from typical breakfast fare to lunch items).

Pros:
Location - seriously...you want to stay in Makati if visiting.
Club Icon - for the hip
Breakfast - super extensive

Cons:
None...all around a great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, General Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful comments. I am more than glad to know that you had a great experience at the property. Our location is definitely one of our assets, being situated in the heart of the Makati business district. Also with our food, both regular and new guests alike share the same great sentiments.

I look forward to having you back to the property.

Sincerely,


Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent Makati location, very polite personnel, clean and quite rooms.
I was allowed to use the room until 2pm. Fantastic if you need to take a shower before flying to Singapore in the afternoon. The size of the room was average but clean and quite. The shower probably needs an update. There is a super market next door. It’s very convenient if you need to buy fruits or a beer. Usually, I don’t drink beer but due to the climate, I enjoyed a San Miguel Pilsen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments and for choosing InterContinental Manila as your home for this summer. I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have more opportunities to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Christopher Wichlan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very efficient courteous concierge staff-checkin and checking out was carried out with short span of time. Clean room a bit dated room. Best part was the breakfast buffet (included on my room rate) which gives guest wide range to choose from- again, staff at the restaurant was responsive and prompt with any request . Overall, a good experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher_Wichlan, Resident Manager at InterContinental Manila, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward with pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Christopher Wichlan
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Manila

Address: 1 Ayala Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Manila 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LANDMARK HOTEL IN THE PHILIPPINES' PREMIERE METROPOLIS. Designed by National Artist Leandro Locsin, InterContinental Manila is a symbol of pride in the Philippines' premier financial and commercial hub-Makati City. The hotel is across the Greenbelt and Glorietta shopping and entertainment districts and is easily accessible from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. Our 332 guestrooms and suites boast every comfort for an enjoyable and unforgettable visit. The latest technology including in-room high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in public spaces is sure to please business or leisure travellers. For guests looking for extra space and added comfort, our Club InterContinental rooms are available and offer special privileges such as a Club Lounge for private check-in and check-out, sumptuous breakfast, afternoon tea service, evening cocktails and a selection of international newspapers and magazines. The Club InterContinental Lounge at the top floor offers a breathtaking view of Makati and the nearby Bonifacio Global City. InterContinental Manila offers one of the largest conference and meeting facilities in the city and has a well-established reputation for delivering the highest standards of excellence. For leisure time, we recommend a visit to the nearby Ayala Museum and the walled city of Intramuros. The island fortress of Corregidor is also a worthwhile outing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Manila Hotel Makati
Intercontinental Hotel Manila
Intercontinental Hotel Makati
Intercon Manila
InterContinental Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.