We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room smells like smoke” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Soho Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Soho Suites to your Saves list
Bel Air Soho Suites
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   45 Polaris Street, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Makati B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“room smells like smoke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

we arrived 10pm after a long flight to manila from Australia were exusted ,when we were showed they said that a room smells but they have opened the window so it would be alright... it was so bad that when i woke up i feel like i have inhaled tobacco on my sleep plus i have a one year old baby at the time... i was not happy at all...but since we only stayed for the o one night so it was just all over....

Room Tip: ask for a clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel has great location, right in the heart of Makati, lots of bars & malls close by.
I was just staying for the night as somewhere to put my bags and rest for a few hours.
Check in was easy although I think they just pick any room and don't follow what's on the reservation...... The hotel description is way off mark, I had no safe in the room & there were cockroaches, the towels were dirty, luckily I brought my own!
I literally had to get drunk to feel comfortable enough or numb enough to sleep for 4 hours!
Pay extra or similar price for tune hotel or something similar.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Not sure what to make of the earlier reviews. I think the reviews on hotels.com and agoda are more representative.

I stayed here in September in a Standard room. Everything inside the room was old, dirty or collapsing, with the exception of a nice small LCD TV.

The double bed was ok, but the sheets had seen better days. The window screen was broken (no lock). The furniture was just old and the chairs had stains on them. The safe inside the wardrobe was not bolted in, and it malfunctioned on day one. Had to call maintenance to reset it.

It has a nice kitchenette with a big fridge, BUT, I had to battle with ants and small roaches my entire stay there. Cannot keep any food on the counters.

The bathroom was a nightmare. Old, grey towels (I'm sure they must have been white maybe 10 years ago). The hot water heater had kinks and needed to be adjusted twice by maintenance.

They charge 150 PHP/hour for wifi, which is an outrageous price in Manila. In fact, you can go downstairs at the lobby where they have an internet cafe for 50 PHP/hour. Or the other cafes in the neighborhood for 30 PHP/hour.

Didn't try the breakfast. I wouldn't eat there any way.

Location wise, it's a one minute walk to Makati Ave., and across the street from several sports bars. Plenty of taxis outside. You can even walk from there to Power Plant mall in Rockwell, which is my pick for best mall in Manila.

Staff service and attitute was ok, but there's only so much they can do with a place like this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The location and the service are the best parts of this place. Good view from our 16th story room. It is close to a lot of bars, restaurants, massage places. 5 minute walk to all. You have to pay extra for Internet in your room and I could not get it to work. 1600 pesos for a king bed. Not bad.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

this hotel has a nice location close to gloriata mall and greenbelt area,only 15 min walk or one jeepney ride, lots of good food places just accross the street mcdonalds and jollybee,the room was always clean for our three day stay,great staff,for the price of this hotel it is great value,we would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: stay in the higher floors more quite from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

this is the heart of the bars at makati two minutes from p burgos street.
the rooms are good if you ask for a good room.
th security guards are very good and no street girls are allowed in .
the cheers bar and cafe is round the corner great beers and food but go before 8pm after the drinks are a bit pricey

Room Tip: dont accept a grotty room demand a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our stay lasted 4 D 3N. Location is strategic as in the night you would be able to walk around nearby convenient stores, food outlets, saloon and bars. High presence of foreigners so you wouldnt feel like a total stranger. Prompt service but lacking in certain aspects. Non functioning room telephone to contact the receptionist. You need to get down to a nearby store across the hotel to buy an adapter as theirs may not be compatible with yours (my mobile phone chargers were 3 pin plugs ones). The hotel don't provide this. Costed us PHP 200.

Security aspect is quite good. Security personnel are always on guard with police patrol making a stop once in a while. Room is clean, with a television set, functioning remote controlled air-con, cooker hood, clean bathroom.

Those who are familiar with the roads and intend to rent a car may be able to park in the first three floors of the hotel, parking designated areas. It is best to hire someone to bring you around as the nature of the traffic may be different compared to yours. Leave it to the expert. The hotel may recommend you one.

Suggested shopping malls, greenhills and sm mall of asia. Quality products & good bargain. First two days should be meant for shopping. The following days, you can stop by the manila american cemetery (beautiful scenery) which is within the Bonifacio global city, a well planned high rise building, then make a turn to proceed to rizal park, marina ocean park, fort santiago, san augustine church (nearby and time efficient). I wouldnt suggest divisoria shopping malls which is approx 1.5 miles north from rizal park. Another good spot for shopping would be clark manila, 2.5 hours drive from metro manila (heart of manila). There is a standard shopping mall (SM Clark) suitable for those with departures and arrivals made from clark.

Btw, if u happen to notice SM on shopping malls, it is short for shoe marts. Initially it was shops selling shoes but eventually they turn into shopping malls.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#16 of 74 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati
Red Planet Makati
#27 of 74 in Makati
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citadel Inn Makati
Citadel Inn Makati
#62 of 74 in Makati
3.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Suites
Jupiter Suites
#29 of 74 in Makati
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
1.6 mi away
24h Apartment Hotel
24h Apartment Hotel
#44 of 74 in Makati
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#19 of 74 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Soho Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Soho Suites

Address: 45 Polaris Street, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bel Air Soho Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bel Air Soho Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Soho Suites Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Soho Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.