We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad bad coffee but good breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
A. Venue Mall, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines
+63 7297095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #466 of 977 Restaurants in Makati
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Native American, Californian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Description: Born and brewed in Southern California since 1963, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf is the oldest and largest privately-held specialty coffee and tea retailer in the United States. Known for sourcing and providing the finest ingredients and flavors, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf has built relationships with the best private coffee farms and tea estates around the world, selecting only the top 1% Arabica beans and finest hand plucked, whole leaf teas. The company has grown to be an international icon and currently has more than 950 stores. Each one is dedicated to serving our community and providing a warm and inviting environment. You can also find The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf products in grocery stores, restaurants and offices. Throughout all aspects of our company, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf remains dedicated to providing the highest quality products and customer service.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad bad coffee but good breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn and visited a few times. First was their chocolate cappucino/latte which was a combination of hot chocolate and shot of espresso. I thought at that time that it was the worst coffee I have ever had. Most of it went down the drain, and I am sure if the drain could talk it would have expressed its disgust on my choice of coffee.

The two muffins I had were tasty though. So was the breakfast which I had two days later. Their scrambled eggs were heavenly. It came with a cup of 8 ounce coffee which overtook the chocolate cappucino as the worst coffee I have ever ever had.

Told a local friend about it who agreed with me and warned me away from the chai teas that they served.

When Nescafe gold instant coffee is far superior, why bother coming here for coffee?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Its a more pleasant and not so stressed place as the Starbuck. Good outside seating and and good service. The Wii Fi could be better, but did work,

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disgusted!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My friend & I had our lunch at this coffee shop today. We don't have any problem with the quality of their food (Sardine linguine). What really pissed me off was their rest room. It was really disgusting. It has a very foul smell & used tissues were all over the floor. The line for food ordering was long coz they only have one cashier to take the orders. And when I ordered for additional pasta for take out it took 25 minutes for them to give me my order. I just hope the management of the Coffee Ben will do something about my complaints.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“can't get over the mint latte!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

tea lattes are getting popular here aside from the usual coffee lattes. I started my affair with the moroccan mint tea latte 5 years ago. Before it opened here in Cebu, it is always my first "drink of the day" whenever we find ourselves in Makati City. We usually go to its Greenbelt 3 branch. They also offer yummy breakfast. I like the Eggs' Benedict the best. I was just so happy when it branched out in Cebu. I had my fill of this mint latte since then and still can't stop craving for it when I need a short break from shopping or work.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Laguna
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Try the Eggs Ben”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Well there are a few of these around the Philippines and I've always had great experiences. I especially like the Eggs Ben, which is Eggs Benedict, and I probably hit one of the places a couple times a month for breakfast. The Hot Chocolate is pretty good too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf also viewed

 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.