We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makati Experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Illians Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Saint Illians Inn to your Saves list
Saint Illians Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7461 Santillan Street | Pil del Pilar, Makati, Luzon 1230, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Makati B&B and Inns
Steubenville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Makati Experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

In the heart of Makati, is the Saint IIlians Inn a quaint little Inn within the heartbeat of Makati but without the hectic traffic. Make no mistake this inn is in the Makati district within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Very reasonable in prices, we had 11 people in our group and the staff made every effort to make us comfortable. The Staff was outstanding , very polite and attuned to our needs. Our rooms were quiet and comfortable. The restaurant in the Inn was excellent with a bakery with homemade pastries. We needed a place close to the airport and this was 15-20 minutes away. I will defiantly stay there again if given the chance and will recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Reviwer I group of 11

We aren't allowed to address you by name but I of course do know exactly who you are as your group made a special request to provide face towels for your party! It's an unusual request but of course we were only too happy. To be able to comply with such a small item to make your stay a bit more to your liking.

Many, many thanks for your patronage and please do return especially if you can spend more time in Manila to see the good things about our city. I recall you were on a charitable mission here and were visiting the poor and destitute places to carry out your purpose. But Manila is not all poverty ad depression, we too have beauty and peace if you look for that as well.

What is amazing is that you who live so far away take the time to care for our needy , truly you put us who live so near those I. Dire need, to shame! God bless you and continue to well, continue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
11
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London UK...
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have styaed here a few times and have always found the staff very polite and curtious
This is a budget Inn located in Makati City the area is safe and quiet with easy access
to shopping malls.
Rooms are comftable with hot cold shower,sat Tv,but what i really like about this place is
the staff, always with a smile and willing to help with any problem which is more then be
said for other establismemnts in manila.

Room Tip: Book in advance as its a very popular budget Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Reviewer-

Many, many thanks for your praises about our staff. I will ask them to read your comments first hand. It is very rare that a person such as your good self takes the time to say something positive-- usually people are so eager to share negative stuff.

Our staff will be elated to hear someone actually appreciating their efforts to make our guests satisfied returnees! Our success hinges on the fact that 80% yes, a full 80% of our staying guests are actually like you-- have stayed and repeatedly come back because they are happy staying with us.

A great big thank you! Regards and Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

One of the hotel supervisors, "Nina" helped me resolve some minor complaints I had about the room. Customer service in this hotel is outstanding. Exceptional rates and reasonable amenities in Makati City. Thank you St. Illians staff for resolving the issues I had and making my vacation hassle free. Outstanding customer service always outweighs any inconvenience a hotel may offer. -Frank-

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you sir, for your praise-- its MINA, that helped you.. or Myra.. can you describe her a bit? You can reply directly to our email on this site so we can inform the correct person of your praise. Nevertheless, we will inform them both and since you gave your name (which we wont mention here) we will ask them if they remember you.

THANK YOU and hope to see you again very soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

SAINT ILLIANS INN:

I appreciate the whole customer service rendered by your inn. Truly I enjoyed my stay together with my companion. The reception is nice compare to other inns, though without service elevator, walking to go to your room (if located on the higher floor) would be more exercising part (good for the heart indeed).

Rooms (observed in our own room) are well organized. We even asked for movies for we have something to watch. Lying in the bed is quite comfortable; comfort room is not that spacious enough but certainly you will experience a great bath.

I will undoubtedly return to experience another great stay away from home and likewise surely suggests this inn to my other friends.

I stayed around April 2010

_dexter_

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Reviewer-

Thank you very, very much for your glowing praise! And yes-- our corporate mission statement is fully embodied by your comments. You may have noticed that on each stairway landing the posted sign that says -- PLEASE AVOID LOUD TALKING AND LAUGHTER WHILE IN HALLS, BE CONSIDERATE OF SLEEPING WEARY AND TIRED TRAVELERS. Then too, all arriving guests whether already checked in or just checking in after 10pm are actually handed a printed flyer reminding them to be quiet in the halls. So glad that you appreciate the absolute peace and quiet we provide. Yes it is very rewarding for us to hear you say how peaceful your stay was.

THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Rates are reasonable. Breakfast in not included. Staff are pleasant. Overall this is a very reliable place to stay for quick stops in the city. Although it is not located in an upscale neighbourhood...

Room Tip: Book early to get bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Duck-Nanni-

Thank you for your objective review and you are right-- we are very reliable in every way, down to how we get you a taxi and give you a slip of paper with the taxi cab plate number so in case you leave something behind, you have some recourse.

Breakfast specials can be had with online bookings for only P110 (US$2.50) and its well worth it as all our cooking is healthy gourmet. We even bake our own bread.

Yes, we are not in an upscale neighborhood like the Central Business District of Makati which is only a 10 minute stroll from our door. It is that fact that permits us to keep our room rates "budget" category for in the Central Business District, the rents are higher, the taxes are higher and did you know, the cash registers are linked directly to the Ayala Head Corporate Office so they take a percentage of your businesses' gross receipts too? That's how they keep it upscale though, they maintain their neighborhood in "upscale" fashion using revenues generated by their tenants. So, you always get what you pay for. We are not hooked directly I'm glad and so we pass the savings on to you. However, you get the best of both worlds for we are so very close the the Ayala malls so you can enjoy the upscale Ayala but stay for less with Saint Illians Makati Inn.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Nice small INN..If you are looking for a large hotel, this isnt it...Not exactly in the heart of Makati business district, but located on a side street close to Cinema square mall and Walter Mart Mall, 2 really old and smaller malls, but both malls are a great place to walk to in order to get something to eat.....Check in was simple, booked online....Rooms were simple, adequate to be in....air condition was available in the room, and a 7-11 was a block away in order to buy water and small stuff...If your room is on the 3rd floor, there are no elevators so be sure to where your climbing shoes. The stairs are quite simple to climb...They also have a property one block away, which can be seen once you step outside...
People at the INN were nice, especially Marie, she was nice to talk to, and pleasant to deal with...She seems to have been there awhile...
I needed a taxi the day i was leaving and they were more than helpful in getting me one which i greatly appreciated...Under $3 to get to Mall of Asia by taxi, i believe one of the biggest malls in all of asia. And about maybe 2$ to get to downtown makati and the greenbelt area where hardrock cafe and TGIFridays are located...Most of the tourists seem to be in the makati area....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Tkt2travel,

Many thanks for your "impartial" but highly favorable review! Everything you said is a very objective and fair assessment of our little inn. I only wish other people would be as realistic as you in your expectations for the excellent value of your money spent on staying with us.

Also you mention our Front Desk Rep-- Marie. Yes she indeed has been with us since the beginning and she was elated that a guest took the time to mention her in an actual review.

I hope you got your permanent 20% discount card that has no expiry for returning guests. Please do come stay with us again soon and experience the new renovations we are currently undertaking to further improve guest comfort.

Cheers and many, many thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naga City, Cam. Sur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The place to stay if one is looking for reasonable rates & excellent service in the Makati area. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Located in quiet neighborhood & near commercial areas. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZINNSGeneralManager, General Manager at Saint Illians Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Maorag44,

Thank you very much for your praise! We recently renovated all guest rooms and are even now increasing the "value for money" which you mention. All rooms now have personal refs at no additional charge. While this may seem a standard amenity and one not to brag about, please know that our room rates are the lowest in Makati, so every bit of extra amenity is truly a cut in our net profit because these do cost money.

We have heard suggestions about giving free toiletries and we are glad to tell you that we are now including free toothpaste, shampoo and of course the free bath soap. For each day of stay we replenish these items at no cost.

Then too, we now give welcome drinks to guests-- you may even choose what you want for your welcome drink-- including beer too if this is what you prefer. We do not include iced coffee products like our Mocca Frappe for example, but everything else can be chosen as your free welcome drink-- even the 1 liter bottle of Alkaline water. Yes Alkaline water. We sell only healthy water for you.

New linen, fresh paint in all rooms and halls, bathroom tile upgraded, and minute other details increased like hair dryers to be installed this coming April in all rooms without increasing our prices. In fact -- you may have received your Loyalty Discount Card entitling you to 20% discount on all room rates. This card is free to departing customers and has no expiry.

Hope to see you again soon!

Ps. If you did not receive your discount card as we just launched it first week of March, please remind us upon your next check in and we will gladly give you the discounted rate on your next stay and of course be sure to hand you your discount card for subsequent stays. Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint Illians Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Illians Inn

Address: 7461 Santillan Street | Pil del Pilar, Makati, Luzon 1230, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saint Illians Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Saint Illians Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Illians Inn Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Illians Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.