We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Foodie Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salcedo Saturday Market

Salcedo Saturday Market
Tordesillas St., Salcedo Village, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Shopping in Makati
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“A Foodie Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This market is really for foodies.

Here you can find food from the various parts of Philippines. You can even find expats cooking or selling their food here.

Come here with an empty stomach and you will be quite spoilt for choice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great way to discover and rediscover Filipino food and fruits, etc.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am a "balikbayan" and as a second-time visitor to the Salcedo Market, I would add this activity close to the top of the must-do list. Last year, I made the mistake of arriving after 11 a.m. as most of the fruit vendors were nearly out of their produce. This year, I knew better. I arrived shortly after 9 a.m. I bought lanzones from Camiguin [very sweet and juicy], caimito, kalamansi, saba; stuff I can't get in New York. The sorbetero was there and just like last year, I couldn't resist having queso ice cream. Had lunch at around 12:30 p.m. This consisted of grilled tuna belly with rice and sigarillas, cooked in cocounut milk. Had to end a perfect meal with one of my favorite desserts: taho. I didn't want to leave but alas, all good things must come to an end.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but I much prefer the Legaspi Sunday market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyable and easy to get to but if you are in town for Sunday, try the Legaspi Sunday Market, it is a little larger and more crafty stuff. I go each Sunday morning (before 10 is better and cooler) and buy fresh quiches, fresh bread baked by a French baker, meat pies, fresh veggies, sugar ace juice ...you name it. Great fun

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Take a wander”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

If you like wandering around local food markets this will be a good destination. It's on the smaller side but has plenty of variety with a few non-food stalls. As a visitor staying at a hotel I didn't spend a lot of time here but it would be handy if you are apartment-based and are able to prepare food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Foodies head to Salcedo Saturday Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you consider yourself a Foodie, or Enjoy great tasting food - Don't Miss Out.

[Foodie - one who pursues passionately food, in all aspects, deriving enjoyment from the experience, for many reasons, its aesthetic, quality, style, or even unusual taste, but basicly any reason except - just food to eat]

Head to Salcedo Saturday Market when in Manilla. Its not as big as some markets (~100 stalls) but the variety and high quality taking foods from the spectrum of cultural influences. Filo regional favourites, French, Cuban, Spanish to name only a few, make it a great choice.

Its close to Makati mandarin oriental hotel, but hidden away from main road, so you properly walked by with out being aware, just like i did. Dont miss out, you will enjoy its delicious treats.

My personal favourite - Negro Pealla (Black Paella)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salcedo Saturday Market also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Salcedo Saturday Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salcedo Saturday Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.