We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David's Tea House

David's Tea House
Level 1, South Wing | SM Mall of Asia, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #470 of 977 Restaurants in Makati
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
Description: Telephone + 63 2 556 0204.
Restaurant details
Description: Telephone + 63 2 556 0204.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a great restaurant in Makati and thoroughly recommend a visit. They have a great menu of both Chinese and Filipino dishes. Great value and very large portions too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Makati
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the siomai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We've ordered the dimsum platter and loved the siomai, while the others are okay. We ordered spring rolls, which turned out to be a loooot. We also ordered beef with brocolli which is delicious. The yang chow is slightly better than in other Chinese restaurants.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Ok Chinese Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

As a chinese food lover, I find the food here good, but nothing amazing
If you're eating on your own, you'll find limited choices since most dishes are for sharing and not really cheap
Dimsum is very good but rice meals are limited.
Had more than 1 excruciating experiences with the service. Once with my colleages, getting the bill took around 20 minutes. After getting the bill, I gave them my credit card. After another 20 minutes of waitng for the receipt to sign, I had to call the waitress and inquire about what was taking so long. She said they were having problems with their credit card system. Fine. I watched her go to back to the cash register (other end of the room) and saw her finally get back my card and receipts. While on her way back, 3 foreigners came in. The waitress (and other waitresses) stopped, smiled, and greeted the incoming foreigners, leading them to a table. (Didn't know it takes 3 waitresses to show where a table is) It took her another 5 minutes to get back to me because of her "detour" with the 3 foreigners. Funny, no one greeted our group of 6 when we came in.
My point: servers should appreciate that certain customers are in a hurry, especially in certain situations and should act appropriately.

Convenient place for lunch (they're usually full)
But there are way better chinese places in makati (food and service-wise), if you want excellent chinese food

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradsurf
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great dim sum and pork asado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

great dim sum and pork asado. really clean, cheap and polite efficient service; BNice mango shakes and fried rice. overall great experience so good that i ate here 5 times in 1 week.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Tea House also viewed

 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to David's Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David's Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.