We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service for such an affordable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added St Giles Hotel to your Saves list
St Giles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makati Ave. corner Kalayaan Ave, Makati, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Makati
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service for such an affordable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying at St Giles for 6 nights from 28 June for business. Very clean, new hotel with excellent service. The rooms are small but that's what you expect for the price. Unlike other hotels reviewed in Makati, the lifts work well and there is no shortage of staff willing to assist. Asked for a quiet room on check in and got a corner room on level 27. No issues at all with traffic. Will be going back to stay again on next trip.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed the time you spent with us. We are grateful and appreciative of your positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to St Giles Hotel Makati.
Best regards,
Derrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    111
    68
    24
    10
See reviews for
30
58
39
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We reluctantly booked this hotel online but changed our views once we arrived. Checking in was a breeze, staff were all courteous- we got the higher floor and the front desk clerk told us that she gave us a corner room with a very good view. True in fact, the room, even if small, had a fantastic view of the Metro Manila skyline. Ask for Room 2203.

This hotel is a rare find in Makati because its new, clean, very close to restaurants and shops- plus the rates will not break the bank. It's an interesting 2 nights stay.

In front of the hotel are several building construction going on so if you are very particular about the street noises- then you have to specifically request for a higher level room 17th floor and up.

The toilet and bath was small (no place for toiletries or personal effects)- overall the room was quite small but enough for all the necessities that you need from tea, coffee, ironing board, flat screen TV, safety deposit box. We like the empty refrigerator with only the complimentary water in it so we can bring along food from the restaurants that we dined in. There is an abundance of them just downstairs from Pizza Hut, Wendy's and even Barrio Fiesta and 7-11- all walking distance from the hotel.

Since its in between the busy intersection of Kalayaan and Makati Avenue- you will also notice an abundance of massage places and we have tried the Spaulon Massage Services that provides home service massage and facial services in this area because there is no spa inside the hotel. There is a gym and a pool located on the 35th floor: with nice views of the Metro Manila skyline, open pool and if you will rent out the Presidential suite- the pool and gym is right outside this suite. As of the time of this writing, it is still being constructed.

The bed was comfortable but only 2 pillows are provided considering its a De Luxe accommodation which is good for 2 people.

Wifii is not free, you have to pay 300 Pesos for 24 hours of Internet but if you don't need it for long, there is a big Internet shop just walking distance away.

If you have left overs or are kind enough, instead of money or small change, give out food instead, there is an abundance of kids asking for money outside.

Lobby was not that big considering they have 512 rooms- not enough for the guests to stand-by or wait in line.

This will certainly be a hot item for tourists, travelers and locals alike.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms like 2203
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Please accept my warmest gratitude for the wonderful things you’ve said about our hotel. You are indeed correct to say that our rooms ending with 03 on every floor are located at the corner of Makati Avenue and Kalayaan Avenue. These are our Superior category rooms.

Thank you for the nice photos you have taken during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Derrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

booked thru agoda for 2 nites stay. the hotel is located near the makati business district and near the red light (p. burgos) area). great location as its near convenience stores and restaurants. since its in a very busy intersection, taxis are easy.

checkin was fast and efficient. staff are friendly and accommodating.

room was deluxe category, quite small but comfortable. everything was provided like hairdryer, slippers, safety box, toiletries, robes. bed was comfortable and large enough for a couple. the room is sparsely yet tastefully decorate. I hope they can maintain the pristine look of these rooms as months go by. one thing to note though, they have very thin walls that you can hear the conversations from the adjoining room.

buffet breakfast has limited selection, desserts, some soup/noodles/congee, a few main dishes, bread (local), egg station.

we were given a complimentary late checkout until 4pm. usually they charge 10USD per 2 hrs extension. internet is 300 pesos per hr which we did not avail.

overall, the stay was nice and comfortable( except for the noisy neighbors). its sufficient for a few days stay in manila, a real value for money.

Room Tip: get a high floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying here at St Giles Hotel. We are delighted to know your stay with us was comfortable and nice.

We appreciate your feedback especially that of the buffet breakfast. These comments are valuable to us.

May I also clarify that our internet rate is Php 300 for 24 hours valid during your stay.

Hoping to welcome you back to St Giles Hotel Makati in the near future.

Warm regards,
Derrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

we were here last quarter of 2010 and st giles couldn't get their act together yet; from long qeues at the check-in to the disorganized parking.. but now, check-in was a breeze, they also took note of guest's requests when booking online. parking is more organized now given the very tight space to maneuver, the only thing is that there are still a lot of construction material at the basement thereby occupying precious parking space. however, the rooms are still immaculately clean and the non-smoking floors smell of fresh cotton. ammenities like iron/ ironing board, hair dryer, mini ref, tea making facilities and in-room vault are a big plus for the traveller. down side is they have only two pillows per king size bed, instead of the usual four pillows.. 32" lcd tv, swimming pool and gym at the top floor are a big plus for entertainment/ leisure..

Room Tip: get a higher floor for a more restful sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comments and for coming back to stay with us. We are in the midst of clearing all materials used in the construction. In no time, the parking space will all be freed up.
Two pillows per king size bed is actually part of our Superior rooms’ amenities. Any guest may request additional pillows and housekeeping will be very glad to provide you as long as supplies are enough during the time that the request is made.
We are happy that you have enjoyed our gym and pool at Level 35 of the hotel and complimented our amenities in every room.
Sincerely,
Derrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The St.Giles hotel is on the corner of Makati and Kalayaan - a very busy intersection, and yes it is noisy. The hotel does have quiet rooms, so request in advance as I did and maybe you'll have a peaceful night. I can imagine how noisy the rooms that the front are.

I had a deluxe kingsize room which was quite spacious, but not deluxe at all. A chair, a desk, a wardrobe, a bed. No pictures on the walls, just plain white paint. The bed was comfortable however, and I slept well.

the hotel is OK - but fails on so many details. The bath is so small that even my 6 yo daughter couldnt lie down in it; the bathroom is poky - no place to put toiletries, the chair at the desk is so low that you can't sit at the desk without putting a pillow underneath you.

The coffee sucks, the breakfast is poor quality and food often runs out. I ordered a club sandwich from room service which, according to the menu, had steak in it. When it arrived the steak had been replaced by a tuna paste. It was not good.

the internet is painfully slow sometimes too.

In summary if you get a quiet room, it is OK, at best, but unless you got a really good deal, then there is much better value to be had in Makati

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us and we welcome your constructive comments for our improvement.

Yes you are right, some of our rooms located on the lower floors facing the intersection do experience a bit of the noise. All of the hotels in this area are also experiencing such during peak hours when everyone is either going to their workplace or making their way back home.

We do have paintings inside our rooms. I have asked our Executive Housekeeper to look into this to ensure that no paintings are taken down by accident.

We do take pride in our beds and much was invested to bring in these mattresses from one renowned mattress maker overseas because we strongly believe that a good sleep is important.

Our bath tubs are located in the Deluxe rooms only, following the standard size of 59 (l) x 30 (w) x 20 inches (h). Our guest room chairs also follow the standard size wherein you will be about 18 inches from the floor when seated.

I regret to hear that you didn’t like our breakfast and our coffee. We are continuously working on improving our buffet breakfast. We have now included a sandwich and salad bar whereby our guest can make their breakfast the way they like it.

Guest rooms are equipped with broadband internet access recently upgraded to 8mbps.

We appreciate your thoughts and feedback to help us improve. We hope this event will not discourage you from coming back to our hotel to have a better view of our amenities and services as we are fully committed to providing you a totally fulfilling experience at St Giles Hotel Makati.

Sincerely,
Derrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Lets be honest, Manila isn't value for money when paying for hotels when compared to other Asian capital cities. But i took a chance on this fairly new hotel (due to spending time in adjacent hotels with borderline satisfactory stays) and i was glad i did.

Probably not for the family (with young / pre teen kids) due to the close proximity of the night life / bar area and subsequent hawkers plying their trade street side. However, for the non family visitors, this would be a good choice due to close location of malls, restaurants, pubs, etc and of course the $$.

I found the rooms were fairly modern-esque (remember how much you are paying) clean, the service was attentive and welcoming. Gym (complete with the basics) had a super view across the Manila skyline, a badly designed pool (not the first i have seen in Manila) that somehow found the shade at all times of day. Happy they have enough lifts (5 i think) to shuttle guests up to their rooms, as i found that to be a very annoying situation while staying at other nearby hotels.

Yes the bathrooom could be bigger, but guess what - it does the job intended. Im more concerned with the comfortability of the bed, flatscreen TV, laundry service and the breakfast in the morning / food quality. My gripe (outside of the pool) was the lack of WIFI in the room which when asked about, was told it was being upgraded so guests could avail of that in their own rooms in the near future.

All the staff were great and full of update local information; kudos to the doorman, lift man, front desk and restaurant crew and the laundry attendants.

Take a chance, i think you will like what you find.... just remember how much you are paying.

Room Tip: High Floors and always non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGHMPhils, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Guest (Arcm1972),

Thank you for trying out St Giles Hotel for this visit. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and you have covered the realistic points of a guest.

We do have 4 lifts to accommodate specifically our guests. Service lifts are also found elsewhere for use of non guests.

Guest rooms are equipped with broadband internet access recently upgraded at 8mbps while the common areas are using WIFI. We are working on the next phase of our upgrade to have WIFI connection inside the rooms.

Yes our pool may not be as big and as deep as the rest but it is located at the rooftop with a great bird’s eyeview of Makati City.

Hoping to see you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Derrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011 via mobile

Great location, really easy to get around manila from. There's also lots of 24hrs restaurants & stores around so you won't be scared of being hungry or being short on necessities. Staff are incredibly friendly & give excellent service. Room was compact, but clean, new, adequate enough for me. The only downside is probably its proximity to the red light district so you may see some dubious-looking people around the lobby but it was no big deal even for a single female traveler like me.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay at St Giles Hotel Makati. Our location is indeed in the centre of shopping, entertainment, dining and business.

Guest safety is of paramount to us and this is the reason why much has been invested to equip the hotel with the best surveillance cameras and training of our security personnel.

It is our hope that we can welcome you back to St Giles Hotel Makati in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Derrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Hotel

Address: Makati Ave. corner Kalayaan Ave, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the central district of Makati City, along Makati Avenue corner Kalayaan Avenue, close to Rockwell Shopping Centre, 12 km or 30 minutes by car from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. 512 contemporary designed guestrooms with broadband internet access, private bath with shower, electronic safe, LCD TV with over 60 cable channels, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.