We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Much Pressure (In the shower)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howzat Inn

Howzat Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howzat Inn
Save
You added Howzat Inn to your Saves list
8471 Kalayaan Av | Corner Fermina St, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 72 Hotels in Makati
Vancouver
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Not Much Pressure (In the shower)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I found this place by walking along Kalayaan St (One block from the infamous Burgos St). Took a photo of their price banner and booked online.
The price and location are the main reasons for staying in this Inn but I did find it clean and acceptable.
It's quite small and I had to leave before I intended because I didn't reserve for the entire length of my stay (I wanted to add a few days since I was delayed in Manila).
There are only about 9 or 10 rooms. I had requested a quiet room since earlier reviews mentioned some noise from the sports bar adjoining the Inn. The room I was given was on the 3rd level. There are a couple of rooms on the main floor for those who can't climb stairs (no lift). My room was facing the street and seemed secure with iron bars on the window. As far as security goes, the front door is locked but the guest is given a key. There is usually but not always a female staff sitting by the front door and she gets the door open before I can choose the right key. The room also has a safety deposit box.
There is a minibar in the room and the prices are quite good compared to other places but you should bring your own water. I bought a 5 litre jug at the convenience store a block away for 95p. They provide free instant coffee and tea daily.
The room is pretty standard. Towels a bit worn, older model CRT TV set, etc but that's what you get for this price range and often a lot less with less security and more bugs. Given it's location in Makati, I think this is the best value for the money you're likely to find.
Just be prepared for a low pressure shower - it will take a few extra minutes to get the soap off!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs but perhaps less security, ground floor, if you don't mind the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
5
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Eat and Drink here in the Popular Ex Pats Bar frequently, the food in the bar is excellent and the service is good, however there is a no smoking rule in most of the bars in Makati, a smoking area is normally provided. However Howzat is the exception to the rule by putting the non smoking area in a small room in the back, one time I was asked to leave that room due to a managers private meeting taking place. So if you are prepared to eat with people blowing smoke on you from either side this is a great place to be !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile


There's only 1 way to eat traditional western curry, that's with a group of friends! Reason: if there's 6 of you can order up to 6 different dishes and have a bit of everything that's on offer. Well I've found a curry heaven. The wife and I are sitting here right now. Jut the 2 of us and we have many varieties of curry on our plate because its a buffet. Probably the best value you could ever hope for at 425 peso for all you can eat and all you can drink local beers from 1200-1500 every Friday and Saturday. I won't bore with the details on the curry accept to say I you like the stuff served up in British, Australian, NZ etc, ie western curry then your going to like this too much.

Well back to the drinking and the All Blacks taking on Australia in an hours time. I'll be able to watch the game of 1 of the 10 tv's around the room!

Highly recommend this establishment to all in sundry.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Its reasonably priced, the rooms were old students quarters re-furbished I think smallish rooms, the room was clean tidy the shower water was hot thanks to the zip heater on the wall, aircon good, bed linen etc very good.
The downstairs bar and diner was a great place to stop after the day, good food and cold beer, its close to Makati night club strip etc.
Good restaurants can be found all around within a block or 2 and even a very good barber
I was very happy with the staff, services and amenities, its not a 5 star hotel but a very well run establishment and would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Recently stayed here for two weeks. The room is basic, cheap but comfortable. The only complaint I had was the noise of the traffic starting at 6am, but not a lot the hotel can do about that. My room was on the 1st floor and road side, possibly the inner rooms would have been quieter. The bathroom is small but an electric shower supplies enough hot water and sufficient pressure to have a good wash. The room is equipped with a microwave, kettle and fridge. With a decent mini bar also. Downstairs and around the corner (less than a minute walking) is the Howzatt bar. Mostly populated by expats, a must place for any sports enthusiast. The staff are all local girls, all with a smile and very helpful, also very apologetic when your choice from the menu is not available. The menu is varied including dishes from around the world and pricing to suit the pocket. Had one meal at Hard Rock Cafe (10 minutes away by taxi) while I was here, the food at Howzatt far surpassed the HRC.

Only suggestion to improve things would be to provide breakfast, although this is possible on Saturday and Sunday when the bar is open 24hrs.

Yes I will stay here again probably in the coming weeks.

Room Tip: Try and get one off the roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

a good and fairly reasonable place to stay clean and tidy
nicely stocked minibar
plenty of tv chanels
and a great bar attached with loads of local food like welsh lamb shanks
and a chip butty if your peckish
would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed at Howzat Inn twice. I booked two rooms online and brought my friend straight from the airport.Although I had reserved two standard rooms at P1350,only one was available and the other was a larger room on the ground floor at P1600. Linda graciously reduced the price to the original rate. I felt the aircon could have been a little cooler,there again it was the hottest day of the year in Manila at 36.7c but it wasn't really a major issue

Room Tip: The ground floor room is large with two double sized beds,ideal for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howzat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howzat Inn

Address: 8471 Kalayaan Av | Corner Fermina St, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 72 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Howzat Hotel Makati
Howzat Inn Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howzat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.