We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top little place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howzat Inn

Howzat Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howzat Inn
Save
You added Howzat Inn to your Saves list
8471 Kalayaan Av | Corner Fermina St, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A top little place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Its reasonably priced, the rooms were old students quarters re-furbished I think smallish rooms, the room was clean tidy the shower water was hot thanks to the zip heater on the wall, aircon good, bed linen etc very good.
The downstairs bar and diner was a great place to stop after the day, good food and cold beer, its close to Makati night club strip etc.
Good restaurants can be found all around within a block or 2 and even a very good barber
I was very happy with the staff, services and amenities, its not a 5 star hotel but a very well run establishment and would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
5
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Recently stayed here for two weeks. The room is basic, cheap but comfortable. The only complaint I had was the noise of the traffic starting at 6am, but not a lot the hotel can do about that. My room was on the 1st floor and road side, possibly the inner rooms would have been quieter. The bathroom is small but an electric shower supplies enough hot water and sufficient pressure to have a good wash. The room is equipped with a microwave, kettle and fridge. With a decent mini bar also. Downstairs and around the corner (less than a minute walking) is the Howzatt bar. Mostly populated by expats, a must place for any sports enthusiast. The staff are all local girls, all with a smile and very helpful, also very apologetic when your choice from the menu is not available. The menu is varied including dishes from around the world and pricing to suit the pocket. Had one meal at Hard Rock Cafe (10 minutes away by taxi) while I was here, the food at Howzatt far surpassed the HRC.

Only suggestion to improve things would be to provide breakfast, although this is possible on Saturday and Sunday when the bar is open 24hrs.

Yes I will stay here again probably in the coming weeks.

Room Tip: Try and get one off the roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

a good and fairly reasonable place to stay clean and tidy
nicely stocked minibar
plenty of tv chanels
and a great bar attached with loads of local food like welsh lamb shanks
and a chip butty if your peckish
would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed at Howzat Inn twice. I booked two rooms online and brought my friend straight from the airport.Although I had reserved two standard rooms at P1350,only one was available and the other was a larger room on the ground floor at P1600. Linda graciously reduced the price to the original rate. I felt the aircon could have been a little cooler,there again it was the hottest day of the year in Manila at 36.7c but it wasn't really a major issue

Room Tip: The ground floor room is large with two double sized beds,ideal for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

room not cleaned properly,,if you like snow you will love the tv channels here,,you never get a receipt when you pay,supervisor in main bar is extremely rude,,girl who takes your booking in accomodation part is absolutely useless and a liar..she told me a guy from the upstairs boxing gym owns the place when i went to complain,,some foreign guy owns it and he should train the staff better...durban hotel 100 times better!!!

Room Tip: book durban hotel,,they have smiling staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a decent place at very good value. It;'s not pretentious, but clean, simple, comfortable and as stated, it won't burn a hole through your wallet. There is a well stocked mini bar fridge and the aircon works a treat, although it took me two nights of sweating before I realised I hadn't turned it on correctly!
I have to say that the manager, Jonathon, offers exceptional value for money, in this hotel, and in the Howzat bar where food is good, atmosphere is very welcoming and prices are again very reasonable, as well as in the girlie bar with two great pool tables at the start of P Burgos (can't remember its name).
Compared to other hotels and bars in the area (I've stayed in 5 others!), this one wins hands down.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and were very pleased with the value. Rooms are small, basic and clean, though we did hear one guest complaining of mice to the front desk. Definetly more for the budget-minded single traveler than for families. Howzat Sports Bar nearby has a fine selection of western-style meals in addition to traditional filipino cuisine. The inn is located near the Makati business district and is walking distance to many restaurants and night clubs, also a short cab ride to malls.

Room Tip: You can reserve a room without having to put money down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howzat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howzat Inn

Address: 8471 Kalayaan Av | Corner Fermina St, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Howzat Hotel Makati
Howzat Inn Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howzat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.