We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aside from location, clean but dodgy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clipper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Clipper Hotel to your Saves list
The Clipper Hotel
5766 Ebro St. (corner Kalayaan Ave) | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Makati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Aside from location, clean but dodgy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is smack in the middle of the seedy red light District. You don't fell unsafe although you feel like you just want to make it to the end of the stay as fast as possible. Must admit the hotel was extremely clean and management tries hard but it gets very very loud all throughout the night and there's nothing you can do about it. Even with ear plugs. I wouldn't stay here again given the area is quite dodgy although if it were in a better location, I would consider it if it were also a bit quieter.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Clipper In is actually a nice clean low cost motel if you just need a place to shower and sleep. There is a problem with road noise but it doesn't prevent sleep. Staff are friendly and helpful. It is a transient hotel and not worth staying in if you are shopping as there is very little shopping to be done in the area. I would recommend this as a place to shower and sleep on your way through Manila. Some good restaurants nere by and it won't cost the earth.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had one night in Manila, and happily stayed at The Clipper Hotel. My room, on the first floor, was themed like an airplane from the outside (you must go there to understand)...it was quite special (and comfortable too!). The front bar and restaurant is great, and the hotel is walking distance to many restaurants, bars, and brand new high-end shopping malls. The staff at the front desk helped me with everything possible (internet, laundry, directions, and getting to the airport in time). The highlight of my stay at this hotel was the conversation and attention from the owner...great guy! Clipper Hotel was a delightful end of my stay in the Philippines. I recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was my first trip to Manila, and decided to try this hotel in the heart of Makati Burgos St. It was a nice mid-tier hotel with 3 floors/14 rooms and no lift. We received a nice greeting upon arriving at the hotel and the bellman took my bags up to our Superior Room after check-in. The room was cozy but without a refrigerator. They had two twin beds set up as a king. They were not connected, so the beds kept moving around. On weekday mornings, I kept hearing construction going on and could easier hear people outside my room. There was no noise near the hotel at night when the bars were open. The room was never quite cool enough. The aircon was not positioned by the bed or the middle of the room. It was in the far corner which didn't help air flow. There was a ceiling fan. The Wi-Fi was only accessible for me in the lobby downstairs, so I hardly used it because I didn't like walking up and down three flights of stairs to use the internet. The staff was great, location was great, and the hotel was decent. I did speak to the owner about my issues. He said the hotel will make adjustments to improve the atmosphere of the hotel. Overall, a good stay and hopefully I will see improvement when I stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Located in the centre of Makati's hotel district, this small hotel has large comfortable rooms with windows that open, air cond AND a ceiling fan (for those of you who have adjusted to climate, an open window with fan is a treat compared to always living in the air cond chill). the wi fi is good and free, the bar is intimate with windows open to the street, the 180 peso breakfast is very good, service is helpful and efficient with that friendly filipino manner. I have stayed in most affordable Manila hotels in Malate, Ermita, Mabini, and Makati. This is the most pleasant stay compared to any prior hotel stay. Will stay here again my next time in Manila. Walk (fifteen min) to the upmarket Power Plant Mall; two expat sport bars and two spanish restaurants within 100 metres. Taxi to/from airport approx 170-250 pesos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed at the Clipper Hotel in Dec 2011 and found the whole experience rather enjoyable,as people have already stated the theme of this hotel takes you back to the nostalgic times of Clipper travel,so different to the average dull budget hotel.The rooms are very spacious and clean with a superb shower,have built in safes and the wifi worked perfectly for me.I found all the staff to be courteous and friendly and the location even though close to the nightlife just far enough away to be acceptable for the P Burgos area . When I return to Makati I will happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a single traveller who just needs a small room try the cabins ideal spotless and reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Clipper hotel is a very nice and clean themed boutique hotel where the owner is a Pan Am Clipper fan. In the hotels lobby as well as small cafe various memorabilias about the airline and its planes abound.

The building has 3 floors and the 14 rooms are spread on it. It's rooms are spacious and has nice wooden floors. The walls appear so spic n span and adds to the comfort of the place. The only downside is that it doesnt have a lift but for 3 floors who expects any. It's surroundings are pseudo red light and residential but doesnt pose a problem at all.

The rooms are priced just right however no breakfast comes with it.

On a side note, it's a hotel who cares for the environment and its body wash and shampoo are in wall mounted containers. ( had a bad experience though as I had the luck out of me when the shampoo was empty. )

Overall this hotel is right on money. I would definitely be back here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clipper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clipper Hotel

Address: 5766 Ebro St. (corner Kalayaan Ave) | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Clipper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clipper Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clipper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.