We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel In quite location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herald Suites Solana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Herald Suites Solana to your Saves list
Herald Suites Solana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2914 Finlandia corner Einstein Street, San Isidro, Makati, Luzon 1234, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Manchester uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very clean hotel In quite location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on herald in April 2013 for 3 nights. Hotel has nice quiet location in business district of makati . I found hotel very pleasent all staff happy to help you . Beautiful restaurant. And great rooftop swimming pool. Good wi fi

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
21
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here one night while going thru Manila. Stayed in Room 402 which is a Junior Suite.

The good part: very nice staff... polite and accommodating. Rooms are nice.. spacious. Have nice amenities. Bed is comfortable. Toiletries are decent. Food from the room service was so-so. The rates are pretty good. Had a reas king sized bed. TV channels , were ok but were old 19"-20" tube TVs.

Bad part: the hotel is hard to find.. most taxis have no idea where it is located even with the printout map ans business card. I strongly suggest you print out a map from Google and take with you. There is nothing nearby for food, restaurants, bars or convenience stores. Not a nice area. I found I had stayed in better locations on Makati Ave at the same rates.
Biggest issue - the road is noisy with traffic, and dogs barking all night long. I also heard roosters crowing all morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

before my fiance came down in the philippines, he let me find a place where are we going to stay. I tried to search on the internet how many times but Herald Suite solana really catched my eyes.. I checked the pictures and the place looks so cozy and calm.. we stayed in this hotel for 3 days and 2 nights. i agree that their service is really excellent. staffs are VERY accomodating.. Regards to Kuya Boy:) the driver who accompanied me in the airport.. I felt really comfortable staying in this place because the staff are really nice. the room was good. cozy, like how i really like it. and actually seeing the place in person is more better than the pictures posted;) we tried the pool on the 2nd night, it was like a private pool because me and my fiance are just there.. it looks really romantic + the tower.. <3 they have their own sauna and gym also.. if you want privacy and your looking for a place where u can relax, i suggest this place.. thank u Herald and i will love to visit again :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was in manila to visit my girlfriend and I needed a hotel for us to stay in and she told me to try Herald Suites Solana and was looking at the reveiws and I was not sure on doing it because some reviews was bad and good but we say let's go for it. It was very close to the airport so it was not long before I can get to my plane on time. I request a room on the 5th floor and they give it to me. The room was very beautiful and clean plus the bathroom was great and clean. I didn't not see no bugs like the other reveiws be saying and we didn't not hear all the noise that other people are saying in the other reveiws. The pool was beautiful and fun. The spa was great and the veiw on top of the building was awesome! The people that work there was so nice and do their job great and help us with everything we need with fast service. The food was excellent! My advice is go for this hotel and don't listen to some of this negative reveiws they was just very crazy people lol. I proposed to my girlfriend in the hotel and she said yes so now she is my fiance!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Herald Suites Solana for the lovely memories and great service and I we will come back again. Customer W. Lewis jr. and P. Dizon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This would be one of the worst hotels I've ever had the misfortune to stay at, anywhere. In my lifetime, (I'm in my mid 50's). I have stayed in literally hundreds of different hotels.

I'll start on a positive note: the room I was allocated - room 401 (yes on the fourth floor of 8 floors), was huge, divided into 2 separate rooms, with a living / dining room and a little bench for making tea / coffee and refreshments, with all the facilities provided. There is also a television in both rooms and a good sized 5 piece dinning suite, a coffee table and lots of drawers and cupboards - storage space; with a bigger than average refrigerator next to the tea / coffee area. The bathroom which is accessed from the huge bedroom is also excellent - spacious with plenty of hot water, although it does take a while sometimes for the hot water to arrive (just run it for a few minutes before running a shower)...
One of the first annoying things about this hotel is its location: OK it's in Makati City, but more off the main thoroughfare in a neighborhood populated by mainly under-privileged people, so it can be rather noisy, especially when they play basketball on the road right below room 401 / 402 (and 201/202, 301/302, 501/... etc.), which they often do, even until quite late into the night. If they are not playing basketball, they also enjoy rowdy drinking sessions as well.
Being off the main-drag of Makati City, it's also unheard of to most taxi drivers, so make sure you are capable of giving the taxi driver directions as you travel back to the hotel, but occasionally you may be lucky to pick a driver that knows where it is - the main problem is that the street it's in: Finlandia Street, is a one-way road, so he has to approach from the correct end of the street...

The hotel staff are excellent, they are always cheerful, friendly and can't do enough for you, always open doors including the elevator and your room and always flag a taxi down before you're even waiting on the steps.
They're just great! If it wasn't for the most disappointing 'feature' of this place, which I will now describe, I would have said it's one of the best places I've stayed, just on the friendliness of it's hotel staff - ALL of them!

This is the 'feature' that reduces the hotel's star rating to zero (or below) as far as I'm concerned:
There is no privacy between this room (402) and the room next door (401), because the rooms are not truly TWO SEPARATE rooms!
I can't say for sure that the same pair of rooms on the other levels are the same, but I would dare say they are...
If there is a guest in the room next door, just keep your voice down, because they will be able to easily hear every word you are saying, as I discovered, to my embarrassment...
You will know that there is a guest staying in the room next door - you'll hear them, even if they are trying not to make a noise!
The reason, is that the wall between the two rooms is not a complete wall: it is a typical solid concrete and thick wall as found in any other hotel, the only problem is the wall ends INside BOTH the rooms!
The windows are COMMON to both rooms and do not have their frames affixed to the wall (the wall between the 2 rooms), but instead, the same pane of glass covers the window frame shared by the two rooms, where there is at least a 2 inch (50mm) GAP between the END of the wall that separates the two rooms and the COMMON pane of glass that covers the window frame!
So if you look along, you can actually see the curtains in the room next door over their side of the same window! You could probably even shake hands with the next-door neighbour through the gap!

I tried stuffing my curtain into the 2 inch gap in an effort to muffle the sound, but it only had a marginal effect. I could still clearly hear their TV and what they were saying, whenever they had a conversation! (They couldn't hear us, because we were aware of the problem, so spoke almost in whispers if the guests next door were in their room).

When I pay around $100.00 per day for a hotel ANYWHERE, I had taken for granted (until now) that my privacy and that of fellow hotel guests would be practically guaranteed.
This arrangement would only be acceptable to a party of guests that shared the two rooms - i.e. a party of 8 people (all friends or relatives) on a conference or a wedding party, or similar. To anyone else: it is totally UNACCEPTABLE and I stated that on their guest review form too.
They should either fix the windows so that they are separated and the wall TOTALLY and entirely separates the two rooms, or put a door between the two rooms, effectively making ONE even bigger suite out of the two.

Room Tip: I cannot comment about the other rooms as far as how truly separated they are from each other, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Good: The hotel staff are very service oriented. They are accommodating and would answer questions even before you had the chance to ask. The rooms are spacious. Air-conditioning works pretty well. Cafe Mondo food was okay. Pool was clean.

The Bad: Elevator was slow. Guests can smoke anywhere (I am a smoker but I recognize that there are places where it is not proper to smoke and we have to respect non smokers). Very few choices in the menu. Minibar items are quite expensive (4x the real value). Location is not good, and if you're not from the Philippines you will not feel safe (I felt safe since I frequent that neighborhood way back).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Herald Suites are situated in the surrounding of Makati city. 10 min by taxi to Makati business district. My reception was very friendly. The staff is helpful, restaurant very good. My room was a standard room, very well equipped and very clean. The pool is good. I had a relax massage at the hotel - excellent!
Very good value!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herald Suites Solana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herald Suites Solana

Address: 2914 Finlandia corner Einstein Street, San Isidro, Makati, Luzon 1234, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herald Suites Solana 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herald Suites Solana is located in Makati City, the business district of the Philippines. Just a few meters from the South Expressway and 20 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, Herald Suites Solana is ideal for the business and leisure traveler who seeks the convenience of shopping in nearby Ayala Center or needs to meet with associates in the financial district. It offers 40 big air-conditioned guestrooms. It has a pool and gym on the top floor, and a coffee shop on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Herald Suites Solana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Suites Solana Hotel Makati
Herald Suites Solana Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herald Suites Solana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.