We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Makati” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celeste

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Celeste to your Saves list
Hotel Celeste
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   02 San Lorenzo Drive corner A. Arnaiz Avenue | San Lorenzo Village, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Location in Makati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This boutique Hotel is perfectly situated only a few minutes walk from Greenbelt Restaurants and shopping at Landmark and Glorietta. The rooms are big and comfortable and are very affordable. I had to make a last minute booking here as I didn't have power in my home for a few days after the typhoon hit Manila. The staff were fantastic and remembered me from my last stay there. They made us feel at home which we appreciated. I highly recommend this note for anyone who loves to relax, eat, drink and shop.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    72
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
69
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I'll start by saying I quite enjoyed my stay here. As others have said, it's an oasis in the middle of the Manila mayhem.

My room was 307 - big dining area with table and chairs, a chaise longue, another chair overflowing with cushions, a writing desk.....and all I wanted was a decent iron and ironing board (you have to phone housekeeping for them to bring both to your room, and neither were in great condition).

The bed was very comfortable, the aircon may be a little noisy for light sleepers. Room 307 is facing the main road, so traffic noise may also disturb.

Bathroom was large with a nice rain shower thing and a stand-alone bath. I didn't use the bath (I wonder how many do?).

The towels were past their best - the one used as a floor mat outside the shower was filthy - but nice L'Occitane shower gel etc...!

As others has said, the hotel is in a great location, a very short walk from lots of nice restaurants and a few shopping malls.

I ate twice at "People's Palace", a Thai restaurant at Greenbelt 3. On the first night I tried "Mesa" for some local food, at Greenbelt 5. I recommend both.

If you want to use a taxi it's best to book in advance through the front desk. The hotel doormen do their best but I waited a good 25 minutes until they flagged one down who knew where I wanted to go.

The staff were all great - very helpful and polite.

In summary (and I must stress, just my opinion) - a good hotel for holidaymakers, maybe not so much for business travellers. Whoever put the hotel together seems to have spent their budget on the wrong things (if a business traveller is in mind) - expensive toiletries but old towels, expensive armchair with lots and lots of cushions, but no iron or ironing board. The room has sleeping quarters for two people, but then has a dining table with four large chairs - best use of space/funds?

I'll also stress that I didn't raise any issues with the hotel - road noise, aircon noise, dirty towels. I'm sure they would have done all they could to fix these problems for me.

Sorry, a bit of a mixed review, but hope it helps...

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is a small, boutique hotel in a great location in Makati, very close to Greenbelt and Glorietta. Relatively quiet although you can occasionally hear street sounds in the room. I was very impressed with the staff, who were always attentive, efficient and eager to help. The room was very clean and cosy. However, while it tries to be a luxury boutique hotel there are a few points that let it down.. The interiors would have looked quiet luxurious in its heyday when it was brand new, it is starting to show its age in a few places especially the wood panels. The bed was on the firm side and the pillows were too soft, so I wouldn't say I had the most comfortable sleep there. The towels were very TINY and thin, I am quite petite and the towels barely fit me, how do tall guests manage? The breakfast servings were quite small and expensive for its size. Also, because it is such a small hotel it seems tough to get a late checkout approved.

But despite these shortcomings the nightly rate was very reasonable for what you get, so I still recommend this hotel for its location, convenience and staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I usually dont stay in Boutique hotels but this time I made an exception. Boy, was I surprised at the Hotel Celeste. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. Everybody greets you with a smile.
Location is best as it is just across Greenbelt where there are excellent shopping and numerous restaurants.
The rooms are quite large with very classy decors. The twin beds joined into a king bed was very comfortable. Although the bathroom is a smaller than I am used to, it is sufficient for the toilet and a shower stall. The bathroom amenities are from L'Occitane - which is very impressive for this small hotel. At the desk, they have imprinted my name on a couple of paper and envelopes - nice personal touch.
Breakfast was ordered from the menu. Delicious.
Complimentary WIFI is strong even in the rooms.
I would definitely highly recommend people to stay at the Hotel Celeste.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very nice!! Staff great, rooms big+clean with wifi and food delicious not to mention great location only 2 min walk from greenbelt. The only thing this place lacks is a pool on the roof top..overall I give it a 8/10

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

There are many nice hotels in this same area. Most are big chains with cookie cutter rooms and huge cold marble lobby's. Hotel Celeste is different. The guest room we stayed in was tastefully done with beautiful appointments. I was told each room is different so can't wait to return and try them all. The location is so convenient. Malls, shopping and restaurants literally across the street. One of the best hotel breakfasts I have had in a long time. It was not a huge spread but everything was quality and delicious. The corned beef, eggs and garlic rice for breakfast started the day off right. Had a chance to try some of their house Italian wine and great 4 cheese pizza. You could taste the different cheeses. Yum! Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip to the Philippines. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast twice and it was good. The bed was very large and pretty comfortable. In one room, the bathroom was a decent size, the other was quite small. Quiet rooms considering its proximity to a busy intersection. Good location for exploring the ritzy mall up the street. Close to the airport, but leave enough time, as the construction can add a lot of time to the trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celeste

Address: 02 San Lorenzo Drive corner A. Arnaiz Avenue | San Lorenzo Village, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Celeste 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city of Makati, discover a new stylish architectural icon where eclectic European design and invigorating settings combine contemporary comforts into the city’s latest and most sophisticated hotel. Hotel Céleste is the epitome of luxury and sophistication. Be enthralled in its 30 deluxe rooms and suites all uniquely designed to pulsate your senses with our signature service Celestial Touch that redefines every guest’s experience. Stay…and have a remarkable experience at Hotel Céleste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Celeste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celeste Hotel Makati
Hotel Celeste Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celeste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.