We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sloooowwww internet, service getting worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Makati

Save Saved
You added Ascott Makati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascott Makati
4.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Glorietta 4, Ayala Centre, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 64 hotels in Makati
cebu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“sloooowwww internet, service getting worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I often stay in Ascott. But lately, the internet has gotten worse. FOR MY PREVIOUS STAY I HAD NO INTERNET FOR A WHOLE DAY. This time, it is intermittent. Sometimes its slow, sometimes, there is none, in the room. I had to rely on my iphone to set up a personal hot spot to get a little connectivity.

DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU NEED RELIABLE INTERNET!

The service, never great, seems to be gradually getting worse.

On the plus side the location is good, and so is the gym and pool. There is lots of food just outside the door, so you dont really need the coffee shop. Rooms are big. Its unpretentious.

Room Tip: rooms facing away from the street are quieter. windows open if you like fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the internet service at Ascott Makati. We sincerely apologize that this has created undue stress for you. We take all of our guest feedback seriously and are currently working with our internet service provider to review our system to include increase of bandwidth.

Once again, our apologies. We sincerely appreciate your comments as they can only serve us to improve.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    138
    47
    18
    12
See reviews for
123
30
19
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Ascott is a good option for an extended stay in Makati. I had an executive one-bedroom for my two week stay--very spacious, with a living/dining area, small separate kitchen and ensuite laundry. The included breakfast is very good--nice buffet with a range of fresh fruits, breads and cooked items, as well as an egg station for cooked to order omlettes. The gym is fairly large and well equipped, and the pool is large--suitable for swimming laps. Service is friendly and attentive. The adjacent Glorietta and Greenbelt shopping malls provide a wide range of restaurant and shopping options. The nearby SM and Rustans department stores both have good, large grocery sections with a wide range of local and imported food, and wine and beer, for those who want to make use of the kitchen in the apartment. The Ascott is a bit more expensive than some other serviced apartment options in Makati, but having stayed elsewhere, I think the nicer facilities and breakfast make it worth the extra.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabang, Muntinlupa City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here in a one bedroom suite. It was fine even though service wasn't really good. Front desk wasnt even smiling. Could be because Im a local? I know for sure they treat caucasians better. So after a week I was shopping in Glorietta and needed to park the car near their parking spaces. Fastest way up was to use their elevator/lift. Guess what? They wouldn't let me, ONLY FOR GUESTS they said. WOW. They wanted me to go around a waste my time because I wasnt checked in at that time.

So for locals, watch out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience with the Ascott Makati. First of all, we apologize that you felt treated differently as a local when you previously stayed with us. We would like to categorically state that we do not condone discrimination of any kind. We have since shared this comment with our Managment team to cascade down to all levels ensuring fair treatment to all, regardless of race.

Secondly, we seek your understanding in our control procedures of the access points of the Ascott Makati. As much as we can, we offer our residents the privacy and security that they seek in their temporary accomodations here in Manila. Therefore, we lmit the entry in this area to residents, guests of residents or those attending events at our Cafe and function rooms. We do hope that you and our other residents appreciate these security measures are in place for their benefit.

Once again, we thank you for your honest feedback.


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wangaratta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I wish to warn people wanting to book a stay at this hotel. I had stayed there in 2011 and breakfast was included. I booked a 2 night stay for a 3 bedroom apartment for my daughter and her 6 friends from Melbourne, which cost them in total 30,000 pesos, or AUS $800 for March 7th and 8th 2013. I just got a phone call from my daughter and her friends that they sat down for breakfast and were told that breakfast is not included. They charge $26 for it. There is no package offered, on the internet as that is the only way to book with them. No area is there that even mentions breakfast included, so you assume it is included when your booking a room there. So please have a re- think on staying at this Hotel as it is a kind of scam. They just omit the fact of breakfast, which makes this hotel very expensive to stay. I will boycott this place when we return to Manilla and urge anyone to do the same. It really isn't that flash for a 4 star, just a good position.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chynak
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in a one-bedroom apartment for 2 weeks, and was suitably impressed. The hotel is well-located, above a major shopping mall and near the Greenbelt area. The staff was very friendly, and the free happy hour was a nice touch, even if the selection was somewhat limited. The wifi was free, though admittedly not the greatest, and didn't reach some parts of the room

Overall, this hotel is excellently located, with great service and a quite reasonable price. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My family of 5 stayed here during the Christmas week. We occupied their largest executive 3-bedroom suite and it was very spacious and well-appointed but somewhat dated with respect to furnishings and appliances. Nonetheless, everything was in good working order although wifi internet service (which was included in our rate) was on the slow side. It was nice to have a washer and dryer in our unit and knowing this, we were able to pack light coming from the U.S. This facility is located within the Glorietta shopping center and the entire area was festively decorated during this time of year. A large beautiful Christmas tree was erected in the hotel lobby which was a nice touch. We cannot complain about the location of this hotel as it was ideal to good shopping and many fine restaurants. This hotel served a wonderful breakfast buffet every morning. If you are traveling with a large group and need a large residence or if you plan to stay for a while, this place offers good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel as we needed a two bedroom suite. The suite was spacious, well-appointed, comfortable and clean. It was perfect for three people in two bedrooms. The suite had a functional kitchen (which we didn't use) and more importantly, a washer/dryer which we did after traveling for 10 days around the islands.
The breakfasts which came with the suite were excellent. The pool, jacuzzi and exercise room were fine, although pool-side service was slow.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
If shopping is your thing, you are within steps of the Glorietta Malls.
All in all, we would use this hotel again. We were frankly pleasantly surprised by how comfortable it was. Of course, since it is a residence-type of hotel geared for the longer stay, you don't have the expansive lobby and cocktail lounge. But on a price and space comparison, the hotel delivers great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Green Belt. It's quieter and has better scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ascott Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Makati

Address: Glorietta 4, Ayala Centre, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Makati 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in one of the most luxurious of Manila’s serviced apartments designed exclusively for international executives and their families. Tailored to meet your every need, the services and facilities are well-appointed, extensive and personalized, complementing the elegance and sophistication of the spacious residences. With wireless Internet (WiFi) zones, modern business facilities and high speed broadband Internet services, business can be conducted with ease and efficiency while you live in the comfort and security of an exclusive city resort, so that you may enjoy your overseas assignment, leisure vacation or relocation with a peace of mind. Conveniently located within Makati's prime business district and surrounded by restaurants, entertainment and shopping complexes, you can relax and recharge in the exclusive Ascott lifestyle amidst the vivacious culture of this dynamic city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Makati Hotel Makati
Ascott Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.