We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7829 Makati Avenue | A. VENUE MAKATI, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Makati
singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just an Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is just average. It looks very simple from outside. I arrived late at night,the check in was slow. The reception asked me to pay a deposit, in today's day and age which hotel asks for a deposit?? I have stayed in many hotels around the world but had to pay a deposit. I had booked this hotel on Expedia and paid in full via card for the 3 nights. I do not understand why I need to pay the deposit.
Anyways.. The room is a suite. It has a kitchenette and living room. The bedroom area is pretty small and so is the bathroom. The rooms had this very old school box air conditioning, which made a lot of noise.
The room looked clean but old and tired. The bathroom was not so well cleaned. There was a hole in the ceiling and the tiles were chipped.also the shower curtain had blood stains on it . The shower was not strong enough and not hot too. I did not dare use the bathtub.
The breakfast was not so good, very limited choices.
And now the highlight of my stay... After I came back to my room and relaxing it the evening. I saw a huge cockroach on the couch. To make it worse, it could fly. It was flying all around the living room(as my door to bedroom was shut,thank god).
I called house keeping immediately,as I terrified of cockroaches. They took their own sweet time to come and behaved like it was a common issue. My colleagues at work told me it's very common to see bugs in the hotel rooms in Manila. Which is absolutely disgusting. I do not know how it came in but the hotel definitely need to do something about it.
On a better note, the location is good, walking distance to the supermarket and restaurants.
The hotel needs a revamp.
I would never stay here again as you can get better hotels at the same price. Also after the cockroach incident, I am doubting the hygiene of the hotel.
This guest is never coming back again!!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    247
    116
    42
    28
See reviews for
65
92
53
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed on a 2bedroom unit, and id say it was one of the best b&b hotel in Manila area. Very reasonable price, friendly staff and on a perfect loacation (well except for the traffic thou). Accessible to everything! It was a pleasant stay. Thank you!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Worse experience ever in my whole traveling experience. The toilet and shower were filthy, kitchen utensils and pots completely unsanitary. Even the elevator at the lobby had roaches. There are no words to describe the horrifying conditions of this place. Refused to refund or change to a better place. I don't even want to remember this nightmare. This pigsty is not recommended for human beings that are clean. It will ruin your vacation. Avoid this place!!!!!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this place stayed only one night but have just booked for 15 nights in May rooms clean i had a apartment style room.Really spacious great location excellent staff.Cant fault this hotel.Really looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is a lot of shops, bars and restaurant around, close to Makati avenue, but not in the best part of Makati.

The staffs were friendly and the room was big, but with a strange smell, the towels were very old. Overall was ok for the price we paid.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a 2 bedroom suite and stayed at the A. Venue Suites Building. The building exterior, lobby and corridors feels a bit dated (due to the fact that this is also a residence/ condominium as well) but nonetheless the facilities are easily accessible. What really impresses me is the excellent service and staff this hotel has. Being that my stay was for stay-cation purposes and we've been celebrating a birthday as well, all our request was promptly facilitated. The staff are very courteous and friendly. Probably the only downside of our room was that the a/c unit filter were very dirty to a point it blocked air circulation to the a/c unit. Upon calling attention of maintenance, this was promptly and properly addressed. Overall, I am very happy with my stay and experience and truly the service was a big help in making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Noise level of the hotel (my room was south of the building) is quite loud due to several constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberatingjepoy, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear TerenceYu9344,

Thank you for sharing your sentiments and rest assured that A.Venue Suites Tower is getting further improvements and has been one favorite places preferred by most of our guests due to "homy" feel. Perhaps you may try our next towers: Antel Spa and Serenity.

The location is indeed our best advantages and you may find our packages even more competitive consi8dering our facilities and other amenities.

Again thank you and have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The check in was a little messy as we went to the wrong tower as everyone else seems to. Once we found the right place it was fine. The reception area was nice and air conditioned but the corridors and lifts were not. Our room was extremely dark, an overhead light and some brighter bulbs would help enormously. The bed was firm but comfortable enough. Unfortunately the bottom sheet was a good 30cm too short for the bed, leaving me with the unpleasant thought that my feet were in exactly the same position on the mattress as the previous occupant. The 2 pools on the 4th floor were really nice but sadly there were very few sunbeds and little shade. The area was clean looking but I did object to the cleaners washing their mops out in the shower that guests were meant to use before swimming. Towels for pool use also seemed to be a bit of an issue. Why they weren't available at the pool or just left in the rooms I don't know. We had to order them at reception and sign for them on delivery, they then disappeared from our room the next day. We were told we could get replacements at the pool. It only took half an hour. There is a lift for pool users which seemed like a good idea but perhaps a refurb is in order. On the plus side the hotel was in a great position near bars and the night market and the staff were unfailingly polite and courteous. Overall the problems seem quite minor and easy to remedy but one thing after another leads to an experience that wasn't great.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberatingjepoy, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Eleanor1986,

Thank you so much for all suggestions and rest assured that those were noted. As for the swimming pool I have coordinated this matter to our area supervisor for improvements particularly with towels. The towels will be coming from your suites and you may request for new ones whenever you feel that you need new set, especially after your swim.

The hotel has the biggest swimming pool in the area and this facility is very popular towards summer.

Again thank you and looking forward to have you and your guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel

Address: 7829 Makati Avenue | A. VENUE MAKATI, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Antel Hotel is your home from home at the heart of the cosmopolitan and business district of Makati City, offering all suites in its three (3) distinct towers: A.Venue Suites, Antel Spa, and Serenity Tower with FREE Wi-Fi, kitchenette that includes a microwave, electronic kettle, a sink, dining tableand more The hotel has the largest pool, with infinity and kiddie pool, and also has the largest parking space that is very important in the area. All are suite rooms, with a receiving area that is suitable either for business or leisure purposes equipped with flat screen TV, DVD player, Ipod dock, and working desk. The private bathrooms feature a bathtub and walk-in shower. Best Western Plus Antel Hotel offers premium and personalized massage services from Toccare Spa equipped with steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi and semi-precious stone themed VIP rooms. For healthy lifestyle routines, the hotel also offers two (2) fully equipped fitness centers, a game room for adults and a playground for kids. Guests can enjoy the convenience of room service, or dine at two stylish restaurants in the hotel: Azzurro Restaurante Mediterraneo, which serves Mediterranean dishes plus features a KTV room; Granvia Cafe that offers Western and modern local cuisine that also operates in the pool bar. The hotel is just few steps away from A.Venue Mall and Century City Mall, it also provides a free shuttle service and has a taxi bay for guests to visit Glorietta Mall, a 20-minute drive away. Ayala Museum is 10-minute drive away, while Ninoy Aquino International Airport is only a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The a. Venue Hotel Makati
BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.