We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7829 Makati Avenue | A. VENUE MAKATI, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Rancho Santa Mar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Compared to many of the other places in the Philippines where we stayed this was a luxurious hotel in a nice safe location. The suite we stayed in was very nice with two rooms and bathrooms with a central room in the middle. It was amazing for the price we spent in US dollars. I wasn't as impressed with my in-laws single room in the other tower and that night they were spraying the hotel for pests. I don't know if that's good or bad - good they are dealing with the pest problem, after all it is a tropical country. Bad if they had a problem in the first place, but we never saw any bugs or had pest problem first day before they sprayed. The service was great, a little problem with internet for the family sharing the other side of the suite, but not on our side. Bathrooms were nice and pretty clean - hot showers, too! Good air conditioning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntelHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for such a good review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, with regards to the pest control, we do apologize for the inconvenience, it doesn't mean that we have pest problem; we do have a weekly pest treatment as a preventive maintenance.

Again thanks and we are hoping to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    232
    102
    39
    27
See reviews for
59
83
48
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

At first, some of the positive things about the hotel

- Bell staff are very proactive and do take care of your luggage and always check taxi for left over belonging when you arrive at hotel at any time.

- Hotel also accepted advance arrival of my luggage which saved me a lots of hassle.

- Location is good.

Now there are some issues as well:

Checkin - the official check in time is 2 pm. We arrived at hotel with family at 1:35 pm. We were told that rooms are not ready and we should allow for "ample" time before we comeback. When quizzed on definition of "ample time", I was told to allow for at least 1 hour, well past 2 pm check in time.

Breakfast- Very limited spread. My wife actually chose not to eat 2 out of 4 days we were there. On the last day. I went for breakfast around 9 am and it was mayhem. Many trays were empty, no butter for bread, the toaster was not working, no milk for tea. When I asked one staff member, he said yes there is no milk.

Amenities: you can probably survive if you have limited needs.When I asked whether they can arrange for babysitter for y 6 year old son, I was told that it is not provided and they can not help me at all. They can not even give me contacts of any external agency. I requested to talk to the duty manager and I am still waiting for his callback.

Front desk: Once my wife tried to reach my room from her mobile via front desk number to talk to me in the room. She gave the name and the room number. It was transferred twice to someone else and then dropped. Later on, there was nobody picking up call at all.

Lifts: reaching breakfast floor is a game of lift manipulation. In general lifts are very busy and you may have to wait at times.

Tours: the company the hotel contracts for tours Grayline is amazingly costly for developing country like Philippines. In fact, I did the tours on 50% costs by organising myself.

My view is that this hotel may be good for a traveller with limited needs but probably not great one for families with young children.





Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntelHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
hi lovetravel7519,

Thank you for the commendation with regards to our Bell Service, with regards to some of your concerns, we do apologize for not meeting your expectations, we shall look into it and rest assured that proper actions will be done to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed there for a night and it was awesome. Wifi connection is stable, has complimentary drinks (coffee, tea, and bottled water), and free breakfast.

Location is pretty good since a supermarket and several restaurants are available within the vicinity.

Available facilities in the room are:
-electric water heater (thermos)
-personal ref
-a pair of dining sets
-Flat screen TV
-Person stereo speaker with alarm and dock for iPhones/Ipods
-Hair dryer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntelHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We are very glad to know that you are satisfied with your stay, looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

very good hotel, high standards
good location, very clean and new, rooms are not big but really good, feels like a very high end hotel.
lots of restaurants and a very good and big supermarket.
very recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntelHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much Stavsh,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel has 3towers; was shifted to A-Venue tower by them; had a 1bedroom suite. Nice and clean; Good Wifi connections; but water in shower has very Luke-warm and not good for rejuvenating after a Aircon rest for the night. Surrounding is Hooters and night pubs. Thumping music till late in the night and couldn't sleep much. Reception Staff is good and can provide good advice when requested.

Room Tip: Choose a room- on higher floor to stay away from noisy background in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntelHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for the commendation with our reception staff, apology for the inconvenience with regards to the shower and to the noise coming from outside the Hotel, we shall look into it and do the necessary actions to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed for one night in the hotel in Oct 2013. The hotel is located centrally and with easy connection to the airport. There are numerous options for food near the hotel. Guest services can be far better. I reached around 11am but the hotel refused to check me in saying it has to be after 2pm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntelHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the review, we do apologize for not accommodating you earlier than the standard time, we do allow early check-ins but it will all be based on the actual occupancy and if the room is available, you may also coordinate with the reservations department next time to take note of your actual arrival, again we do apologize for the inconvenience and we are looking forward to offer a much better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I'll start with the good - the room is big - its a small apartment with a kitchen, a queen size bed, a couch and two tvs. Nice desk in the living room and a vanity inthe bedroom. Nice amenities of robes, slippers, toiletries. Nicely decorated and the staff is very nice and friendly.

Now the not so great - its next to a loud Hooters and a street market so the boom boom boom of the music comes into your room until late at night. Its difficult to get a taxi (although this may just be Manila and not the hotel), there is not adequate hot water - mine barely got above warm even at 10am long after everyone had taken showers. There is lack of attention to detail - housekeeping forgot to make up my room one day, the menu in my room was for the wrong restaurant, and the minibar was not replenished in 3 days. Wifi is weak - its hard to use in the bedroom but worked adequately (if not always reliably) in the living room. Room card kept discharging and the elevator is slow and crowded as there are a lot of residences above the hotel.

But the staff seem very nice - I called for room service and they explained it was the wrong menu but sent a waiter up to my room within 5 minutes to take my order with the correct menu! I called about the housekeeping, and they sent someone up in 10 minutes. For the amount of money you are paying, I think its a decent business hotel but a bit more attention to detail and fixing the plumbing would make it a 4.

Room Tip: I was in 808 which does not appear to be in the front of the building but was still loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntelHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for the review, you feedback will definitely reach the management and rest assured that improvements will be done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel

Address: 7829 Makati Avenue | A. VENUE MAKATI, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Antel Hotel is your home from home at the heart of the cosmopolitan and business district of Makati City, offering all suites in its three (3) distinct towers: A.Venue Suites, Antel Spa, and Serenity Tower with FREE Wi-Fi, kitchenette that includes a microwave, electronic kettle, a sink, dining tableand more The hotel has the largest pool, with infinity and kiddie pool, and also has the largest parking space that is very important in the area. All are suite rooms, with a receiving area that is suitable either for business or leisure purposes equipped with flat screen TV, DVD player, Ipod dock, and working desk. The private bathrooms feature a bathtub and walk-in shower. Best Western Plus Antel Hotel offers premium and personalized massage services from Toccare Spa equipped with steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi and semi-precious stone themed VIP rooms. For healthy lifestyle routines, the hotel also offers two (2) fully equipped fitness centers, a game room for adults and a playground for kids. Guests can enjoy the convenience of room service, or dine at two stylish restaurants in the hotel: Azzurro Restaurante Mediterraneo, which serves Mediterranean dishes plus features a KTV room; Granvia Cafe that offers Western and modern local cuisine that also operates in the pool bar. The hotel is just few steps away from A.Venue Mall and Century City Mall, it also provides a free shuttle service and has a taxi bay for guests to visit Glorietta Mall, a 20-minute drive away. Ayala Museum is 10-minute drive away, while Ninoy Aquino International Airport is only a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The a. Venue Hotel Makati
BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.