We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel that's ruined by lazy thieving (or reckless) staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7829 Makati Avenue | A. VENUE MAKATI, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Makati
london
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel that's ruined by lazy thieving (or reckless) staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Antel Hotel has the potential to be amazing. The rooms are incredible, comfortable, large, modernly styled and have everything you need. We loved our time in the room, at the pool, using the kitchenettes and this was the most pleasant room we had. The location is brilliant and these are the reasons we stayed for 20 days. But it was a battle.

The problem is simply the staff ruin the place. Here's what we faced:

1. After the housekeeping staff cleaned our room we returned to find the door was left open. Upon going into the room everything looked ok until we found out the next day (once we had checked out) that one of our bags had been sifted through and 3,000 Pesos was stolen. This was a gift from my parents for the hospital treatment I was receiving and it was either stolen by the staff or the room was left open for someone else to steal it. Of course we should have used the safe, but we shouldn't fear about security in a 4 star hotel (especially when we shut doors!)

2. The front staff aren't very helpful. They rarely pick up the phone and constantly said we couldn't get what we agreed. As they offer lower rates for a minimum 7 night stay, they kept saying if we stayed for more than 7 nights the rate increased! It made no sense and only when the manager got involved did anything happen (when he wasn't at the Mall of Asia). Essentially the default answer by staff is no (without checking). It was very like Little Britain's "Computer says no"

3. Security is tight and often doesn't allow takeaway or food delivery to your room. We asked if we could order a yellow cab and the staff said yes. We found out 3 hours later that the reason the pizza hadn't arrived (despite 3 attempts) was because the staff denied we were staying there and refused to check. I even went down and said it was my delivery and they didn't allow it until I marched the delivery man to my hotel room.

4. "Housekeeping" is essentially staff that replace some things and remove others. Our room was never cleaned, but they would sometimes replace water, sometimes not. Sometimes replace toiletries, mainly not. The worst was that they'd often take all the towels and leave 1 between 2. When you're paying over 3,000 Pesos a night you should get the room cleaned in 3 weeks and you shouldn't have to ask for towels every other day. Housekeeping also seemed to get particularly annoyed if you didn't want you room cleaned at 9am.

5. The manager is non-existent. When the front desk told us we had to move rooms as they had booked it for someone else, we obliged but on the condition we kept the same rate (as we hadn't checked out). They expected us to pay double for the pleasure of being kicked out our room until we got the manager on the phone (first time in 3 weeks). He allowed to move rooms for the same rate, but then moved us to a room which overlooked the construction site which started work at 6am each morning. Hardly worth over 3,000 Pesos per night.

The best staff are the concierge. They will happily help you get taxis, move your luggage, open doors and give good advice. It's a shame that the rest are just simply appalling.

Stay here if you don't mind paying a lot to fight for what you paid for. However, lock up your stuff and make sure you have plenty of hours spare to argue.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that face Makati avenue (or any that face the construction site). It can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    232
    102
    39
    27
See reviews for
58
83
48
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at A Venue for 4D/3N. Staff were very helpful and accommodating... The best thing about this hotel is that all types of rooms have small kitchen where you can heat your food. Rooms are clean, housekeeping are okay, they will attend to your requests! Delicious breakfast buffet. Although there's an on going construction behind the hotel, we barely hear the noise and its not that distracting... Overall, i would love to stay here again... Good Job!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

we stayed overnight last week. their one bedroom suite is too small, smaller than other hotels in makati. room was also dark, i wish they had installed a few more functional lights.

aircon was also noisy, the old wall type. i could hear the drip of water from the other side.

service was bad, staff were too busy chatting among themselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Am going and staying here on my frequent business trips to Manila. All in all for the price, it's an OK hotel. Internet included and rooms are nice and tidy. Not a smoking friendly hotel. In rooms or anywhere in the hotel is no smoking. Bit a pain but OK. Staff usually friendly but they have their moments. Do not get room service as expensive. Rather go to burger av. or pizza or any of small restaurants around. Breakfast horrible and not worth the money. Spa OK but small. Overall is OK but a lot of room for improvement.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suite is a good option if have "big" family or 2 professionals going. Separate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked 5 rooms for our 5 days stay in this hotel. Everything went on smoothly but some hiccups on the last day before checking out, I was told to pay for the room to room phone calls which I had never encountered in all the hotels that I stayed before. On top of that, I was asked to pay 500 peso for the old towel that was torn when I used it to wrap my baby after bathing. Absurd isn't it? The towel was already very worn out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Staying in their suites is a good experience in a clean and modern hotel with great parking and easy transportation to the malls. Have been using other higher ranked hotels in makati, but Antel or A venue is visually a very good hotel.

Their main problem is the staff. Impossible to get a reply from the front desk even calling them multiple times wont get you a proper response. Spending almost a month on this hotel made me know all their names cause of problems and even had to have a big fight to talk to the GM.

I hope Antel has put effort in fixing the staffing problems as the hotel has the potential to be a very good hotel with higher ranking than given, but because of the service the hotel get a low review.

Going to stay another month on this hotel, so lets hope for a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here two times upon arriving and departing Manila. Had a two room suite which was spacious enough for one person and overall value very good for location. Simple room which is starting to show some age. Again, good value for the money. Compared to other hotels in the Makati area, very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel

Address: 7829 Makati Avenue | A. VENUE MAKATI, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Antel Hotel is your home from home at the heart of the cosmopolitan and business district of Makati City, offering all suites in its three (3) distinct towers: A.Venue Suites, Antel Spa, and Serenity Tower with FREE Wi-Fi, kitchenette that includes a microwave, electronic kettle, a sink, dining tableand more The hotel has the largest pool, with infinity and kiddie pool, and also has the largest parking space that is very important in the area. All are suite rooms, with a receiving area that is suitable either for business or leisure purposes equipped with flat screen TV, DVD player, Ipod dock, and working desk. The private bathrooms feature a bathtub and walk-in shower. Best Western Plus Antel Hotel offers premium and personalized massage services from Toccare Spa equipped with steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi and semi-precious stone themed VIP rooms. For healthy lifestyle routines, the hotel also offers two (2) fully equipped fitness centers, a game room for adults and a playground for kids. Guests can enjoy the convenience of room service, or dine at two stylish restaurants in the hotel: Azzurro Restaurante Mediterraneo, which serves Mediterranean dishes plus features a KTV room; Granvia Cafe that offers Western and modern local cuisine that also operates in the pool bar. The hotel is just few steps away from A.Venue Mall and Century City Mall, it also provides a free shuttle service and has a taxi bay for guests to visit Glorietta Mall, a 20-minute drive away. Ayala Museum is 10-minute drive away, while Ninoy Aquino International Airport is only a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The a. Venue Hotel Makati
BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.