We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely lakeside home with charming hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Lakeside Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
79 Lakeshore Drive, Auburn, NY 13021   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Auburn B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely lakeside home with charming hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I cannot believe there are many places to stay in the Finger Lakes with a better setting than this.A great find and what a pity we could not stay longer and the weather was a bit unkind.An ideal base to explore Auburn,Skaneateles and the surrounding area.We had excellent dinners in both at restaurants recommended by Judy

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bemus Point, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I take my daughter for a weekend get-away every year for her birthday. I coldn't find a more beautiful perfect home in the most georgous setting on the Lake ever! Judy is the most gracious hostess, fun to talk to, immaculate housekeeper and a wonderful chef in the kitchen. The aroma of bread baking woke us up in the morning and that was just the start to a delicious breakfast in the most wonderful breakfast room with a fantastic view of the lake! My daughter and I so enjoyed talking with Judy, our hostess, and Gary and Linda who were spending their 25th anniversary there. We felt very lucky to have found such a perfect Bed and Breakfast Inn in the middle of the Finger Lakes, a region so unique and beautiful, it must be seen to appreciate it.
We wish Judy and her husband all the best in the world and we can't wait to come back.
Traudi

Room Tip: One bedroom has twin beds (for children!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We were looking for a weekend get away to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
We selected the Finger Lakes and after some research, found the Lakeside B&B based on what we saw and read on TripAdvisor.
It was exactly what we were looking for.
We called Judy (the owner) to ask some questions and decided to book it.
When we arrived Judy showed us around and was very warm and accomodating. She is fairly new to the B&B business but is doing a great job. Her home ia beautiful and she is all about making her guests feel welcome and comfortable.
The room was very nice. We had the Queen bed room with the private bath. Very comfortable bed....nice bathroom (great shower)...and nice view of the lake.
She serves you breakfast every morning...in a large patio room with an absolute great view of the lake. Starts off with fresh fruit....yogurt....coffee/tea...juices...and fresh bread...which you smell the moment you open your eyes. We then had blueberry pancakes one morning...and French Toast the other day....both were really good !
We then usually went out on the back porch or in the chairs down by the lake to read or just relax and let the food settle. (There's an awesome hammock too!)
Plenty to do in the area...we hit a bunch of wineries which are just a short drive from Owasco Lake....and also visited Skanetateles(sp?) " Skinny Atlas".....
Lots of little shops there and plenty of places to eat...we ate at 1820 House which is outside of town a bit....food was really good....but decor and condition of restaurant was a let down....a bit rustic. Every one told us Moro's Table right in Auburn is the place to go ...but it was closed Sunday.
Best Wineries are.....Goose Watch...Swedish Hill...Montezuma(they sell vodka made from bee's honey) and CJS Winery. We liked CJS because the owners took us in the back room and showed us the whole process. Great people. Smaller operation but worth the stop.
Back at the house....you have alot of privacy....rooms are very quiet and Judy is available for questions...but she gives you lots of space and "run of the house"
They have the absolute best property on the lake....and the home is immaculate.
It looks like something out of a magazine....but you still feel comfortable and welcome there.
All in all....it was a relaxing and very enjoyable weekend....I would highly recommend the Lakeside B&B for anyone looking for a "get away".

Room Tip: Room with Queen bed, private bath and view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Lakeside B&B. The owner was especially welcoming and we enjoyed the lake view, especially over breakfast. The room was relaxing and comfortable. We would definitely come back again when in town!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, New York, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

First of all, the picture on the website homepage fails to capture the real beauty of the Lakeside b&b and its setting. It is a sacred space. Indoors everything is quality; everything is clean. Spacious and comfortable are fitting description. I walked to the water's edge at 11 P.M., and the next morning I sat by the shore for a spell. A precious meditation. And Judy served a tasty breakfast as we relaxed over coffee with two other guests who proved to be delightful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Beuatiful setting on the lake with magnificent accomodations and very friendly host and hostess. Since there are only a few rooms, the place is quiet and private, right accross from a golf course, on the lake, and near dutch Hollow, 5 minutes away. Excellent small towns to visit nearby, and fine breakfast in the morning to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Anyone who has any contact with Judy Freeman is a fortunate person indeed.
I connected with Judy immediately when she returned my initial phone call. She is warm & welcoming. My decision was made at that point. The relationship only got better. Judy & her family welcome you into their gorgeous home with warmth & friendliness. They went out of their way to give us suggestions of restaurants, activities, etc.
The inn is immaculate , the location is outstanding & the breakfast is outstanding.
The best reference that I can give is that I have never written a review in 30 years of visiting B&B's. The Lakeside I could not pass up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 79 Lakeshore Drive, Auburn, NY 13021
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy the tranquil setting, warmth & character of a unique home, built 1905, on the eastern shore of Owasco Lake on 1+ acre with 150' lakefront. Breakfast buffet served in the dining room or the porch. Fall/winter guests enjoy the warmth of the quarry stone fireplace in the large and comfortable living room - 1 guestroom w/ private bath, two guestrooms share a bathroom & private hall - may be booked as a suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeside Bed And Breakfast Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.