We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, reasonably priced .... we'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Casa Mexicana

Mi Casa Mexicana
171 Grant Avenue, Auburn, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 101 restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Auburn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious, reasonably priced .... we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Portions are big, flavors are excellent and the prices were very reasonable. The salsa (with chips) is easily the best I have ever had. Just the right amount of spiciness. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    15
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, good quality Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you are looking for a very good Mexican meal, this place is a fine choice. I don't know how Taco Bell (directly across the street) does any business at all with this restaurant so nearby. Mi Casa Mexicana goes far beyond Taco Bell and offers large portions, good variety, and a very pleasant Mexican décor in quite a large space. The tables are far enough apart so that conversation is easy, and the Mexican proprietors are very accommodating and pleasant. The menu is extensive too.

I was there for lunch, and there are many specials, all in the $6 category. I had the chimichanga with chicken, which comes with rice and beans. It was absolutely stuffed with roasted chicken, and the rice wasn't too dry, and the beans were tasty. It all seemed quite authentic to me, but the hotness level (or lack of it) is definitely adapted to the American palate. There are bottled green and red hot sauces at the table though, so you can always add more heat. The chimichanga had nice salad greens on top, with sour cream and guacamole too, and there were chips and dip also. All homemade and very good, but mild. I would definitely return here, since Mexican restaurants in the Finger Lakes region are hard to come by, and this one was a very good experience overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very clean, nicely decorated. Service excellent. Bring your appetite, portions are large with very reasonable prices. Food is excellent. Authentic mexican experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very clean, nicely decorated, friendly staff. Amazing food at fair prices. Portions are good sized. I love it there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very pleasant atomosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are tired of fast food style Mexican and want something more authentic than Taco Bell and far more flavorful than El Canelo, this is the place. It's not small, but still is a slightly hidden gem, as it is easy to drive right by without noticing it's there. In fact, the best way to find it is to watch for Taco Bell, almost directly across the street.

The restaurant may be geographically close to the TB across the street but the dining experience is as far from TB as you can imagine. Here, you get full table service and an extensive menu with a wide range of Mexican items, including several I haven't seen on a menu previously. The food is hot, generously portioned, and delicious. The prices are affordable, adding up to a very good value.

The dining room is very nicely decorated with cheerful colors and Mexican items on the walls. The restaurant is large enough so you won't feel cramped, and it is handicapped accessible. The rest room was immaculate. This also is an informal dining experience suitable for families with children.

I live about 45 minutes from Auburn and come here several times a year, mostly for the theater productions. Mi Casa Mexicana will definitely be seeing more of me when I'm in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casa Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to Mi Casa Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Casa Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.