We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel AND Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Auburn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Auburn to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 State Street, Auburn, NY NY 13021   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Auburn
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel AND Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hats off to the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn for saving my wedding weekend. We booked at another local hotel and could not stay there due to the fact it was a dump. Arrived at the Hilton Garden Inn at 1am looking for a room for two nights. The front desk person Carlene was so helpful. Explained our situation. She was able to get us a room and gave us great service! Hotel is spotless. Quiet. Rooms are amazing. Very nicely decorated. Loved the wood look floor in the bathroom and hall. Staff is top notch. Very accommodating. Answered all our questions. GREAT coffeemakers. Overall EXCELLENT hotel choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for rating us on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate the feedback!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here and you found our hotel to be spotless.
I will make sure to pass these comments along to the rest of our staff as well.
Once again I thank you and I do hope you stay with us again soon.
Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    66
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
82
76
9
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel was located in a very accessible area. The room was perfect. Clean on arrival. The front desk staff was extremely pleasant, informative, and professional. As was all of the staff. Would definitely stay at this hotel when in the area. The outdoor fire pit and warm cookies was a very pleasant way to wind down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and rating us on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate the feedback from our guests.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and you found the staff to be extremely professional.
Once again I thank you and I do hope you visit us again soon!
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had three rooms on the 4th floor and they were very quiet and spotless.
Staff was very courteous both breakfast and the main dining room food was excellent!
One member of the staff, Michael (Dining room) is a great representitve of the Hliton staff. His tips and suggestions made our trip to the Finger Lake region most enjoyable.
Tim and Karen C - Burbank, IL

Room Tip: We had three rooms on the 4th floor and they were very quiet and spotless. The fire pit area just o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate the feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, breakfast, and Michael's tips and suggestions!
We look forward to your next visit.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My boss and I stayed here for a 2 nights. All went well, check in and out was smooth, the rooms were nice and comfortable, and the service quick. The front desk helped with the request for an extension cable and promptly delivered it to our room. The only down side was the parking lot was not the best suited for towing a trailer, however you can make it do as there is an area you can back it into if it doesn't become planted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for all your kind words and rating us on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate the feedback.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here and we do hope you visit us again soon.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a nice gem. Pleasant staff, clean room, lobby, fitness center. The food at the on site restaurant was excellent with an attentive staff. Wish there were more hotels like this. It is located within a safe area and there are other areas to visit within walking distance. Highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate it. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel and that you would highly recommend this hotel!
Once again I thank you and I hope you have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a return trip visit from Niagara Falls Canada. Everything about this hotel is A-1. The only difference from last year (I didn't think to check the amenities) was that we had a complementary full hot breakfast both days of our stay last time so an additional $45 would be tacked on to the bill for breakfast this time Took a little while to grasp that even the bagel and coffee would cost $6.99. A little surprised to take away amenities!
Not the hotels fault, of course but we may have chosen differently had we known. I'll bet even the Bates motel offered complementary bagels! Still a great hotel and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate the feedback. We do offer Bed and Breakfast packages at our hotel. That package is probably what you had last year when you were here. Usually our breakfast is $9.95 per person all you can eat. However, if you book the bed and breakfast package it covers the breakfast cost for two people.
Please let me know if you have any questions and we do hope you visit us again soon!
Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a followup to our previous review of this property. A second visit, four months after the first, found that little had changed in the interim. This HGI is still generally excellent, with the sole exception that the food and service in its two restaurants is still chaotically out of control.

The breakfast room situation remains unresolved: of the two waitresses on duty, the older middle-aged woman was glum and sour-faced, the younger was appreciably more personable and a likable klutz who bumped into tables and chairs and spilled coffee all over our table. The cooked-to-order breakfasts were perhaps marginally better but still sub par, and the coffee remains miserably undrinkable.

And now for the bad news. The attached BeauVine dinner restaurant, which previously provided an excellent fine dining experience, was extremely disappointing this time around. On a very slow Sunday evening with only four tables occupied, the two waitresses were hopelessly inefficient, inattentive, and unable to multitask, the kitchen was excruciatingly slow in getting the food out (I envisioned one cook working on a one-burner stove), the food simply wasn't as carefully prepared, and a noisy party of seven university employees in town for a meeting was four sheets to the wind when we arrived, continued to drink rather than eat, and no manager or maitre d' was on duty to rein in this mouthy motley crew and get the situation under control. Our dining experience was a total disaster. I would recommend avoiding both the breakfast and dining rooms until such time as general management cleans house and replaces their food service staffs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate the feedback. We are thrilled that you find the hotel to be excellent and we thank you so much for staying with us.

As for the Food and Beverage comments, I will make sure these get passed along to the Operators of the restaurant so they may review your comments.

Once again I thank you and I hope you have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Auburn

Address: 74 State Street, Auburn, NY NY 13021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Finger Lakes, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.