We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and attention to detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Finger Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Finger Lakes to your Saves list
Inn at the Finger Lakes
12 Seminary Ave, Auburn, NY 13021   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Auburn
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great staff and attention to detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very happy we chose this hotel based on reviews. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful pointing us to some places of interest in the area, as well as suggestions for restaurants even before we asked. Even though the hotel decor is a little dated, they did seem to put a lot of thought into the little details. The special soaps in the bathroom and fanciful folding of the towels; the breakfast buffet was very good and presented beautifully, again with some thought to the details: coffee and tea were always available in the lobby. We stayed in a brand new hotel the night before in another city and this by far surpassed the attention to detail. It just goes to show that it's not always about the modern furnishings, but the thought put into anticipating what a guest might need. The wine tasting evening was also a pleasant experience. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    56
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
64
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

From the initial call that I placed to check availabilty the gentlemen that answered my questions and later checked me into the hotel went well above and beyond the call. He carefully and precisely answered all of my questions with a smile. When I said I wanted a peaceful nights sleep, the man offered to place me on the third floor.

The hotel was beautiful,it's not the royal palace, yet it feels extravigent. The wine tasting was a new and exciting expirence for me.The continental breakfast was bigger and fancier than most of the Hotels I've been staying with. There fitness room was clean, you walk in and it smells clean. There were several local restaurants within walkin distance of the hotel, the gentleman that checked me in suggested I try "Morro's Table", the meal was worth every bit of the price I paid. This is a hotel I will frequent again in my travels.

Michael Vickers, July 31-August 1, 2013

Room Tip: Third floor is quieter, can't here anyone running back and forth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I liked the location and free parking and the staff was friendly and helpful.

The room was small and the whole place needs a smartening up as everything was faded. As the elevator was slow, I took the stairs and that area is not nice. During breakfast it would be a good idea to have staff clean the area as it got really messy and didn't look healthy. I am celiac and the only thing I could eat was yogurt but they ran out of that before I got there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wow, While I was checking in at the hotel this afternoon and watched a guest approach the front desk demanding that the desk refund their moneyad the bed was not to their liking. They were in the room for an hour!! I felt bad for this poor girl, I can't believe people.
I've stayed in many hotels where the bed was "to soft" or "to hard", I would never demand a refund after hanging out in the room for an hour!!!
Oh our stay was excellent!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed in this inn. The first time was 7 years ago and they had just been sold and refurbished. This place used to be a Microtel. It is still very clean and well ran with very nice people, but it is not holding up well. Everything is tired and in need of a face lift. The linens are old and worn.
They are pet friendly and have a area behind that you can walk you pets. We were here during "high" season. Can't figure out for the life of me why they would a high season be in this sleepy small town. We paid a different price for each night that we were there. We were there for 4 nights and paid a different rate for each night. Monday being the least expensive, and Sat was way too expensive. Little pricey for the size of the tiny room. Not many choices in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Didn't live up to our expectations for a weekend get-away. Although they were accommodating with our two little dogs, the Inn is a VERY basic hotel with few if any amenities. The rooms were OK, clean but nothing to write home about. If they are going to market pet-friendly, they should have somewhere to walk them, put out bags, etc. In a pretty run-down part of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Basic, clean hotel located off of the arterial in the city. It was as expected. Nothing fancy but clean and well managed. If you want something that is no frills and reliable then this will work for you. Pretty basic but good overall. Try to get a room that is not adjacent to the main road (Arterial). It will provide better sleeping conditions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side away from the Arterial which is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Finger Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Finger Lakes

Address: 12 Seminary Ave, Auburn, NY 13021
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Finger Lakes Hotel in Auburn offers lodging and accommodations for vacations and getaways in the Finger Lakes wine region of New York. The Finger Lakes region is known for its distinctive wineries and the Inn at the Finger Lakes is located near many - all found along the Cayuga and Seneca Wine Trails. We are near historical, cultural and recreational points of interest including Skaneateles Lake, Owasco Lake, Harriet Tubman House and William Seward House. Visitors can shop til they drop at Bass Pro Shop, MacKenzie-Child's Pottery, Waterloo Premium Outlets, Carousel Mall, Macys and Marshalls as well as a variety of local antique shops and farmers markets that offer a unique and varied shopping experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Finger Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Finger Lakes Hotel Auburn
Finger Lakes Hotel
Hotel At The Finger Lakes
Inn At The Finger Lakes Auburn, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Finger Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.