We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Disappointing...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Springside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springside Inn
6141 West Lake Road, Auburn, NY 13021   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Auburn B&B and Inns
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

After reviewing many off the different B&B's in the Finger Lakes area, my boyfriend and I decided on the Springside Inn. The property itself is beautiful and well kept. However, upon our arrival, we were met with the staff and the owner trying to work out some kind of issue that probably should have been done behind doors - not where guests enter and typically get their first impression of a place. Our room #33 was fine, nothing exceptional. There are 2 windows each looking onto a different part of the roof of the Inn - so if this is what you are after, room #33 is where you should be. The Inn does need some improvements. There was a very strong odour that was very noticeable every time we used the stairs - it had a very distinct smell, almost like gravy. I came to the conclusion that it must be coming from the thick red carpets covering the staircase that were clearly well used. The staff in the restaurant were awesome - very hospitable. The food we had for dinner one evening in the Oak & Vine was very good. If you enjoy breakfast, better bring a snack as the options are slim. One morning they had a large jar of peanut butter that was 90% empty. I personally don't think putting a jar of empty peanut butter that looks like it may have come from your Aunt Milly's kitchen on a breakfast bar very classy. While the area is lovely, I will unfortunately not be returning to stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just returned from a 3 nights stay over the Memorial Day weekend. We have stayed at the Inn a number of times over the past many years. It had been a few years since our last stay.

We booked the "weekend fling" (a great value, by the way) and an additional night this time.
The Inn has 7 rooms on the second and third floors.
The main activity around the inn are the events that are booked there. On the weekend that we stayed there were 2 bridal showers, a christening party, a stop for dinner by a bus tour and a small wedding reception! There is also a newly renovated restaurant that is open to the public (with a funky bar area).
These events in no way took away from our relaxing stay (as it is a big place).

We have stayed in many of the rooms over the years. They continue to be well kept and we could see the upgrades that had happened over the years.
We stayed the first 2 nights in room 32 (the red room). It was quite large with a king bed,small sofa, coffee table and large bathroom.
The last night we moved to room 33 next door (we booked late and room 32 had been already booked for the 3rd night). It was smaller with a queen bed but very cozy. I loved the muted colour scheme in that room, it was very pretty.

As an aside, we have stayed in both of the suites in the past, they offer much more space and a big jetted tub. What we didn't like is that you couldn't watch TV from the bed (I know it sounds trivial). I did miss not having a fridge in the room this time but the staff provided ice whenever we asked for it.

The beds in both rooms we stayed were so comfortable and the sheets were a nice quality. We slept great! Both rooms had a flat screen TV with lots of channels.

I could say lots more...the full size bottle of wine in the room when we arrived, the deep clawfoot tubs and updated bathroom fixtures (nice shower head, good pressure), the beautiful grounds , good food in the restaurant and a nice continental breakfast (much upgraded since our last stay) with fresh fruit, pastries, bagels...
All the staff we encountered were warm and friendly.

There is lots to do in the area. As Canadians, we found lots of great shopping. We love Skaneateles with its shops and restaurants.

You will not be disappointed with a stay here.
We are already planning to book for this time next year.

If you want more information, don't hesitate to e-mail me at korosi@sympatico.ca

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

From check in to check out the staff was great and could not do enough for you. The food was excellent--try their scallops and gumbo for two great meals. The room was very clean, large and well appointed. This is one great place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Springside this past weekend and were delighted to find that the room was even better than we expected, the dinner was delicious, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the service was very good. Nice selection of craft beers at the bar. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: The suites like room 31 are great for the few extra dollars. Try the getaway package !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We made 11:30 am reservations for our family of five for the Sunday brunch. When we went through the buffet line the first time, many of the dishes were empty. Just as we were ready to go up for seconds to get the things we couldn't get the first time through, a group of 80-100 people from what looked like 2 private parties came through the buffet line. We had to wait a good 30 minutes before we could go through the line again, which by that point was empty again. No one cleared our used plates, we had to ask for coffee refills and had to hunt someone down to pay the bill. The young ladies who were refilling the buffet line were friendly and helpful, but we were asking them to do things that obviously weren't their job to do. Considering we went out to celebrate a birthday, the overall experience was a let down. Some food dishes were good, others needed improvement. Desserts were pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just spent four days at this historic inn and couldn't have imagined what a perfect getaway it would be. We booked Suite 23, which was spacious and as beautifully appointed as all the inn's public areas. The whirlpool tub in our bathroom was relaxing and very welcome at the end of each day. As part of our package, we were treated to chocolate covered strawberries (fresh & sweet), a cheese plate (nice variety) and a bottle of wine (delightfully pleasing) upon arrival. The staff were wonderful and very attentive without being intrusive. It was obvious that everyone who worked there felt part of the inn's family. After meeting the warm and welcoming owners, it was obvious why. The inn offers a complimentary continental breakfast, which included a variety of freshly baked scones (most yummy) and a different just baked treat daily, in addition to bagels, cereals, a variety of fresh fruit, juice and their own signature coffee mix. On Sunday we indulged in their fabulous brunch buffet (1/2 price for guests). The inn also has a wonderful restaurant (Oak & Vine). The food was fabulous, so much so that instead of trying different places to dine each night of our visit, as planned, we kept going back to Oak & Vine to try different dishes. We were not disappointed! Outside the restaurant is a very nice bar area featuring extensive craft beer offerings, a friendly bartender and a pub menu for those wishing to induge. The grounds of the inn, with its view of (& access to) Lake Owasco, are beautiful and serene, as is the Finger Lakes region in which it resides. We returned home relaxed and refreshed. What more could we ask for. We highly recommend the Springside Inn and look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a jewel in the center of the Finger Lakes for a couple's getaway. More or less centrally located, easy run to Ithaca, Syracuse, Geneva, Rochester. There's quite a difference in the rooms, so make sure you know what you're after. Most are pretty substantial compared to your standard hotel. The restaurant (Oak & Vine) is great - the food, the staff, everything. We were there during the week, so the Inn (rooms) were pretty quiet. We were surprised to see the restaurant pack up by evening. Food was great, & we had a wine & cheese plate in the room to start. Even the owners took time to visit. Along with the staff, they were all personable & professional. Just go there.

Room Tip: Wander around and check out all the rooms while you're there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springside Inn

Address: 6141 West Lake Road, Auburn, NY 13021
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit a place full of history set in the heart of the Finger Lakes. Built in 1854, the beautifilly restored Springside Inn offers 7 spacious, uniqually designed guest rooms. Think four poster beds, claw foot tubs, exposed brick walls and orginial fireplaces. Start your day enjoying our continental breakfast on the varenda or in front of the fireplace. Spend your time here, relaxing by the pond, kayaking on the lake or visiting the local wine trails. For dinner, you won't have to go far for a fantastic meal. Oak & Vine, our modern gastro pub, is located right here on property; offering locally grown, organic foods and a bevy of micro brews. This family owned property is focused on catering to each of our guests needs. We strive to ensure that your stay here at this wonderful, historic Inn is flawless. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springside Hotel Auburn
Springside Inn Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Springside Inn to your Saves list