We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Spa!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonya's Garden Spa

Sonya's Garden Spa
Barangay Buck Estate | Alfonso, Cavite City, Luzon, Philippines
+63-9175329097
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Love the Spa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Visiting Sonya's and staying at the B&B is already becoming an annual tradition for me and my husband but this was the first time we tried the spa.

Let me start by saying that I've had one too many terrible scrubs. That being said, I truly enjoyed my sugar green tea scrub at Sonya's because I appreciate that they allow 20 mins for the scrub to soak in your skin while wrapped in cloth. Then they end the treatment by lathering you in lotion that's almost like a semi massage of sorts. Again, I've had a lot of scrubs to last me a lifetime and this is the first time I've had one where they even bothered to lather me in lotion with a gentle massage. It's simple, fuss free but thoughtful. My husband on the other hand had their signature massage which he also loved.

Some reviews here say that Sonya's is overrated. I don't know what you are talking about. We go every year and every year there's something new like the Apothecary. If you are only gonna have lunch and visit on a crazy busy day, I would understand why you would find it not as delightful. And not as special.

My recommendation is try Sonya's on a weekday, and stay at the B&B for the most unforgettable, and most special experience.

Also, if you're not into natural, organic, healthy lifestyle, Eco-friendly experiences then don't bother. It's obviously not for you.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    5
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“delete this in your tagaytay trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Majority of sites tell us that its one of the great places to visit in Tagaytay. I considered it as part of our itinerary during the holy week considering the different reviews plus the spectacular photos of the place. Take note of the address, it is in Alfonso, Cavite and not Tagaytay. It was a long travel from Tagaytay, and theres nothing in this place. Just a small garden, no staff attended to us. We asked for a cafe to have afternoon snacks, they offered us the menu for lunch and dinner vegetable buffet. When we asked again if there's bread, or juice, or bottled water.. Again, this stuff are not available.. Its a waste of time going to this place, plus overrated wellness services.. Therefore, this should'nt part of your Tagaytay escapade..

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Overrated massage services in a beautiful garden setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was really looking forward to have a good massage at Sonya's after reading reviews and blog reviews about this place and spa services. I have been trying to reach Sonya's by sending emails twice and sending an inquiry on their webpage but i have not received any reply from them till the day i arrived in Manila. I have no local number so there is no way i can call Sonya's. When we reached Sonya's Garden which was quite off from the main road, we were aghast to know that we had to wait for 3hrs in order to have our massage.

We did not want to travel all the way back for nothing so we ended staying for the massage. They would let you shower before the massage in their nice bathroom which has no door though. The massage was not what i expected, the masseuse did not give any force throughout the massage, it felt she was just wiping the oil on my body. Also, i find that there is not a need for the masseuse to be giving a massage near our breasts. I had massage in other places, but this is the only massage that would massage near the breasts area.

Anyway, the dalandan tea they served was pretty good. Just like many described in online reviews. The garden looks more serene and better at night too, just that there are mosquitos everywhere.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Take Time Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

A trip to Sonya's Garden is very exciting. The place is not that big but your stay would mean a lot. Their food is very great, healthy as it can be. They offer big serving and I guess their buffet meal is really worth it. You will also got a chance to experience Sonya's lifestyle. Sometimes it is very important to us to relax and enjoy life. Feel the peaceful place and rekindle with yourself in this place.
For those who are commuting, ride a bus going to Nasugbu and take off Buck Estate, take a tricycle going to Sonya Garden, fare is Php 30.00.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A delightful escape from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Philippines is not exactly short of vegetation - palm and mango trees are everywhere. Where there is an unpaved piece of land, something would grow. But the country didn't have the formal / planned horticultural tradition (such as Hong Kong, Singapore and Japan) so everything looked a bit eclectic. Until you get to Sonya's Garden.

We arrived for lunch, and were treated to the most delightful Filipino cuisine. The salad included freshly cut leaves from the garden next door, edible petals, and a lovely dressing. The adobo dishes were lovely. Not to mention the exquisite antique tableware that served us. Very very nice.

And the stroll around the ground made the experience more delightful. Trees, shrubs and flowers were planted with care - with much harmony. A few passion flowers were in bloom and we were treated to their intricate architectural shapes. We ventured into several of the green houses - yet one doesn't find many green houses adorned with chandeliers and beautifully laid out tea tables.

Rumour has it that this garden oasis was inspired by Mrs Sonya Garcis's visits to the Royal Botanical Garden at Kew in London. What she brought back was the quintessentially informal English planting style with a very heavy dose of love, care and attention.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonya's Garden Spa also viewed

Cavite City, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Sonya's Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonya's Garden Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.