We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Pine...Just Fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Pine Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Pine Hotel
Cnr of Carino and Yandoc Sts, Baguio, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Baguio
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Golden Pine...Just Fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My hubby and I spent on this hotel last January (2013) to celebrate our post first month as married couple and my birthday. We arrived in Baguio quite early around 4 am...The Hotel is easy to find which is actually a walking distance from the Capitol. We tried to check-in more than 8 hours than the required check in time, but since the hotel was full, we were not able to get a room, not until after lunch time. Focusing on the hotel's review, I must say that it was just average.

Reservation:

I love the idea that once you make your reservation online, they will call you up to confirm it. I made a request since the purpose of going there is actually a double celebration, but it seems they did not consider the request.

The Staff

They are very accommodating from the security guard to the hotel crews. They allowed us to stay and rest in the guests area (lobby) when we returned before 6 am after checking other hotels that have available rooms. They were friendly, too, attentive and able to answer our inquiries and needs.

The room

It was huge enough for both of us since that was the available room during our stay, which I think is still in peak season. The bathroom is huge with a tub, no complaint on said part. The smell in the room was not that fresh though, but clean. We can hear the noise from the street, which is one of the flaws and can affect the relaxation mood. Another thing, wi-fi is not reliable despite the fact that you can connect to it. What else? The carpet I think was not vacuumed for days as I can feel some dirt when I have to be barefoot.

Food

The only complimentary is their breakfast, nothing else and I think 2 bottled water in the room, which is not even cold. No complimentary coffee or tea for a hotel like that. The breakfast choices is limited. For the American breakfast, 1 egg, 2 strips of bacon, 1 wheat bread cut in half and coffee or tea. Honestly, it has very small portion to think of for a girl's appetite. Good thing, the lady waitress allowed me to have the hot choco, though the only choice is coffee or tea. We did not bother to eat there for lunch and dinner because we doubt with the portions...lol! One more, there is a difference of price when you eat in their restaurant and when you order in their restaurant and ask them to take it in your room. The latter is considered a room service price which has an added charge. I can't remember if they even let us pay for the hot water.

Overall, just fine. If I will be asked if we will consider going back, I don't think so,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel is situated in de heart of great places. Malls, church, park. Just need to explore around. I recon walkin wif guidance of a MAP. So u cud find ur back to de hotel. We did a lot of walkin, great sight seeing n will knw wad n whr to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location and just 20minutes walk through Burnham park. It easy to get the taxi plus close to Macdonald as well. But i dont like the noise of the traffic in morning and sometimes the TV channel doesn't work at all. The breakfast of this hotel its alright, but the staff are so courteous and helpful all the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is located in a good central area in Baguio, walking distance to a lot of local attractions and restaurants. The service at the front desk was very good and the room was large and clean. The beds were also very comfortable.
Be careful of the bathroom floors, when wet they are unusually slippery, quite dangerous in fact. Make sure u stand only on the towel or use the paper slippers provided.
My only real problem was the waiter service and food for the included breakfast. The waiter was very unfriendly and rude. it was almost as if he just wanted us in and out as fast as possible. He took our orders but his attitude was incredibly rude, i dont know him and had never met him before so there was no reason for this poor service. He did get our coffee as requested then moved straight off to another table. No suger or milk though. We had to ask him for that , and didnt those eyes roll! After that we just asked the other waiter for anything further. The breakfast had 2 choices. Filipino or Western. The filipino was very tasty, the western was awful. The bacon was so over fried (deep fried?) it neither tasted or really looked like bacon. I ate the egg on some toast then went to another place for a real breakfast.
This hotel is a nice place to stay , the staff are mostly happy and efficient, the rooms comfortable and clean.
I would recommend this place for a stay but if your gonna eat there then you might be ok if your filipino , otherwise theres a smorgasboard of alternative places within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Baguio is a busy, noisy place. The first hotel we stayed in at Baguio was, for the price, terrible. We checked in late at night (off the bus from Manila) the room was not clean and it smelled of sewerage (entering the bathroom made us gag). We checked out first thing and thanks to Trip Advisor I contacted Golden Pine Hotel and booked a family room. It was excellent! A little more expensive than I had budgeted for but so worthwhile. The staff were awesome and we ate all of our breakfasts and dinners at the hotel. It isn't a new place but it is comfortable, elegant and safe. After long days of sightseeing and horseriding it was nice to come back to our room with air com where the kids could watch cable TV and I could read or use the wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This Hotel although unassuming from outside offers good clean comfortable rooms, very good service and nice restaurant in a handy central position close to Burnham Park and the markets.
The staff were particularly helpful with all requests and information.The rooms were well equipped, clean,good views ( of traffic chaos that is Baguio).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Booking through Agoda was fast although it was not immediately confirmed on hotel's end, that we had to make a few phone calls here and there and email too just to make sure we have a room to stay in Baguio when we get there. The hotel's staff were all nice and accommodating, one of them even offered to call us back upon learning that we're calling long distance / through mobile. Free breakfast was served on both days but choices were very limited, only American and Filipino dishes. Water heater seemed to malfunction as it changes from hot to cold to hot without us doing anything. Room was spacious enough, no balcony, with closet, cable TV, hairdryer, telephone. The best part of our stay was that WiFi's free! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pine Hotel

Address: Cnr of Carino and Yandoc Sts, Baguio, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.