We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor at Camp John Hay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Manor at Camp John Hay to your Saves list
The Manor at Camp John Hay
Loakan Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Baguio
Bulacan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We actually availed a forrest (aka parking) view room at 40% off. It's ok though, I love the beddings, pillows, very clean and fresh. If given the chance Id live there. Stayed there only 1 night but would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: next time, book the garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Barlowgurl,

Thank you for choosing The Manor at Camp John Hay on your recent stay in the City of Pines. We are delighted to know that you loved your stay with us and particularly appreciated our clean and fresh bedding and pillows.

It would certainly be a pleasure to welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    120
    36
    13
    9
See reviews for
132
62
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We travel to the Philippines every year and this is hotel we go to every time we are there. The staff, and I mean every single staff member, are extremely friendly and helpful. They always make us feel so welcomed whenever we visit. We love the wooden design of the hotel and it's extremely beautiful if you visit during Christmas period. The restaurant has the best salad and best steak ever! We decided to have our wedding in that hotel and they helped us arrange a wonderful fairy tale wedding at the amphitheater and beautiful dinner venue after that. This hotel means a lot to us and brings back great memories. We wanna thank everyone from the hotel and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Jacqueline F,

We at The Manor at Camp John Hay wish to greet you best wishes on your marriage. We are humbled to learn that you have decided to have your wedding venue in our hotel.

We were delighted to read the details about your stay.Your feedback is encouraging as we strive to provide our guests a memorable experience.

We look forward to your next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in Baguio. Cozy bed, pillows.Nice location would love to go back again... Waking up in the morning with the cold breeze from your window. Would love to stay here everytime ill visit baguio. Its worth your money... Located in Camp John Hay you could just walk to technohub for restaurants... Service is superb and the buffet breakfast is awesome. Youve got plenty of choices... will reccomend The Manor to all my friends who will visit Baguio for their holidays...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Michelle_Donisio,

Thank you for your wonderful review about The Manor. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to compliment our staff, our location and value for money.

It is a delight to know that you have enjoyed waking up with the cold breeze from your window and have enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Le Chef.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation. It would certainly be a pleasure to welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Manor is situated inside the Camp John Hay area of Baguio which used to be managed by the US military and turned over to the Philippine govt.

Some items to note:

- rooms face either the forest side or the garden side. Garden side is MUCH better as the view is great and faces directly east for a nice view of sunrise

- we liked the two bedroom suite which has the same capacity roughly of a one bedroom deluxe and a one bedroom suite combined. So if you have a large enough group to decide on either option, choose the former.

- rate we had did not include breakfast. The hotel does have a bfast buffet, just compare what you might pay compared to nearby restaurants

- there is a little strip down the hill (walkable) with a grocery store and typical places to eat (pizza, burger, more formal sit down - dencios) if you need to eat or buy snacks without having to travel to downtown Baguio

- Also walking distance to Starbucks and other shops up hill

- Very close to the zip line place (walking distance)

- The gym, sauna, and whirlpool at the Health spa are complimentary!

- WiFi is pretty good

- Staff are courteous and efficient - kudos to the management!

- The two bedroom suite has three baths with showers, the one bedroom suite has two showers
.
- Trip from Manila. If you are willing to wake up early, we left Manila at 2am and got to Baguio at 7am, with three stops (gas, stretch). Definitely the time to travel to avoid morning rush hours.

Room Tip: again - choose garden side, higher floor for a better view. Try the sauna, whirlpool if you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear MrTraveller2010,

We are glad that you had a nice stay at The Manor at Camp John Hay

We are grateful to know that you had an overall excellent stay in our hotel and particularly appreciated the view and size of your 2 bedroom suite, the complimentary gym,sauna and whirlpool,good Wi-Fi and the courteous and efficient staff.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Date of Stay: Aug. 30-Sep. 1, 2013
Room Type: 2 Bedroom Suite (Forest View)
Room No: 320

Likes:
-Big Suite! It has 2 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Master bedroom has a king sized bed while guest bedroom has 2 double beds. Living room has 1 TV with DVD player, 2 verandas, comfy sofa. Kitchen has a complete stock of food and drinks in the fridge, dining table with 6 chairs, microwave oven and sink.
-Safety deposit box, blow dryer, iron and ironing stand.
-Bathroom amenities and loads of towels. No conditioner.
-Nice hotel interior and exteriors.
-Polite & helpful staff.
-Buffet breakfast is good especially for Filipinos. A la carte menu - cheap and good. I like their steaks.
-Spa (Stay-in guests can use their sauna, whirlpool and gym for free).
-2 Bedroom Suite during low season only costs Php7000/night good for 6 persons.
-They have a really good bakeshop, their chocolate chip cookies are to die for!
-Great and safe location. Walking distance to stores, restaurants & tourist spots (eg. Restaurants - Chocolate de Batirol, Mochiko, Lavazza Coffee Shop... Stores: Adidas Outlet, Mango Outlet, All Flip-Flops, Billabong... Tourist Spot: Butterfly Garden, Treetop Adventure, Horseback riding)


Dislikes:
-They need a stronger internet connection in the rooms.
-Room service is only until 10PM.
-Slightly thin walls. Didn't sleep much because we could hear the babies crying all night @ Room 319 (Garden View).

Room Tip: Forest view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Empress1866,

Thank you for taking the time and effort in sharing your experience with us.

We wish to thank you for your positive feedback on the rooms, amenities, staff, buffet breakfast,bakeshop and the great & safe location. We are glad that these made your stay even more comfortable.

We have taken note of your comment regarding the internet connection. We wish to share that we are currently in the process of upgrading our internet connection. We will definitely look into your concern regarding room service and thin walls in rooms. Rest assured that all your inputs will be discussed with the Management.

We look forward to your next visit. Hopefully not in the too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati city
2 reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Despite a busy weekend, the reservation officer accomodated a phone-in reservation even in the middle of the night.
Upon arrival, it only took 5 mins before I got to take a nap in my room.
And the rest was history...
Every detail of my stay was taken cared off - had no reason to complain. Just the smallish elevator, but I took the stairs to break a sweat in my hometown's cold weather.
Thanks for the hassle-free experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Man_on_vacation,

We would like to thank you for taking time to inform us of your experience at The Manor at Camp John Hay.

We are very pleased to learn that every detail of your stay was taken cared of. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The view, the excellent rooms, the good food, the quiet location make this hotel a favorite for most people going to Baguio. It might have been unanticipated though, that during our dinner, the waiters were undermanned, taking so long in taking/bringing our orders. The massage at the spa was perfect to soothe aching muscles and for a fraction only of the amount charged in Manila hotels! Will definitely stay here again (if not always full).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are much more quiet except when late diners are chatting and laughing. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear weddingfan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Manor at Camp John Hay. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the excellent rooms,good food, quiet location and massage at the spa.

We have taken note of your comment regarding the slow service at the restaurant during dinner time. Rest assured that corrective measures will be done to avoid similar incidents in the future.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor at Camp John Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Camp John Hay

Address: Loakan Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Baguio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baguio
#2 Family Hotel in Baguio
#3 Best Value Hotel in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is not only distinguished by its impressive architecture and cozy interiors, but also blessed with an environment that truly sets it apart from other hotels in Baguio City. This four-story structure, designed to blend neatly with towering pine trees, provides a magnificent view of the Cordillera mountain range. Here, one can literally open windows to cool, fresh air. For a distinct touch, a Baguio stone exterior finish, shingled roofing and tinted glass windows add warm accents to Camp John Hay Manor's cozy, relaxed and luxurious ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Manor at Camp John Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp John Hay Baguio
Manor Hotel Baguio
Camp John Hay Manor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor at Camp John Hay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.