We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero Piso...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Cielito Hotel Baguio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Cielito Hotel Baguio to your Saves list
El Cielito Hotel Baguio
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   50 North Drive | Engineers Hill, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Baguio
Makati
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Zero Piso...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the weekend.
TV was 13" (?) small but looked BIG in the small room.
Had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Service lacks management. I had to get up and go find the staff to get a refill of drink twice. Had to find the waitstaff sitting at the bar chatting with the cook. Asked for the check and was promptly given the check and was faster than a speeding bullet to bring my change. Perhaps expecting a BIG tip for the incredible service. I left ZERO Piso.
Our last night was terrible. A touring political group checked in and was placed next to our room. All night they ran back to each of the rooms, hollering and general talking to each of the rooms.
I called Front Desk at 1AM and was told they would investigate. Nothing was done and the villagers continued talking until checking out at 9AM.

Totally useless Waitstaff and equally qualified reception. There are other hotels equally valued and will stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
14
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malabon, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Location - place of this hotel is not that bad, located near session road, 5 minute walk to SM Baguio, 20 minute walk to Burnham. It is still best to stay in a hotel located around the baguio plaza, Burnham Park.

Service - Service is not good. It will be a big help if you guys from the management of this hotel send your employees/crew to basic trainings so they won't be able to see an invisible sign inside the hotel that reads "Smiling is prohibited!" They are not as helpful as the other hotel i have stayed in Baguio. Not attentive, not polite and not approachable at all. Everything that's nice about our accomodation was dragged by the unfriendliness of the crew (except for the girl housekeeper who is always greeting and appraising the customers, thanks girl).

Price - price is expensive considering their service. I booked via travel agency, i was just inquiring about the receipt of the charged expense and the front desk attendants is not even polite enough to tell that the agency will be the one to issue this. I was about to pay the additional expenses because another guest of ours came, and guess what they even forget to note for the additional guest costs. And when i was trying to pay using a credit card, they told me electricity was shut and that all their POS is turned off so if i can wait for a few minutes to give them time to turn on the generator. What electricity returned, i approached the front desk people once again but when they tried to swipe the card (for several times) i was advised that their terminal is not working. Gosh! So i settled using cash.

Rooms and Facilities - clean and neat

Food - okay except for the unpoliteness of the head crew/chef/manager of the dining area when they told us that there are only 2 complimentary breakfast for us although we are 3 (guests) in our room.

COnsidering this is the first time for my parents to stay in Baguio, i cannot forget the hassles this hotel brought to us. I would like to stress here that the hotel is good and nice, but the crew here is unfriendly. There are lot of hotels for you looking for quality time in Baguio.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca, ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

excellent staff. they go out of their way to please you. very convenient sm mall within short walking distance. outside terrace was a nice place to eat our breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

When I got to El Cielito, my first impression was that it had a really nice ambiance and was reflective of local baguio art and design. However, when I got to the registration, I was a bit expecting to be treated in a not so good way because of what I read in the other reviews from tripadvisor. So i was kind of expecting the treatment that i got, though not so bad, it was not good either.

I booked the hotel at directwithhotels. i booked a single deluxe nonaircon room, to be shared by me and my sister. the girl at the registration told me that since there were two of us, the room i booked was not the "right" room. she got me more confused about their policy and that the website i booked at is not their website and that they're only a member of that website and rates are sometimes not the same as that in the website, which, i thought, was really a lousy excuse. after all, how else can i book the room in advance and how would i know (in a convenient way) what the rates are? anyhow, she told me the rate is per person and since that is the case, i should get the twin room. i told her that what i agreed on when i reserved on the internet is rate per room and not per person. anyhow, we didnt really understand each other. she just gave me a room, which turns out to be an upgrade. the following day, i inquired again about the room rate, this time from a different girl. i actually like her explanation better than the girl i talked to when i got there. she just told me, i'll be getting the room at the same price but the room im staying at is an upgrade. that's it, that's all i wanted to know.

anyhow, the location of the hotel is good. its walking distance from SM City Baguio, which is a mall with lots of food choices to choose from, among others. also, if you enjoy walking, you can walk from the hotel to the pink sisters church and teacher's camp, even the cathedral and session road (10-15 minutes hilly route), which is the center of baguio city. either way, there are several cabs and jeepneys which pass by in front of the hotel so its easy access to all the tourist spots in the city.

the hotel rate is inclusive of free breakfast. i stayed at the newly put up building of el cielito, which probably explains why the room is in good condition. there is a cabinet for storage. it has its own bathroom, which is equipped with a hair dryer and all the usual amenities (soap, toothbrush, etc). the tv has a number of channels to choose from. the upgraded room had a ceiling fan and an airconditioner. food in the hotel is good too. overall, i'd say i could stay at the same hotel again, but i'd like to try other hotels in baguio first.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Well, the hotel is great, very elegant, its clean and they have friendly staffs to assist you anytime, good location and of course economical..
I can say its one of the best...
Thank you guys and More power...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I found the hotel to be entirely satisfactory. Beautiful, clean place. Western style accommodations.

I did not use room service, so I can not comment on it.

My only complaint: The bed was squeaky and it made intimate moments less...intimate.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila / Davao Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

If you have to stay in El Cielito, I would strongly recommend that you book a room in their new wing. I was unaware of this, and had the misfortune of being booked in the old wing.

I don't mind old and charming, but it seemed to me that their old rooms are neglected: typical 1970's design, heavily scuffed furnitures, dust collecting in the corners of the room, and unimaginable gunk in the framed edges of the bathroom mirror! I would've given a lower Cleanliness rating but for the fact that they at least newly renovated their shower stall! New shower fixtures, newly tiled floors and walls! Yay!

Downstairs, El Cielito's lobby is easy to admire, it definitely has a warm, old-world charm. Sitting off to one side is the reception desk and two pretty front desk personnel. However, talking to them is a different experience all together. They were aloof, cold and had me feeling they'd rather be doing something else than answering my queries - like maybe filing their nails.

Their breakfast was the typically bland Filipino (silog meals) or Continental (toast and egg) choices , and I was glad to discover that the waitress was a league friendlier than her front desk counterpart. And before I forget, there is no free wifi for guests. There is a wifi card available though - for P90 for an hour's connection!

My over-all stay was rather underwhelming and would only recommend this hotel if you don't mind surly front desk receptionists, and booked in the new wing (which I hope is cleaner).

PROS: Location, Parking, Nice lobby
CONS: Dirty room in the old wing, unfriendly front desk personnel, No free wifi / Expensive wifi cards

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cielito Hotel Baguio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cielito Hotel Baguio

Address: 50 North Drive | Engineers Hill, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cielito Hotel Baguio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the El Cielito Hotel Baguio - a hotel that the city is proud to call one of its own. Considered as the Philippines' summer capital, Baguio is bathed in refreshing mountain breeze and has been claimed on numerous occasions as the cleanest city in the country. It boasts of breathtaking hilltop panoramas dotted with pine trees and coated with the region's naturally majestic flora. These enchanting views, together with popular attractions and subtle entertainment spots, are literally footsteps away from the El Cielito Hotel Baguio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cielito Hotel Baguio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cielito Inn Baguio Hotel Baguio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cielito Hotel Baguio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.