We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice old place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Cielito Hotel Baguio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Cielito Hotel Baguio to your Saves list
El Cielito Hotel Baguio
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   50 North Drive | Engineers Hill, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Baguio
Quezon City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a nice old place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

As I’ve expected when I drive-up in the hills of Baguio, El Cielito provides me everything that I need. Comfortable and relaxing bed, clean pillows and clean room. I like the breakfast, coffee and newspapers. Just enough for me to start a new day and get recharged for driving back home. And on top of everything is a safe parking with security on post. It’s a bit pricey for a small room and a small TV in a standard room. But I would prefer to get back if I will drive up again. Everything is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
16
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
watford
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We arrived late and as it was my friend's 60th birthday we just wanted to eat and have a drink to celebrate. The room we were given was small, not very clean, in fact the bathroom was disgusting and we were very disappointed especially as I had emailed ahead asking for a nice room as it was a special day. We decided to have diner as it was by this time after 9.0pm and sort it later. Dinner was excellent and the staff were wonderful having prepeared a lovely birthday cake for my friend's 60th. During dinner our guide came to ask us if the room was okay and when we told him what it was like he took our key and investigated it for himself. He was amazed as he had always had clients staying in the new wing and had in fact told us how nice our room would be. He agreed the room we'd been given was awful and he went to reception to get it changed. The only room they had was one with a double bed but when we went to look at it we decided to have it as it was in fact a suite and also very clean. Not ideal as we are only friends and therefore prefer single beds but given the choice it was a no brainer!
Breakfast was adequate, that's all that can be said about it. However the location was great, very close to all the things to see in Baguio and we loved the city

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the new wing. They did day the old wing was going to be refurbished late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed in this hotel because it was getting dark and everything else is fully booked. It has a very inviting reception. But the room? That's a different story.

A standard room costed us about PhP2,500.00. It was so small, you could hardly walk around wtihout bumping into something (and I'm only 5-foot tall!). The bathroom door wouldn't lock, we didn't have an aircon or a fan (it's Baguio, I know, but the window is at the far corner of the room and it was so small!), and the room just looked so old and tired.

The service is also blah. We requested for a toothpaste and didn't get one until we called again - an hour later!

On top of that, the cheapest room in Casa Vallejo, a 5-star accomodation is only PhP2,700.00!

We left the next day and stayed at the inn beside it - Reyalta Inn, which only costed us PhP1,400.00.

Room Tip: Arrive early so you have time to check the hotels. There are A LOT and you can walk them if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed in its Executive Room and anticipated the usual standard accommodations based on similar banchmarked rates in 3 or 4-star hotels in Manila. I was disappointed and would rather rate it 2-star with a 4-star price tag.

First, the room has no ref and the LCD is too small that you can't watch TV clearly at the bed's headboard distance. The toiletries are cheap (2 coin-sized "Perla-scented" soap, one small pouch of shampoo-conditioner, and one toothbrush) that I dared not use. There was not even a complimentary coffee or tea in the room. The room is also small, about 20 sq-meters. The worst part of it is that the toilet and bathroom door is made of glass that projects a clear silhouette of you from the outside (inside the room) whenever you are sitting in the water closet, whether its day in (when you switch off the light in the toilet) or day out (when the light is switched on). In short, your buddies in the room can see you doing your [--] inside the toilet.

The buffet breakfast is also so-so that one can have it better done outside the hotel as there are lots of eateries nearby, save for the good brewed coffee.

Now for the upside, the service is fast and good, the rooms are clean and the water heater reliable. The location is also good, near SM-Baguio and the downtown Session Road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Small, cozy and nice hotel in good location - just 5 minutes by walk to shopping center.
Rooms are very tidy, have free wifi. A little bit noisy in the night, but it's part of Baguio (lot of students play guitar, singing in karaoke etc.)
Very good food for breakfast and dinner, nice restaurant. Attentive and friendly hotel staff. So everything You need for short stay in Baguio!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

the room we chose was clean, not too spacious but it was cozy. four of stayed shared in a deluxe room. there were only two single beds in the room. the breakfat was plated (since we went during off-peak season) but we were advised that buffet breakfast is served during peak season. though they only served plated filipino breakfast, it was good enough. their resto (where we had our breakfat) near the balcony really made me feel that i was in baguio... very calm and relaxing. overall i would recommend this hotel and would consider staying here again if i go back to baguio.

Room Tip: choose the room that's newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

El cielito is one of those old,familiar, & friendly inns where everyone greets everyone during breakfast. The home made baked goodies are so tempting and tastes so good! They're perfect to match the afternoon coffee in the inn's veranda. The rooms are small but clean & decent. Breakfast was full with choices of rice, cereal or bread that matches with Filipino style of fried dried fish, egg, and longganiza. The ala carte menu also includes variety of other dishes. Accessibly is great being in the center of the city,cabs are passing right in front of the Inn. I love the staff! They're friendly & very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cielito Hotel Baguio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cielito Hotel Baguio

Address: 50 North Drive | Engineers Hill, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Cielito Hotel Baguio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the El Cielito Hotel Baguio - a hotel that the city is proud to call one of its own. Considered as the Philippines' summer capital, Baguio is bathed in refreshing mountain breeze and has been claimed on numerous occasions as the cleanest city in the country. It boasts of breathtaking hilltop panoramas dotted with pine trees and coated with the region's naturally majestic flora. These enchanting views, together with popular attractions and subtle entertainment spots, are literally footsteps away from the El Cielito Hotel Baguio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your El Cielito Hotel Baguio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cielito Inn Baguio Hotel Baguio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cielito Hotel Baguio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.