We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air-con” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citylight Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Citylight Hotel to your Saves list
Citylight Hotel
245 Upper General Luna Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Baguio
Las Pinas, Philippines
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“No air-con”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have been checking-in at various hotels in Baguio for several years already that i somehow assumed that City light Hotel would have the same facilities as those that we were accustomed to...meaning that it would have an air-con that we can turn-on or off at our own discretion. Being the Holiday Season, other hotels that we had frequented were already full that we tried our luck at City Lights. Lobby was big and impressive but the rooms were very simple and small. The front-desk personnel demanded full payment for the two rooms that we we were to occupy and a deposit of P500/card key upon check-in. We did not mind paying them right away but what we really minded was the non-disclosure that not a single room in their hotel had an air-con! The shower area was very cramped and could just fit in your body that it took some thinking on how best to shower without wetting the entire bathroom up to the door! Breakfast buffet was good and plentiful for they bothered to refill the serving platters and receptacles promptly. Parking was not sufficient for all the guests that we were obliged to leave our car keys with the guard because the cars were literally sandwiched next to each other. At the time that we checked-out, we witnessed a smashed up windshield of one of the hotel guests...the accidental doing of one of their guards ...it had hit one of the posts of the parking area while it was being moved. At check-out, i told the front-desk upfront that it would do well for them to advise their guests and to even put on their website that there is no aircon in all the rooms so guests could manage their expectations.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    30
    3
    12
See reviews for
24
15
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good location - near Session Road, quick taxi ride to Victory Liner Bus Terminal

Check-in
- quick and efficient

Room:
- clean and decent
- Wish they had screens on their windows for when the window is open.
- Also wish they had drawers around the room to keep personal belongings and folded clothing in.
- Toiletries provided: shampoo/conditioner only. No hairdryer in room.
- No mini-fridge in room.
- Linens had quite a strong smell from the laundry though - which triggered our allergies.
- Bed mattress was quite hard. The extra bed mattress seemed more comfortable.
- With TV.
- No safe in room.

Housekeeping is efficient.
- responded to requests for extra toilet paper, extra hangers, change of towels as soon as we called it in

Casual dining resto
- Food is good enough for the price
- Hotel Management may want to consider more space for the restaurant. It was not proper to overflow tables into the lobby (right in front of the resto, right as you exit the elevators, all the way through the lobby almost up to the hotel's front door).
- Hotel guests should take precedence over walk-ins, especially during a long weekend or if the hotel knows they are fully booked.

Cafe
- pizza crust was really tough and not worth it. the toppings itself were ok.
- coffee was bland

Room Tip: The 4th floor where we stayed at seemed to be newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My hubby and I, along with our 1 year old kiddo checked in Holy Week 2012. Considering that we already paid for the deposit before we went to Baguio, we had to wait for the long queue of guests and waited for an hour to get our room. The room was located at the basement and had to cover our noses so as not to inhale cement from the ongoing construction of new rooms.

The standard room was spacious, nice tv but no aircon. You have to request for a fan. View from the room was a mountain of grass and garbage. The room smelled of cat poop. We were not expecting for the best by this time as we were so disappointed.

To make matters worse, after arriving from a long, tiring day, their parking was so full we had to park at their dark basement and climb the stairs. They are not organized when it comes to parking. They had a few slots but they prioritize diners more than their hotel guests. Well that's what we felt at that time. My husband was so pissed because the way to the hotel room is so dark and like a bodega full of dusts.

We were thinking of staying at another hotel but it was not possible because of the long holiday and surge of tourists from different places. Buffet breakfast was served the next day and it was not so bad. The food was warm from rice to their pansit and hotdogs. Coffee, juice and bread was widely available. Not bad for the food but everything else was a nightmare.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After a trip to Sagada I decided to stay in Baguio to meet with some old friends for a couple of hours before heading back home. Things did not go as planned and I ended up getting drunk and needed a place to crash, so I booked a room in this hotel. Not planning on staying for over 12 hours, I got a room with a common bathroom. The room was small but good enough for one to two people who needs a place for a short stay.

The Good: Very close to city center, cheap
The Bad: Rooms are small

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Room is simple. Big but bare. You can jog around your room. They charge for additional blanket php30, no charge for additional pillow and electric fan. They don't have aircon which i think is common to most hotels in baguio. Breakfast is ok. But they serve the same menu on the 2nd day so we decided to dine out instead. Bed is not comfortable for me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Baguio, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After months of straight work, we decided to treat ourselves with a weekend hotel getaway. We decided to try City Lights Hotel which is located at Upper General Luna Road, Baguio City. It is located near the Baguio Cathedral. City Lights Hotel is a member of the Hotel and Restaurants Association of Baguio City (HRAB) and usually during the rainy season members of this association offers big discounts. City Lights has offered 30% during our stay.

The entrance of the hotel is not that big but it is enough for taxi units to maneuver. For those who have cars, they have a parking space below the building. The hotel has a wide coffee shop at the side of the entrance. Upon entering, the security guard on duty gave us a warm greeting “Good afternoon sir,mam”. As compared to the old building, the new hotel lobby is bigger and more attractive. It also has a piano set and attractive tables and couches. On top of it are big round balls with light bulbs inside.

After a good night sleep, we were exited to experience the free breakfast buffet which was included in the hotel package. First, we tried the “asian mix” – fried rice, fish, siomai, longanisa, and egg. My second plate had menudo, ham and pancake. my third plate had ham, pan cake with maple syrup. There was a section for coffee, water, orange and pineapple juice, wheat bread, butter, strawberry jam, peanut butter and beside the juices were fruit slices of papaya and pineapple. After one hour of festive eating, we had to surrender.

While walking towards the hotel lobby, we noticed so many people waiting outside the buffet room. There were about 50 or more people waiting for their turn. Additional tables were already set up at the lobby. I asked one hotel staff and he said setting up tables outside the buffet room is “normal during lean season” because during peak seasons, tables reach until the coffee shop. I said to myself “wow!” The hotel offers a festive eat all you can buffet breakfast for only P195/head and it is open to non hotel guests that is why people from all over come to eat.

Over all, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Always ask the hotel counter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed on business in this new hotel - the special price for the rainy season was 1,470 Pp plus plus, and that was a good rate for a clean room. But, the rooms were smelly of mildew. They moved me up a floor to a room with no mildew and the manager (charming lady) said that "Next time I should request a room with no mildew".
The food is quite good. Limited dinner menu, but good food. Lunch buffet (excellent) and breakfast buffet (very good). Local business people seem to use the breakfast buffet as a meeting place so the dining room gets crowded, but the food is quite good.
WiFi is in the lobby - no charge but it doesn't work in the rooms so the corner of the lobby with the wifi was a popular niche. It's a ten minute walk to Session Road, but the diesel from the taxis and trucks is hard to deal with - but that's the Philippines. The rooms had no amenities - they have TV and Star (CNN, HBO etc) but no air-con or room heaters (it can get chilly in Baguio). Rooms have a view of trash left uncollected (why don't they clean up?).
Service was excellent - nice people. The place isn't up to the standard of a typical western style hotel, but the product for the price was acceptable. Cleaner linen might be a good plan.
I'd stay again - that's the big test.

Room Tip: Request a room with no mildew - they'll know what you mean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citylight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citylight Hotel

Address: 245 Upper General Luna Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Citylight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citylight Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.