We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple pleasures” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cordillera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Cordillera to your Saves list
Villa Cordillera
Outlook Drive, Baguio, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Baguio
baguio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“simple pleasures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Rainy season means bed weather and late mornings, so on a whim, decided to spend a night at the villa cordillera inn, a lodging house off the golf course path(14th tee) of the Baguio Country Club. Off season means rates at half the price so after confirming my reservation for an overnight week-end stay, i packed my bags and expected a night of rest and relaxation. Our room was in a corner suite with a 360-degree view of the golf course, a fantastic bargain. Clean room, fresh linen, cabled tv, free wi-fi connection, a big bathroom with hot and cold water, a walk-in closet and free breakfast! Sounds too good to be true? But there are twists..the bathroom is old and moldy, the windows can't be closed and the door to our own terrace can't be opened. We came prepared, so we brought scented candles and extra blankets so it was not a major issue to us( my sister and i). Wi-fi was excellent, skype and fb was on all night except when we had dinner at the fireplace bar and grill(the in-house restaurant), where we had good food and music too. Service was great, from the front desk staff down to the service crew of the restaurant and security who helped us with our bags. Waking up to the fresh aroma of coffee, the morning after, made us forget we were not in our own beds at home but at this quaint cozy inn. Breakfast was a choice of filipino, american or continental fare but the best part was the coffee..authentic native mountain coffee with free refill. it's the best!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Here is a quick and straightforward review of VCI (or Villa Cordillera Inn). We were a family of 6 (Husby, three kids ages 10 to 4, and a nanny).

PROS:

~Great service from all the staff.
From the front desk people to the guards, - it seems that VCI takes care of their staff who exemplify a high working morale.

~Good breakfast!
There is a choice of daing na bangus (fried milk fish), tapa (sweetish fried beef), tocino - and it is cooked just right. This is served with your choice of rice (garlic rice or plain rice), a drink (coffee or powdered juice) Breakfast is included in the package.
If you want to eat breakfast here (but stay in another hotel), you will see breakfast is cheap here. (150PhP per or USD3.50 head)
They also sell the iconic raisin bread here from Baguio Country Club (160PhP per loaf)

~Fantastic view from our room.
We stayed in a family room called ROSE. It had a view of the BCC golf course still lined with beautiful pine trees!

~Free wifi.
In the lobby/dining area - This is a plus!

~Cool live music at night.
There is a good solo guitar player/vocalist at The Fireplace bar during some evenings.

CONS:

~Bathrooms:
Old and sorry. All I have to say is that VCI should renovate their bathrooms ASAP. We left on the second day due to these old bathrooms - this is a non-negotiable factor.

~Steep staircase:
This is to get down to our rooms, and back up to the lobby. If you are a triathlete - I dont think this would be an issue.

~The Verdict:
The front desk staff were very understanding on why we had to change hotels. The thing is we only used up partial payment of the downpayment we deposited to VCI's account. They allowed to give us credit , so we were allowed to use it for breakfasts here. We were also allowed to use our down payment for our next visit to VCI.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the ROSE room where we stayed. Yo will have to take a steep staircase down and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

If you wish for the warm and rustic charm of Baguio, then Villa Cordillera is an excellent choice. VCI is about a kilometer away from the center of the city - away from the noise of transportation. So that assures you of a relaxing and really comfortable vacation. The veranda provides an wonderful vista of the golf course, framed by hundreds of pine trees.

The fireplace at the VCI restaurant was one of the things you seldom find in other hotels at Baguio. It will make your Baguio stay authentic. It adds something more to look forward to.

I am very impressed by the service of the staff and management, headed by Mr. Bong Bautista - they were very professional and helpful. I have stayed in dozens of resorts and hotels, and the service I experienced at VCI was impressive.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay in VCI. Villa Cordillera is one place in Baguio that is worth revisiting, to get the feel of the authentic Baguio experience. For a quiet, relaxing and mind-refreshing vacation, Villa Cordillera is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Nice to be back in Baguio again.

In this recent trip, I decided again to stay at Villa Cordillera Inn(VCI). Thanks to the warm, friendly, accommodation of "Bong Bautista", that I decided to just stay with them and just cancel my booking with a new city hotel in town.

Nice to see that they have added a bar that has nightly live entertainment (excepts Sundays) and a game/pool room.

Nice to see also some familiar faces. Glenn, Annalyn and one of the chefs (forgot the name).

Stayed for four (4) nights, and I enjoyed the food that Chef William prepared and Jazmine/Glenn serves. Very thankful for the hosting of Sir Bong. Appreciated also the attentiveness of the Security Guards, specially Manong Jun.

Some recommendations for the top management:

Please invest on your rooms. They badly need refurbishing/renovation. A fresh coat of paint and retiling of the toilet and bath can be agood start. Hope you guys do something about this, hate to see VCI being overtaken by the new players in Baguio City.

You guys have a great place, good food, and good service. I hope you can complement these strengths with good facilities-specially the rooms and toilet and bath.

Lastly, is smoking in-doors alowed by local/provincial government? If yes, please come up with a good ventialtion system. You don't want to be unfair with non-smokers and young children who gets to inhale the smoke.

Overall, VCI is still a great place for budget travelers like me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Villa Cordillera was a great find for me and my wife.

We use to frequent Baguio during our early marriage years and just use our Friend's condo unit in Legarda Road. But in this trip, we had to look for a place to stay for the condo unit was booked. And we were very happy to find this place that gave us a feel of the "OLD BAGUIO".

The location is perfect for us! Its away from the the very busy town of Baguio. Not really that far. It is in the area of Baguio Country Club and the Camp John Hay. The property is overlooking the golf course of Baguio Country Club. That's why there's a lot of pine trees in the area and the view of the landscape of the golf course.

The staff are very accommodating. We can say that for I had a lot of request. From room arrangements to food preference. The food is good! We love taking our brewed coffee and toasts of Raisin Bread with melted butter while we just gaze on the refreshing and calming view that this Bed and Breakfast offers.

The room we got was big. The housekeeping standards are good and the linens and bath towels are of good quality.

To top it all, the price is great! Approximately about Php1,700 a night! WOW!

This will be on top of our list of places to stay when we are in Baguio!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cordillera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cordillera

Address: Outlook Drive, Baguio, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Cordillera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cordillera Hotel Baguio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cordillera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.