We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Suiza

La Casa Suiza
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trujillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa Suiza
Save
You added La Casa Suiza to your Saves list
Los Pinos 308 Huanchaco | Huanchaco, Trujillo, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 71 Trujillo B&B and Inns
l
1 review
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at Casa Suiza, for one night and never again. I was the only guest on my level and the only other guest was a nice family below me, but after returning from a surf, some of my stuff was taken from my room. I confronted the workers and they didn't care. Which confrims it was them. After I moved to a different hotel, I then found out this was a common thing, at this hotel.
The only place I had problems in Peru.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
4
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The fist impression of the hostel was really nice. But after 30 minutes everything changed. The plug-in´s in our room didn´t work. Before we checked in we asked for internet, wifi, because we really needed it, but when we wanted to use it, of course it didn´t work. They told us in 10 minutes it would we fine. It wasn´t!! Besides there were writen everywhere they have lockers for the private stuff. Also there weren´t!! After one hour (it was 10 am) we decided to leave, also we hadn´t paid yet. It was prohibited, they didn´t let us go, because we were just registrated in the book. Well we had to stay there one night, no problem until i uncovered my bed. Underneath my blanket were some worms - just disgusting. We had a big discussion with the staff who is working there and of course it wasn´t the problem of the hostel.."it´s not my fault, it´s like that...". Also they don´t have a kitchen to use, it´s just for the restaurant. And when i asked for a bit hot water, it wasn´t possible! When we asked for a discount, there were laughing and told us .."come on it´s cheap, just 20 soles" thank you very much!! we are NOT recommending this hostel at all.

Room Tip: there a lot of different hostels/hospedajes around.also ath the beach. mostly you can´t find them in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hostel itself is clean and pleasant but the big draw for me was the bread here is amazing, just like europe which is a nice change to the rest of south America where the bread has been really poor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

the hostel is old, about 25 years, but it has newer beds at least. the mattresses are comfortable and the sheets and towels clean. the hostel is kept very clean. it has a decent location, about 6 blocks from the beach, but is on the main party street in Huanchaco. there are computers with internet, although only one of them works well. there is no kitchen to use, and the restaurant is overpriced like most of the tourst places. there is a rooftop BBQ you can use, however. it is generally a quiet place to stay, they have a rule that everyone should keep quiet after 10pm, but this is not really enforced. either is the no smoking rule.

the hostel would be a decent place to stay, but the staff are not friendly. one of the staff memebers, a young man whose name begins with ¨D¨, never smiles and if you ask him for something, he will generally scowl and act irritated, like you are bothering him. An example of this is when we had to ask for the toilet paper to be refilled in the bathroom, he almost seemed angry, but said ¨Ok.¨ Later on it had not been refilled, and when I asked him again, he again was annoyed and only then said that someone else has the key and so it cannot be refilled until that person arrives. It just gives one the feeling that you cannot ask the staff for anything because they give the impression that they only want your money, and then they want you to leave them alone. generally they are usually found watching TV, on the computer, tending the restaurant, or gossiping. although they do visibly work each day to keep the hostel clean.

there are a lot more friendly places to stay in Huanchaco, and often with a kitchen you can use, and lower prices. Casa Suiza would be a nicer place if the staff had learned a thing or two about working with tourists, and how to provide good customer service.

Also, the staff speak very little English, and will not bargain or offer any kinds of discounts.

Room Tip: all the rooms downstairs have a danky smell, go for upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Coquimbo, Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I went couple of weeks ago... and they have nice pizzas.
The breakfast is not included so u must pay about US$3.
is really cheap I think I paid only US$ 9 ( dorm) per night
they have hot water...
The place wasn't very social, they don't have a living room or a place to lay down... no bar, no kitchen... but is near the beach ;) wich is good if u wanna surf.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Although it was off season, they asked twice as much for a double room with bathroom then most other hostals. For the same price we could have had a room in a luxurious hotell next to the beach. Again one of the places that are in the Lonely Planet and think they can ask just what they like.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We arrived in Huanchaco on the 2nd of June with the intention of spending two nights here, maximum. In the end we found the town and the hostal to be so nice and welcoming that we ended up spending 5 nights here in total! The staff were all incredibly welcoming, the food was great (they boast the best pizza in town) and the rooms were totally adequate for the small price that we paid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa Suiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Suiza

Address: Los Pinos 308 Huanchaco | Huanchaco, Trujillo, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Suiza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.