We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it or leave it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chan Chan

Chan Chan
Trujillo, Peru
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 attractions in Trujillo
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This archaeological zone, an excellent example of pre-Colombian America, once served as the capital of the Chimu Kingdom, which reached the height of its power in the 15th century before falling under the Incas.
Pound Ridge, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Take it or leave it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I visted the Temples of the Sun and the Moon on the same day. The Temple of the Moon was interesting, fascinating and well presented.

In my opinion, you might consider passing on Chan Chan. Take a look at a photo on Google Images (pretty much any photo.) That about sums it up. One of the less interesting ruins or archaeological sites I've visited.

On the other hand, these sites are near each other and entry was only 10 Soles ($4.00,) so give it a go if you're so inclined.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    101
    25
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressive place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Well i went here in August with two friends, and this place is amazing, have many thing to show, and the explanation of the guide was excelent about the costumes and the culture of all this town, well everything was fine, but one of the problems is the sun!! is so hot, if you go there is much better to take your big cap with a lot of sun protection and two little bottles of water...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must see, astonishing preservation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This site was very interesting. I greatly appreciated seeing both Spanish and English explainations of the elements throughtout the ruins. I highly recommend getting a guide upon entering, unless you've done your research ahead of time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheaper and Safer then the pyramids in Egypt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed Chan Chan, were from Canada are we certainly don't have anything as old as this. It is fascinating to realize that the homes wil live in will never stand as long as the mud they built there.

10 soles per person entry gives you 4 spots to visit,
We did main Chan Chan one day and 3 days later used the same pass to go see the Museum.

Guide is 35 soles for a 1hr tour

Totally worth seeing and far cheaper and SAFER then going to Egypt.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Chan Chan is awesome & huge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a Chimu site from 1100 to 1500 AD. It is really many Chimu palace burial cities, one of which has been excavated and is open to the public. It is by itself huge. On the ocean where it does not rain, Chan Chan is made of adobe and some of the walls...which the Inca could not penetrate...are awesome and beautiful fortifications. Along with the ancient Buddhist cities of the Silk Road, this is among the biggest adobe ruins on earth. The beauty is in the adobe mosaics!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chan Chan also viewed

Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
 
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
 

Been to Chan Chan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chan Chan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chan Chan to your Saves list