We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Libertador Trujillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Libertador Trujillo to your Saves list
Hotel Libertador Trujillo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jr. Independencia 485 | Plaza de Armas, Trujillo 51 44, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Trujillo
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is really excellent from the helpful and pleasant staff.Many of the rooms overlook a small pool with a very inviting terrace. The free welcome drink in the bar is a bonus.
The breakfast is comprehensive and the staff in the breakfast room are most attentive.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very comfortable bed with fantastic bed side spreading lights. There were also ceiling mounted lights for reading.-a wonderful feature. The whole hotel was elegantly furnished but with modern conveniences. We loved the remodeled bar where we had a Pisco sour and a wonderful snack. This was probably the best hotel we stayed in on the north coast of Peru. The staff was very helpful. The central location was fabulous. All in all a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved this hotel! Its in a beautifully renovated colonial villa right on the Plaza de Armas. The services are first rate with a lovely pool in the central courtyard, an exercise room, steam baths, a cozy bar, an excellent restaurant. This hotel should be considered a 5 star hotel although apparently not having onsite parking costs it a star.

The room was very elegant with a view over the Plaza de Armas. It was not too noisy.The wifi in the room was very good. The bathroom was great - lots of hot water and a nice tub. the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was amazing with a large variety of foods to suit every taste, and the staff prepares any kind of eggs and other things. We also ate dinner in the restaurant a couple of times and it was very good.

The first day the hotel offered us a lovely platter of chocolate truffles in our room. One afternoon we asked to use the steam room and right away one of the staff prepared both steam rooms with eucalyptus and other fragrant leaves. What luxury!

The location of the hotel is perfect for walking around the historic section of Trujillo.

Finally all the staff of the hotel consistently provided excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Plaza de Armas are fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo-Libertador, Gerente at Hotel Libertador Trujillo, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear guest Mr. Richard:

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that our service, rooms, food, location and facilities met your expectations.
We thank the time you took to share your comments and let us know your impressions of our hotel.

We hope you can visit our city on a rear future and we look forward to receive you in our hotel.

Best regards,
Flavia Montesinos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Despite the fact that we booked a room with a king bed and they had us in a room with two singles and that there was noisy construction going on, we had a wonderful stay. We upgraded to a suite that had a balcony--I definitely recommend this. Breakfast buffet is good and offered complimentary every morning. It's right on the plaza del armas, so it's a great location.

Room Tip: Choose one of the few rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo-Libertador, Gerente at Hotel Libertador Trujillo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest Megan:

It is delightful to know that you had a good time in our hotel.
For us it will be a pleasure to receive you anytime soon.

Best regards,
Flavia Montesinos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We found this hotel to be charming and beautifully maintained. It is located in the colonial section of town so one can walk to sites and restaurants nearby. Our room faced the inner courtyard with pool but had no view as a stairway was outside our window. This was not a problem for us as in the evenings we were not choosing to look outside anyway. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good and you can order eggs from the kitchen. The staff in the hotel and restaurant speak very little English but are helpful. The hotel allowed us to check out late (4 PM) when we had to go to the airport and we appreciated the fact we could return to our room to freshen up and relax in the early afternoon. We did not dine in the restaurant for dinner but had "room service" in the bar which worked out fine for us.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo-Libertador, Gerente at Hotel Libertador Trujillo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest Monty 1424:
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Also we thank the time you took to share your comments and let us know your impressions.
We hope you can visit us in the rear future.
Best regards,
Flavia Montesinos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Great location on the main square in the historical centre of town. Lovely to be able to walk out and stroll around. Service was attentive, slick and efficient. Rooms were well-equipped, clean and comfortable. Public spaces were fine, if bland. Could be almost anywhere, although the lobby is well decorated.

Food was good, too, but the dining room was temporarily in a gloomy area, and the pool was being extensively renovated. No real inconvenience but unsightly as most rooms overlooked the central courtyard where the pool was.

Great base for touring the town and region.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo-Libertador, Gerente at Hotel Libertador Trujillo, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear guest Peterscot:

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions.
Since september our hotel is fully renovated. We hope you can visit us again to offer the real Libertador experience.

Best regards,

Flavia Montesinos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Excellent hotel! My most favorite is the Classical Colonial architecture and the spaciousness of the the place makes it's ambiance just fabulous! The room has everything one expects, plus the most plush towels I have ever experienced, to the point that if they would sell them I would definitely place my order.
The service was excellent. The person in front desk saw me checking in and the next day I left my key card in the room. She recognized me and immediately issued a new key without going through the usual pain.
The breakfast buffet was exceptional with lots of varieties of food including real tamales, not the fried appetizer kind with only the taste of tamales. Again, the service superb, well stocked, with bus boys ready to serve.
Location was perfect across the Plaza and cathedral. They hosted the Miss World Peru and the whole town enjoyed it in the Plaza de Armas!
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo-Libertador, Gerente at Hotel Libertador Trujillo, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear guest Vacationset:

We are very pleased to read your comment on Trip Advisor: about our colonial architecture, the peruvian northern tamal at breakfast, the location.

On behalf of all Libertador Trujillo staff I would like to thank you!!

Best regards,

Flavia Montesinos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Libertador Trujillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Libertador Trujillo

Address: Jr. Independencia 485 | Plaza de Armas, Trujillo 51 44, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Libertador Trujillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Libertador Trujillo:Libertador Trujillo is located 15 minutes away from the airport, onone corner of Trujillo’s Main Square with a view of the Cathedral.The hotel offers a high quality service and a prized location: 10minutes from Chan Chan and the Moche ruins of the Temples ofthe Sun and of the Moon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Libertador Trujillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Plaza Mayor Trujillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Libertador Trujillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.