We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, simple hotel with mediocre service in a noisy location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Korianka

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trujillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Korianka
Save
You added Korianka to your Saves list
Independencia 808, Trujillo, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Trujillo
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean, simple hotel with mediocre service in a noisy location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

The review titled "Pleasant stay" does a pretty good job describing the hotels strengths & weaknesses. However, we didn't find the service to be all that great, but for one woman who was very helpful. The hotel also backs onto an art school, so if you don't like people practicing the wedding march or hearing band practice, bring earplugs. The usual mold was also present on the ceiling, otherwise everything was clean, if somewhat small. The most disappointing things were the stale bread for breakfast, as well as their stinginess with the jam and margarine, although the fresh juice was excellent. They also failed to pick us up at the airport, in spite of prior arrangement to pick us up, and were not at all apologetic about it when we finally did arrive. For now, this is probably one of the better hotels in Trujillo, but as competition gets tighter I think they'll have to shape up.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
5
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valinhos, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Good location, comfortable, friendly staff. Nothing to complain about it. Ask for discounts for foreign visitors.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed at the Korianka for 3 nights after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. When researching accommodation my wife and I look for clean, comfortable, seemingly customer-focussed hotels at a moderate price. The Korianka seemed to be such a place, and we subsequently found that it was. It isn't perfect, but then the deficiencies must be balanced against the price charged. I guess it would be perhaps three star standard, or slightly above.
In summary, we were quite happy with our stay. The reception area is very tidy and well presented with a doorman to keep riff-raff out. Martha, the receptionist , spoke reasonable english and was very helpful. Our room (a matrimonial room i.e. double bed) was not large but it was adequate for our purposes - after all it was essentially just being used to sleep in. The bathroom was very clean and of a good size with plenty of hot water. Simple toiletries (shampoo and soap) were provided. The room had cable TV, with the TV hung from the ceiling. You could watch it whilst lying in bed, and it was a sensible way to maximise the room's limited space. There were two small bedside tables, and a small round general-purpose table with a solitary chair. There was also a built-in wardrobe/drawer. No refrigerator, and only one drinking glass. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet (perhaps because it was Easter we had no school noise that other reviewers have mentioned). The room was serviced daily.
Complimentary internet was available on the first floor. Our price included breakfast, comprising fresh juice, bread rolls, jam, tea or coffee, and cooked eggs (fried or scrambled).
Location is very good-about 4 blocks from the main square and around the corner from a number of good restaurants and a supermarket.
We would return to the hotel and I recommend it to people seeking good standard accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Only stayed one night, but everything was perfect. Comfortable room, really nice bathroom. Good shower. Wireless internet and cable with lots of channels. A short walk to the beautiful Plaza de Armas. One of the best breakfasts I´ve had in Peru (which is only a moderate complement as most of them have not been very good). Very clean and fresh, friendly staff. Overall good value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World traveller
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Except for the great staff, location and breakfast, we did not find the rest of the facilities worth the room rate (S/.160/night). We experienced the following problems:
1. Room too small.
2. Washroom not designed properly. Sink too high, door difficult to close due to positionong of the sink, a little supply of toilet paper, no mat towel.
3. Noise from the school behind the room.
4. No glasses, no fridge.
5. Bed small and uncomfortable.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Trujillo is a noisy place, with some air pollution, but the Korianka had rooms on the back that were light but quiet, well, except for the construction going on beside the school. Quiet at night anyway. Very clean and with a nice breakfast. You need to ask for the eggs, but then they bring them scrambled with or without ham. No one speaks much English, but we got along fine. Airport pickup was not free, but very reliable. Free fast internet. It's just a few blocks from the main restaurant area and Plaza, but also close to where you can get colectivos to Chan Chan, Huanchaco, etc.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

This place was so great. The people were very friendly and very helpful. The did not speak very much English but were willing to help every step of the way.

The room was very clean, cute and nice. We both felt very safe. It has a very moden and comfortable feeling. The restaurant is also very good and affordable. I would recommend this Hotel to everyone I know.

The location was also right around the corner from the main plaza.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Korianka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korianka

Address: Independencia 808, Trujillo, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KORIANKA, with its personalized services and comfortable air-conditioned rooms, strives to be the best hotel in downtown Trujillo. Wire less Internet is among our many Executive Services. Guests can also enjoy our pool and meeting their friends for a drink at the Café Bar.Because we have anticipated your needs, your stay will be memorable. Comfortably Exclusive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Korianka Hotel Trujillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korianka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.