We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent and highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Puno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Private Collection Puno to your Saves list
Casa Andina Private Collection Puno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Sesqui Centenario 1970 | Sector Huaje, Puno 51, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Puno
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent and highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

At Puno's Casa Andina Private Collection we received top notch attention from beginning to end. The service staff was very attentive, the rooms were comfortable, big, and very nicely decorated, and the ALMA restaurant provides an exquisite culinary experience, be it the very good and varied breakfast buffet or lunch or dinner. The location is perfect for birdwatching and you can depart on Lake Titicaca excursion from the hotel's private pier. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    235
    127
    30
    20
See reviews for
110
337
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Casa Andina Private Collection. We lucked out and got a corner room - 219 so we had 2 walls with balconies facing Lake Titicaca! The room was a triple - had a big king bed and a full size as well. It also had a sitting area and the bathroom was huge! One of my favorite parts of the hotel was the long dock out to the lake where we were able to catch our tour for the day! We ate dinner in the restaurant. It was very good. We also ate breakfast twice in the hotel. The french toast was awesome and they had a chef taking egg orders.

I really enjoyed this hotel and I loved Lake Titicaca. The service, especially in the restaurant was superb. There is an ATM in the lobby as well as computers with free wi-fi.

The one con is the bathtub. It was a jacuzzi tub! So what's wrong with that???...the bathroom was big and there was no shower curtain, so the water sprayed a bit. You also had to walk up 2 stairs and then climb in to get in :) This said, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. It was clean, very convenient, beautiful views, and the staff was very pleasant.

I would suggest stopping in cuzco or the sacred valley before heading to the lake. The altitude is high and you can get out of breath by just walking......so take it slow.....but it is an experience I am grateful to have had. "breath-takingly" (no pun intended) beautiful! And go to Uros and Taquile, wonderful people!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel sits on Lake Titicaca and has its own jetty, ideal for quick access for excursions. Rooms good size has nice little touches good toiletries free water etc . Liked the small bar area with real fire. Staff helpful my only suggestiion would be a pair of scales would be helpful to weigh your luggage ! Quite close to centre only 7 sols in a taxi £ 2.10 in sterling.

Room Tip: Would need to request possibly pay more for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The best hotel in the downtown! It seems that the hotel just move to a brand new building, so everything is very clean and shinning!! They have a good Staff that its very helpfull!! inside, in the hall theres one ATM and the hotel location its around 5min. 7min from all the good bars and restaurant!
If you are not in the lake, this is the best option!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

One of the worst hotel during our trip to Peru.

When we arrive there at late afternoon after a 10 h drive I had to argue with them because my reservation made with booking.com was not reporting "lake view" , while I had exchanged emails with CA central on this subject and had received confirmation. My impression was that rooms were not ready...

We had to agree to pay a supplement on second night and yeah magic got finally the room.
Rooms were dirty, with spots on the carpet, we had to ask for a change of the bed sheets as : there were lots of hairs into it, it looks like someone had slept into the bed...
Bathroom is very small
Food is ok, but breakfast was poor

Another touch of the CA Puno is that we had the train passing in front of the windiw (between the hotel and the lake) in Peru trains inform peaple of their arrival by making lot of sound to avoid people on the track, very picturesque but when it is 5h30 in the morning ypu don't find it nice.
Worst thing of this hotel is it staff, I travelled the world but I never saw people so reluctant to work and do well their job.

Avoid it if you can!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great lakeside location with jetty from where you can be collected and dropped off by boat for lake excursions.

The rooms were adequately sized with very comfortable beds with good quality linens. Bathrooms were small and basic but clean.

The lobby bar was quiet by day but came to life at night with a roaring fire and a great offer of unlimited tapas served from the bar with 3 glasses of wine or 3 Pisco Sours. Many of the guests opted for this and we're able to spend an hour or so in front of a roaring fire feeling the full impact of the wine with the high altitude!

The restaurant was great with a varied menu and superb quality food. It was on the expensive side but not bad value considering the quality of the food & service.

I would definitely recommend the hotel however, I was expecting maybe a slightly higher grade of property as a result of the "private collection" tag and in reality, the hotel offered a pretty middle of the road (but perfectly comfortable) experience. 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights early September.

If you had blindfolds on and look only at the hotel & grounds itself... typical 2 level 3-4 star hotel with a few maintenance issues, nice lobby area, free WiFi, average rooms with maintenance issues (not show stoppers for me, but then I have been to most continents and several third world countries and have seen from the best of the best to "oh my god"!).

Alma restaurant looks out onto nice green gardens and flowers & the lake beyond with a good varied menu and polite, restrained, but exceedingly slow service. Ate there four times and was very pleased at the tasty and innovative not overly large meals and that I was not served the typical Peruvian fare that starts with salt as the base ingredient ha ha.

HOWEVER this hotel is 15mins from town in a seedy neighbourhood, NO local facilities and building earthworks for construction going on on both sides at the moment. The hotel has no lift and is spread out a bit with staircases here and there (4 between me and the restaurant).

I was here for touring and my days mainly occupied and was carted to and fro by tourist drivers etc so had no need for taxis or shopping or those things so it was a comfy bed with clean sheets and piping hot water for the night time, passable WiFi internet (great in the restaurant & lobby) and mostly friendly helpful staff (there's always one bad apple).

If you have limited mobility, disabled, a need to do shopping, mix with the locals, or the nightlife, or early morning or evening walks in the local neighbourhood this hotel is definitely not for you.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lakeand not on the edge of the property to avoid the noisy road and constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Puno, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took to write and share your comments with us and many other travelers on Trip Advisor.

We very much regret if you felt we were not able to meet your expectations on our service and some of our facilities. However, we would like to mention that we always encourage our staff to give their best and to offer pleasant travel experiences to our guests.

We sincerely hope we have another opportunity to have you again with us at any of our
properties and give you the real Casa Andina experience.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Puno

Address: Av. Sesqui Centenario 1970 | Sector Huaje, Puno 51, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Puno 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Private Collection Puno está enclavado a orillas del Lago Titicaca y goza de una ubicación espectacular, con vistas impresionantes del lago navegable más alto del mundo. Es un hotel de 45 habitaciones 100% no fumadoras y ofrece a sus huéspedes internet center, internet Wi-Fi de cortesía y sala de masajes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Puno Hotel Puno
Puno Casa Andina Private Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Private Collection Puno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.