We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Titicaca tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi to your Saves list
Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Isla Suasi Lago Titicaca | Puno, Puno, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Titicaca tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our two days spent on Sausi Island were one of the highlights of our two-week vacation in Peru.
Leaving the more popular tourist spots behind - e.g. Cusco and Machu Picchu - this was a welcome change of pace! What a wonderful place! How great it was to relax and enjoy the beautiful gardens and the views.
Our stay was made particularly memorable by Raul, the ever-present guide, who took us on
the evening hike to Itapilluni Hill. As we wound our way up the hillside past alpacas and vicunas, we learned so much about local history and culture. The following morning Raul introduced us to Martha and her house and gardens.
Overall, the hotel was outstanding because of its unpretentious simplicity and its idyllic location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    31
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
55
150
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our first sight of Lake Titicaca, we had a room by the lake/garden, really nice..and quiet..Although felt very sick because of the altitude, it was an adventure to discover..The hotel was good, beautiful views, with their own private port. The restaurant was ok, again with same menu..as the other Casa Andina. Breakfast generous as usual, staff although struggling wit their English was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was possibly the most unique hotel experience I have ever had. My wife and I traveled by car from Puno since there was a problem with the boat. Someone from the hotel informed us the night before and told us we could leave whenever we wanted which was nice. After getting to the coast near the island, we took a small boat to get to the resort.

Our guide, Raul, told us all about the island, the native species, its history, etc. When we got there, we found out we were the only guests in the hotel! We were greeted with drinks and a huge delicious lunch. We spent the afternoon walking around the island seeing the wild alpacas and vicunas (and one very strange alpaca/vicuna hybrid). Dinner was whatever time we wanted it served and was great. While we were eating, Raul set a fire in our stove and placed hot water-bottles in the bed - I cannot overstate how awesome this was. I had the best night of sleep of our entire trip. In the morning, we had a made to order breakfast, and just took in the natural beauty and relaxed. Like other reviewers have said, there is limited electricity, but there are central charging stations.

We left around noon by boat making stops on the Uros floating islands. These were very interesting, but a little awkward since we were the only people and clearly these stops were set up to sell things to tourists.

Bottom Line: If you can work this into your trip, do it. It is like nothing else I have ever experienced. It truly is an eco-resort. I think 2 days would have been perfect. We were a little rushed with 1 day. I hope that one day, we will be able to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I wish everyone else could have the same experience we had at Isla Suasi: we were the only guests on the island and had the whole staff to ourselves! Wilson, the manager, was there for us the whole time and provided great suggestions for the continuation of our trip (he actually set the record straight after an incredibly incompetent Casa Andina staffer comfortably sitting in Lima, responding to a message I had sent directly to the Isla Suasi email address, said she had no time to waste to answer questions about local specificities... - my question was simple: do I have enough time to catch a bus to go to Bolivia once the boat gets back to Puno... maybe such emails should be dealt with by Wilson and his team in the first place, as they are more aware of local conditions). Our transfer to the island was very professional, with a guide getting us from our hotel and driving us to the pier, where we boarded our private boat to the island, stopping at two wonderful sites on the way. Once at Isla Suasi, we were welcomed by Wilson and by Raúl, who is the most wonderful guide you can dream of (we not only talked about the local fauna and flora at length, but also discussed movies, Middle Eastern politics and... pantheism!). We used the hotel's steam room, with fresh eucalyptus please! The food was not that imaginative (which was a bit disappointing given Peru's record), but good nevertheless.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

An OPTION not to overlooked. Sole purpose was for some respite during a nine week S.A. holiday. We weren't disappointed. All was private - belonging to the guests only. Boat ride and stop-overs to the island fascinating. Scenery spectacular and so peaceful and quiet. Power outage not an issue after candle light only staying in the Amazon. Great service and enjoyed the simple life.

Room Tip: They all looked over Lake Titikaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is a beautiful building with incredible landscaping and a gorgeous view of Lake Titacaca. Unfortunately the service and accommodations do not match the beauty of the grounds. We were informed on arrival that there would not be power between 10AM and 5PM and then 10PM to 5AM. With that said, there was also no heat so our rooms we were incredibly cold throughout the day and especially at night (slept with gloves and a hat on). A fire was supposed to be lit in the fireplaces in our rooms at 7PM every night, but unfortunately the fire did not last more than 5 minutes. At one point, one of the employees was trying to get the fire to stay lit for 45 minutes and he still couldn't do it. They also would not light the fires in the main lobby so it remained cold in there as well. In addition, we were told we would get hot water bottles in our bed each night since it would be so cold in our rooms. The first night, we did not receive them. The second night, we specifically asked twice for them. They put 2 hot glass bottles of water in our bed. This was the same water that was available in the restaurant. The food was practically inedible and that was really disappointing as that was the only place you could eat on the island. Breakfast & lunch were okay, but dinner was really bad. The meat was over salted, the sides were flavorless and it looked like they were reusing leftovers from breakfast and lunch to fill in here. It was also unclear how some drinks were included and some were not. We ordered Pisco Sours on New Years Eve to enjoy before dinner and they simply never came. Finally, they never cleaned the bathroom that was next to the restaurant the entire time we were there.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - Lake Titicaca is a must see but I would recommend doing it without adding Casa Andina to your itinerary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about our Private Collection Suasi Island hotel. We value your feedback, as this represents an opportunity to continue improving our service every day.

We are sorry to know that we did not fulfill your expectations and please, accept our apology for the inconveniences presented. We regret about the perception you took from our service. The commitment of our hotel is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions allow us to constantly seek for improvement alternatives.

Rest assured that your critic has been shared with the involved areas, as well as our hotel manager in order to reinforce this matter with our team.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Last June I spent a couple of days in Casa Andina, Suasi Island, I'd never been to Puno before and I was told that Titicaca lake was worth visiting.

I have read some notes published in local newspapers regarding this eco lodge, which functions mainly with solar panels and has been built using materials from the island. Suasi is a very tiny island and all you have is the hotel....and nature. There are some fun activities for those who need more adrenaline (hiking, trekking, kayaking). Or....you can enjoy a wonderful massage in their spa

The staff is kind and helpful, rooms are simple and comfortable and have beautiful views. Food is simple and tasteful. What else could you wish for? If you enjoy quiet and nature and would like to discover a hidden jewel, this is the place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi

Address: Isla Suasi Lago Titicaca | Puno, Puno, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solar-powered ecolodge on remote and uniquely beautiful Isla Suasi-the only private island in massive Lake Titicaca, the world's highest navigable body of water. Featuring panoramic lake views from every room, surrounded by terraced gardens and designed with native materials (stone, adobe and thatched roofs) to blend into the island, the lodge is committed to being green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi Hotel Puno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.