We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory--clean, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani to your Saves list
Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Independencia 185, Puno 36, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Satisfactory--clean, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This street is having its utilities put underground--but it no longer has the 3 foot deep hole running the length of the block--I would assume that the street will be paved by the end of November.

Due to the construction, our tour bus had to drop us off at the corner and we had to walk to the hotel. But the hotel sent staff out to carry our luggage into the hotel for us.

First night we ate in the hotel--it was raining and had been a long drive (over 11 hours with stops) from Cusco to Puno. The dining room had only one waiter and only one person making pizzas (menu was pretty much pizzas and calzones). Our group of 16 ate there and there were many others--so service was a bit stretched--but the calzone we had was delicious!

Room was smallish but clean; bed was comfortable. Shower small. WiFi signal was weak unless I sat by the door--we were around the corner from the antennae. On the second floor, there were two computers and a printer, so you could print out your boarding passes, etc. However, the bandwidth is quite small and the internet is SLOW!

Breakfast was okay with ham, cheese, breads, juice, coffee (and hot milk!).

Short walk to the main square and cathedral--lots of shopping even on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    116
    54
    14
    0
See reviews for
34
108
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Lake Titikaka.
Hotel & rooms are basic but perfect to stay in for stop over for Lake Titikaka.
Rooms were quiet spacious and beds v comfy.
Rooms were quiet cold but there was a heater in the room and additional blankets available if needed. Our bedroom did smell a little musty but a spray of perfume solved that.
Staff were not overly friendly just the guy cooking the Pizzas which were v good.
Breakfast was just ok not as good as other hotels we stayed in along the way.
Location v central. Just off main st. The road outside hotel is under construction so don't be alarmed on arrival.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for letting us know about your experience at our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you rested properly in your room. As you mention, the weather can get cold; however, we provide additional blankets and heaters to make our guests’ stay more comfortable.

On the other side, we regret if you perceived the service did not match with our standards. Rest assured that your impressions will be shared with our team in order to reinforce this matter shortly.

We hope we can welcome you back at any of our properties.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viimsi, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent a night in the hotel. It was not so easy to find because the street in front of the hotel was being reconstructed and everything was torn up. After getting into the hotel, the contrast of the hotel and the surroundings was enormous. The whole hotel and reception area felt modern, spacious and clean.

The reception staff was professional and helpful with good command of English as a balance to our lack of Spanish.

Our room on the ground floor was really big and spacious, also clean. The breakfast was also good with many choices. So overall a good and modern hotel in good locations - its only a couple of minutes walking to any other place in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We probably weren't in the best frame of mind having departed a luxurious trip on the Andean Explorer to find our transfer not waiting for us and wondering what and where we should go now.
A helpful lady organised a taxi for us and for about $2 we eventually found our hotel about 5 minutes from the train station
The road outside the hotel was a mess (see pic), but our luggage was quickly carried to the lobby by some helpful boys and we were welcomed with smiles and a speedy check in.
A quick explanation that the road was under repair not normally like that may have settled us into thinking we hadn't booked into some dodgy down market accommodation.
A little shell-shocked we got to our room. Small and basic is a good description.
Linen felt old, a bit smelly and musty as if it needed a further wash.
Shower was cold in the morning.
No safety box.
We went downstairs to find a drink and something to eat. Menu consisted of very basic pizza.
After waiting 20 minutes to be served we decided to call it quits and go back to the room and eat some of our trail mix instead and check our gear.
We were up early and skipped breakfast (but saw the breakfast bar) so can't report on that but if anything like dinner I'd suggest it was pretty basic.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Can't say I ever really relaxed or found anything enjoyable about staying here.
Average at best ... then I'm not sure what else there is in Puno ... not the greatest looking town I've ever seen, but you have to overnite here if you do the Cusco to Puno Andean Explorer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

There was nothing wrong with the hotel - the room was comfortable, clean and attractive and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Many restaurants close by. But the street out front was excavated to a depth of about 1 meter and we had to climb over piles of dirt and debris. The entire block was affected. Especially bad at night when the lighting wasn't all that good and the street was muddy after a rain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with our team.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your last stay with us. As you mentioned, the local government is turning the street in front of the hotel into a pedestrian area. Nevertheless, our team is working to reduce the disturbance this may cause to our guests.

We hope you visit us any time soon.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The staff is helpful and efficient and why I rated 4 stars. The road in front of hotel is currently torn up so transportation needs to stop about a block away - staff runs for luggage and quickly brings up to room - much appreciated as hotel does not have any elevators. Room is quite basic - I stayed in two different rooms and there are differences in size and features (a larger one that had a bathtub, and a smaller one with just a shower). Breakfast is basic fare. Wi-fi only works in lobby - with better reception in the breakfast area vs front of hotel. Hotel is convenient to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutheran All Faiths Cemetery; Queens, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was an overnight guest at the Casa Andina on September 13/14, 2013. The facilities are great, the breakfast buffet is a treat, but the staff -- they're in a class by themselves! Through some mixup with my travel agency, I was not picked up at the hotel for my flight to Lima. Helaman Espinoza and Veronica Navarro to the rescue! They stepped in, replacing my faltering high school Spanish with respectful, diplomatic phone calls in my behalf. With tact, combined with just the right measured weight of authority, they solved my problem. A guide and driver soon arrived and my travels continued without further delay.

Thank you, Helaman and Veronica!

Room Tip: There's no elevator service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani

Address: Independencia 185, Puno 36, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A medium-size, easygoing hotel with several relaxing public areas, including a fireplace lounge and courtyard. Close to Puno’s restaurant and bar scene along the pedestrian-only Lima boulevard — just a 5-minute walk— but just far enough removed to make sure visitors get a good night’s sleep. More spacious, with larger bedrooms and with more public areas, than Casa Andina’s other downtown Puno Classic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani Hotel Puno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.