We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, modern and comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, modern and comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Puno did not seem to be a particularly beautiful city. It was our starting point for a lake Titikaka cruise and the Tierra Viva Hotel was the right base camp for that purpose. Staff has been very helpful and friendly to us. The room was quite, clean, not too spacious, but it had a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was so so, but no complaints. The location was perfect, very close to Lima Road, where most restaurants are, and Plaza de Armas. We met a European business traveller in the hotel who stayed here long term and seemed to be convinced that this is one of the best hotels in town. I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Denneo,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza with other travelers.

Hope to welcome as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    127
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
220
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel felt like an oasis in Puno - clean, comfortable and you can hang out in your room in case you feel the effects of altitude sickness because it's comfortable. Service was great. Bed was huge. Wifi was a bit spotty but there are computers in the lobby if you really need to be online. Breakfast was also good. Hotel made arrangements for transfers and kept our luggage safe. No regrets and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear MariselaRita,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Puno Plaza as "Amazing".

If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you at our hotels in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located just a few steps from the main plaza and therefore the fee sites that exist in Puno (outside of the scenes and the islands of course). Restaurants and shopping is also a few steps away.

The staff is very helpful in arranging excursions.

The breakfast was also very good.

The rooms are clean and the king bed we had was the biggest bed I've slept in, in my life. Nothing bad to say about this place. :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Angelod155019,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Puno Plaza as “Top notch in all ways”.

If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you at our hotels in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Puno Plaza is a very nice Hotel. Located just a 2 minutes walk from the "plaza de armas" and about 20 minutes to the port. We had arrived at 9 a.m. and could checkin at 10 a.m. Additionaly we got a free upgrade. The room was big, the bed even bigger, and throughout it was very clean. The Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Taxis and Airport shuttle were arranged, tour to the Uros was also organized by the Hotel. We stayed there 3 nights. We just can recommend this Hotel!!!!

Room Tip: We had room 405. Top floor, very big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Piranja23,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Puno Plaza as “Very good”. We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Rooms are large and spotlessly clean. Hotel is conveniently located just one block away from the Plaza de Armas. Staff were very professional and accommodating. We had arrived very early in the morning and the hotel staff offered to keep our bags in storage while we joined the island tours of Lake Titicaca. There was a good variety of food served for breakfast. Had a very comfortable and good night's sleep and therefore would highly recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Shortbread0504,

Thank you for your excellent comment!!

Our mission at Tierra Viva is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. That means, that we will do whatever is in our hands to help our travelers to enjoy the city they are visiting.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel is only half a block away from Lima street in Puno, which is where all the tourist restaurants, souvenir shops, and tour companies are located. We could not ask for a more convenient location. The hotel is also only a couple of blocks away from the two main plazas in town (where a lot of tours drop off).

Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. A good variety of hot and cold items. Loved the sausages, bread, and fruit. Front desk hotel associates were very nice and helpful. Room was small but clean. Furnishings were pretty new.

Only issue I had was with the shower not draining fast enough in our room. At the end of the shower, you are standing in a puddle of soapy water. As a result, a smell permeated into the room (after a full day away from the room). But the smell quickly dissipated once we opened the windows.

Overall, decent room and hotel for the price we paid. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor and faces away from the main street (could get noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Jenny C,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza with other travelers.

Thank you for your comment. Please accept our apologies for the unhappy situation that you have described. At Tierra Viva we always review our guest´s comments and feedback to improve our service and to avoid unpleasant situation from happening again.

We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels is as pleasant as possible and we hope to welcome as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed here one night at the end of May, for a boat tour of Lake Titicaca. We also stayed one night at the Tierra Viva in Miraflores, Lima. I would describe this chain as Modern Minimal, reliably clean, spacious, and in good locations. In Puno my room was great, the bathroom clean with good water pressure, and the breakfast satisfying, The reason I deduct a rating point is not really a fault of the hotel, but rather a disco next door. It was a Friday night, and the disco was thumping until 3 or 4am. Really thumping. I'm a heavy sleeper, but the trick that night was getting to sleep, which took me a few frustrating hours. I was on the 2nd floor, my friend's room was higher up and didn't hear a thing, so I guess unless that disco closes I would recommend you get a room on a higher floor, and all will be good. The staff was also great at recommending and arranging a boat tour of the lake, and also our car to the airport.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Jon W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers.

We are so sorry and strongly apologize for the noise issues that you had during your stay at our hotel.

We truly hope that you continue to be our guest at Tierra Viva Hotels if you ever have the chance to visit us again.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Address: Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#3 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is located in Grau Street, at the heart of the city of Puno, just a block away from Puno´s Cathedral and Main Square (“Plaza de Armas”) and a few steps away from Jirón Lima, an important commercial and touristic pedestrian street.Our hotel has been completely renovated and offers 30 spacious and comfortable rooms.Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is the ideal place to rest, recharge your batteries and prepare for a new adventure at the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the city named as the “capital of Peruvian Folklore”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Puno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.