We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Puno
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The room is super clean and beautifull, it has a heater (which is a must in july/august), location wise is at the back of the central plaza, staff was also very friendly, free breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jazmin T,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “great hotel with great service”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    127
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
220
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location, and probably the most modern hotel I have stayed at in Peru. The rooms were clean, nice and large. The shower had reliable hot water, and the breakfast was good.

The staff was also very kind and flexible with our changing plans, as one in our group got sick. They were nice in calling the clinic, and were always cheerful.

A great place to stay!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Julia L,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for considering Tierra Viva an “Amazing" hotel.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great modern hotel near downtown Puno. The staff was excellent and we were traveling with perishable items and they make a space in their kitchen's fridge. I cannot say enough thanks to their staff, very helpful and knowledgeable. We didn't have time to take an organized tour and they suggest us to take a private boat directly form the Puno port. We haggle on the price and we got our time in the Lake Titicaca.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Irving2014,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great Location! Late check in was no problem. The front desk was fantastic. They helped us several times while trying to book our boats, lodge and time out on the islands of Lake Titicaca. The hotel also offered secure lock up for luggage while on the islands. The breakfast was good, filling and plenty to choose from. The rooms were clean, spacious, quiet and the beds were comfortable. I would highly recommend this to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jenn076,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Place to Stay”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRR
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent 3nights stay at Tierra Viva. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly, responding to all requests and referring us to tours and nearby restaurants. They went out of their way to book us a horseback riding trip and making sure to obtain taxis for an early morning train departure.

The rooms are good sized (we had 2 king bedrooms), the bathrooms are modern. Everything is clean and the decor and carpeting make the rooms feel very cozy despite the cold and rain outside.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely choose it again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were skeptical about what to expect in Puno, but Tierra Viva surprised us big time! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Puno! Rooms are modern, spacey enough, very clean, there's an elevator, safe etc. 24 hr coca tea service. Front desk is extremely friendly, location is superb, and breakfast is delish; well done!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Alex K,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recomending Tierra Viva to other travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This little hotel is great value in a prime location. Would certainly recommend if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in downtown Puno.
- great value for the price
- great breakfast spread
- reasonably clean rooms
- tea always available in the lobby

This isn't a five star hotel, but it is a lovely little three star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear chl_brooklyn,

Thank you so much for your comment and for having stayed at our hotel.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again at Tierra Viva in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Address: Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puno
#3 Business Hotel in Puno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is located in Grau Street, at the heart of the city of Puno, just a block away from Puno´s Cathedral and Main Square (“Plaza de Armas”) and a few steps away from Jirón Lima, an important commercial and touristic pedestrian street.Our hotel has been completely renovated and offers 30 spacious and comfortable rooms.Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is the ideal place to rest, recharge your batteries and prepare for a new adventure at the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the city named as the “capital of Peruvian Folklore”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Puno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.