We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Best hotel on our trip to Peru. Stayed two nights. Very central, excellent free wifi, good breakfast, free water bottles every day and free coca-tea. Really comfortable bed. Great service. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear enology,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    147
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
250
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
969 reviews 969 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Modern although plain building, central location, clean but not still plain rooms - nothing special about this hotel, usually just a dorm before/after Titicaca lake visit but amazingly fast and reliable Internet - for first time during three weeks trip we have actually managed to download something - rare enough to be mentioned !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Scipion-Paris,

Thank you so much for your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is new, very well decorated. The bed was awesome (king size). Location is excellent, next to lots of great restaurants and bars. Loved the breakfast. The staff was super helpful and kind to us. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Kaityana,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for one night in what turned out to be a nicer town than I had expected. Hotel is very well located just off the main square and near lots of restaurants and bars. Good staff, decent breakfast and clean and pleasant room. Wifi was pretty good too. Very solid all round and a short taxi from the pier to go and see the floating islands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear DelfromLondon,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any of our hotels very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tierra Viva was our last hotel in Peru. The staff was very helpful and spoke the best English we encountered on the trip. This was very helpful because we hadn’t arranged our trip to Lake Titicaca prior to arriving. Upon check-in (6pm), we asked if it was too late to book a tour and we were presented with many options for our day at the Lake. The staff was knowledgeable about many different tour companies and what they offer. He arranged for a tour group to come speak with us at 8pm, after dinner. After we put our luggage in our rooms, we went to dinner (a restaurant recommended by the front desk) and came back to the hotel to meet with our tour guide. It was such an easy, smooth process. We booked a tour for the next morning.

The staff was also helpful in getting medical help when needed. My brother needed oxygen in the middle of the night and requested to see a doctor (who came directly to our room and spoke perfect English). The whole process took about 30 minutes and we felt we were taken care of.

The hotel has an elevator, which is helpful when dealing with the altitude, breakfast was comparable to all of our breakfasts in Peru, the room was pre-heated upon arrival and the beds were comfortable. The only cons we have for this hotel are 1. They don’t provide pick up from the airport, just the train station. You can arrange for airport pick-up, but you have to call ahead (we thought to call from Cusco) and it cost 80/soles (which isn’t that much). 2. There is a club called Déjà Vu on the same street as the hotel and it is open until around 4am. Although you can’t really hear the music, you can feel the music all night long, making sleep not as restful.

There isn’t much to do in Puno except go to Lake Titicaca, but the location of this hotel was great for what there was. There is a pedestrian street less than 2 minutes from the door of the hotel entrance which had lots of restaurants to choose from and shops to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear JBod,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with all tripadvisor´s travelers.

We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The bed for my husband and I was literally the size of two US double beds. It was so roomy and luxurious! The staff was super helpful with everything (booking a lake trip and a taxi to the Juliaca airport) and the breakfast was a large spread. Couple that with the great location and I would highly reccommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear astrowaffles,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of travelers.

We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our room was comfortable and amazing. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing- the best we had in Peru. Puno isn't a very exciting town aside from the lake... it was worth paying a little more to stay somewhere nice. This hotel really wasn't that expensive for the quality that we got. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and it was amazing. We had a living room, king size bed, and a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear romerome22,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to the rest of travelers.

We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Address: Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#5 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is located in Grau Street, at the heart of the city of Puno, just a block away from Puno's Cathedral and Main Square ("Plaza de Armas") and a few steps away from Jiron Lima, an important commercial and touristic pedestrian street.Our hotel has been completely renovated and offers 30 spacious and comfortable rooms.Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is the ideal place to rest, recharge your batteries and prepare for a new adventure at the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the city named as the "capital of Peruvian Folklore". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Puno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.