We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a hotel-y hotel, you know? No crazy character, but it is modern, immaculate and the staff is friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in Puno. The main tourist drag and the Plaza de Armas are very near by. It is in a safe area. When we were there in mid-December, the whole street in front was torn up, but we didn't hear any construction inside the hotel.
It was the first nice place we stayed (we were hosteling for most of our trip, and it felt really good to have a nice, hot shower and to watch a little bit of Harry Potter y el Principe Mestizo on cable. Good times!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear 14Philly,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having staying with us.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    147
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
250
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I love the staff, they took amazing care of ne when i got altitude sickness, they brought in tea, drinks and oxygen. They even ordered soup for me. The rooms are clean and beds are comfy. The breakfast is simple but really good, no complaint at all!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear mflaque,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our second Tierra Viva we stayed in on our trip, and after a great experience in Arequipa, our expectations were very high for this one. We were slightly disappointed by the Tierra Viva in Puno, however.

The hotel is clean for the most part and looks modern like the other locations. It is located a block off of the main tourist strip in Puno. The hotel had free Coca tea and the breakfast was diverse and delicious. The room was equipped with a heater that shielded us from the cool, damp Puno nights.

However, there were a couple of things about the hotel that disappointed us. While the location is good, it is located on a street that is under construction, and thus taxis and minibuses that came to pick us up/drop us off for our tours had to do so a couple of blocks away. This was not ideal when we were carrying our suitcases, but not the end of the world. The hallway and our room had a somewhat funky, damp smell. They have two computers in the lobby and free wi-fi, but the internet runs slowly.

The biggest issue we had was that when we came back from a tour one day, our room had been left unlocked by the cleaning lady. We told the front desk about this, and were only given a half-hearted “sorry” from the front desk staff and a tearful apology from the cleaning lady. We were not trying to get her in trouble, but that is unacceptable for that to happen at a hotel, and the staff should have done something to make it right. Even something as small as offering to provide a free transfer to the bus station the next day (S/ 5) would have gone a long way in our minds. But unfortunately, the people at Tierra Viva Puno were not as friendly or helpful as their counterparts in Arequipa. The hotel is nice, but there were cheaper options that we saw that probably would have been better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Michael V,

Thank you so much for your comment and for having stayed at our hotel.

We strongly apologize for the inconvenient that you had with your room, and we can assure you that the corrective measures have been taken in order to avoid that this problem could happen again.

Regarding the construction of the street that you mentioned in your comment. The Municipality of Puno, are completely refurnishing it and it will be finished in the first week of January converting that street probably in the most beautiful of Puno.

Once again, thank you for your comment and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I think this is the best hotel in Puno if you are planning on staying in Puno itself and not being totally isolated in the jungle or in an island. the hotel is simple, very helpful and friendly staff (arranging tours, cabs, etc), comfortable and clean rooms and great location close to the plaza de armas in Puno. for the price it's definitely one of the best value hotels I've stayed in. breakfast is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear jesusnunezunda,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering our hotel in Puno: “The best value hotel you have stayed in”.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iquitos
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Every person that works at this hotel is wonderful. My wife and I were adversely affected by altitude sickness and they took such good care of us. There overall rating is really off the scale. I would give them a 6 for caring.

The beds were wonderful with plenty of pillows. The mattress was firm, my pillow was like sleeping on air.

The heater worked good. Plenty of storage. The safe was...well...safe.

Wi-fi was fast.

The showers were great, plenty of pressure, hot water at all times.

The breakfast buffet was the best meal we ate in Puno.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear DawnontheAmazon,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The location is perfect. Room was nice and spacious. We had a suite and it worked great for us (me, my husband and two kids). Staff was very friendly and were willing to help whenever needed.Their breakfast was also really good. I would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Priyanka G,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We are so glad that you had a “wonderful stay with us” and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a great stay in this centrally located hotel. I think this is the best place to stay in Puno. The hotel is brand new and has the biggest beds we'd ever seen. Also the best breakfast in our journey in Peru with 3 different kinds of fruit juices, eggs and yoghurt. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Also you could use the computers in de main lobby and every day we received two small bottles of water in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear L_Brouwer,

Thank you so much for your excellent commment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Address: Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#5 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is located in Grau Street, at the heart of the city of Puno, just a block away from Puno's Cathedral and Main Square ("Plaza de Armas") and a few steps away from Jiron Lima, an important commercial and touristic pedestrian street.Our hotel has been completely renovated and offers 30 spacious and comfortable rooms.Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is the ideal place to rest, recharge your batteries and prepare for a new adventure at the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the city named as the "capital of Peruvian Folklore". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Puno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.