We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balsa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balsa to your Saves list
Hotel Balsa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jiron Cajamarca 555, Puno 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is the best accommodation we had during our trip to Peru with proper running toilet, hot water, free internet, and very good breakfast. We stayed here for 2 nights as our home base for our Lake Titicaca day excursion. It is clean and very reasonable in price. Situated in the heart of Puno (about 2 blocks away from Plaza de Armas) close to many restaurants, even though the town itself overall is grey, drabby, poor, and boring.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
31
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed at Balsa Inn for 2 nights - before and after our trip to the Islands of lake Titicaca.

It is located near the main plaza and the front desk staff are polite and helpful, but that's about it. The room we were given had a skylight but no window that actually opened out to fresh air. Our bathroom and the neighboring room's bathroom both vented out into our room's closet area and then up to some makeshift chimney (although the neighbor bathroom window was thankfully boarded up). Of course we could hear everything going on in the next room. Our bedding was also stained and didn't look clean.

Breakfast was mediocre at best. I don't know what we paid for the room as it was part of the package, but this place was not even as good as some of the plain and simple hostals we stayed at, much less a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms both of which were fairly dark & old fashioned. 1st room had a half glazed door from the corridor as its attempt at a window! The second was better but still odd with windows to corridor & a kind of atrium which leaked when it rained & boy does it rain here! Overall an uninspiring stay but adequate for a night. Paid 45USD for a single room

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

It's situated in a slightly grubby looking side street, but it's only one block away from the main square and yet it's still nice and quiet at night.

There's plenty of choice for an evening meal just a short walk away down a pedestrian street (a welcome novelty in South America!). I really liked Puno, it has a nice atmosphere.

The room was big and the bed was enormous - easily big enough for three people (I imagine!). Bed side tables on both sides, and side lamps too. Plenty of wardrobe space, and room for luggage.

The small fridge is also handy for keeping drinks and chocolate cool on hot sunny days.

The bathroom was clean and fresh, though the shower was a little disappointing after the high standard of everything else. The shower door was taped open for some reason, and at peak times the water pressure and temperature consistency can be poor.

They have lifts! And a working WiFi, and working Internet terminals in the reception area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is an average hotel. If you're a budget traveler, the room is allright although the carpet was far from clean and paint blistered off the wall at certain spots. The shower, however was super and there were 2 PC's in the hallway free to use. The breakfast was extensive and there is an elevator. In short, it's a perfect hotel when you're on a passage through Colca, Cuzco or Bolivia. And moreover, it is situated in the center (?) of Puno.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Only a short walk to the central square & market. Breakfast menu above average for a typical Peru Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

This was an average hotel as far as facilities go. The location was good - right by the cathedral. The staff was really great... very very helpful and always a smile on their faces. I stayed 2 nights, one at the beginning of my Lake Titicaca homestay journey and one at the end. The first night I got a pretty good room. It was a bit cold, but the heater provided eventually warmed it up. Bathroom was clean - not the ritz, but overall not too bad. The second night the room was clean, but again quite cold and unfortunately the heater didn't work too well. There was also a bit of an 'sewage' like smell starting at around 10PM to about 9AM - very good. I am very sure the hotel would have been more than happy to resolve my 'issues' for night 2, but I was just too tired to call down
and tell them :), so I don't hold it against them.

They are also the first hotel I have stayed in so far in Peru that had room service. It's not expensive. The chicken sandwich was quite good - chocolate cake was not so good. Oh and the coffee they serve at breakfast and via room service is quite horrible - perhaps bring some Starbucks VIA with you ;)!

I do recommend this hotel if you are on a budget (I am not sure how much it was as my stay there was included in a package I purchased throught GAP Adventures).

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balsa

Address: Jiron Cajamarca 555, Puno 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balsa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your best and safer choice. With our welcoming attention and efficient service you will feel at home.The Balsa Hotel offers to all its guests the comfort of its modern facilities and equipment, thus like its experience in Hotels.Our only intention is to satisfy desires and necessities with our guests, guaranteeing their unforgettable holidays and making the most of your . Luxury rooms and bathrooms Buffet Breakfast included for all guests All carpeted rooms Box spring beds Super king beds Private bathroom with tub and shower Hot water 24 hours Heating in all rooms Hair Dryer in all rooms Safe box in all rooms Telephone in all rooms WI-FI in all Hotel TV per cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Balsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.