We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake to your Saves list
Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Chulluni 195 | Barrio Nueva Esperanza, Puno 00000, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We fond this hotel to be perfect for our needs (which were basically sleeping and showering around our tour of Lake Titicaca). Our room was very large, had a window seat overlooking the bay, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a little removed from the busier downtown area, but a car ride into town was 10 soles (the front desk called it for us) and the ride back (when we just took a cab from the street) was only 7 soles. Breakfast was good, with a variety each day, and the breakfast room looks out onto the pen of llamas (or alpacas, I still can't tell them apart) which was entertaining.
There was a little market of handicrafts in the front yard of the hotel, which was slightly bizarre and slightly entertaining. There was free wifi throughout the hotel, although it was only supposed to be in the lobby, we were able to connect from our second floor room).
The maid left us a towel animal on our second night. The shower had plenty of hot water and all of the basic amenities (soap, shampoo, and lotion) were left for us in the bathroom.
Water was available from the restaurant in the lobby for 4 soles per 625 ml bottle.
Our room was at the front of the hotel, so it looked out at the water, but also at the train tracks. One train passed each night that we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    95
    56
    14
    4
See reviews for
34
87
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I agree that the eco inn is simple and not centrally located but it suited our purposes fine. The rooms were nice and clean and I appreciated the 110V and 220V choices in the bathroom. dining area is also simple but nice. Outside it is located right beside the railroad tracks but I don't ever recall a train going by (I could be wrong). Our room window faced a backyard with a few animals (lama, cat, sheep?, not sure). We really enjoyed Puno although the 12,000 feet altitude change can be challenging! Taquila Island was beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the backyard - its cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, MA/naples, FL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our two night stay at the Eco-Inn, Puno was satisfactory. The hotel and rooms are quite modern-bright and airy and our room had a nice view of Lake Titicaca. The location did have its drawback-Puno was not walkable (we knew this in advance)and required a taxi ride back and forth. We did go into Puno once for dinner and enjoyed a delicious pizza at one of the many restaurants on the main street. Most guests at the Eco-Inn would do well to take all their meals outside of the hotel as our experience at dinner on our second evening was terrible. Dinner was a buffet and since we were too tired to venture out again we opted to give it a try. What a complete diaster--bony chicken, greasy fish (trout salmon), gluey pasta with a salsa-like sauce, a green salad, a vegetable or two and that was it! Dessert was fruit from breakfast sliced and placed in small bowls. We are both not fussy eaters and used to the ups and downs of eating in foreign countries, but this was beyond acceptable and a complete rip-off at $20 per person. The saddest part of dining at the Eco-Inn is the missed opportunity: the dining room is large, airy and its glass walls look out on lovely gardens where the resident llamas roam the premises often pressing their noses against the glass to the delight and sometimes surprise of the guests! Given the right management and culinary training the restaurant could easily become one of the finer dining options in the area. Until that happens, opt for pizza in town and that inexpensive taxi ride!

Room Tip: make sure your room has a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Lovely hotel with plush, clean, light and airy rooms. Best nights sleep in a long time! Amazing value for money given the location and facilities. Set beside other boutique hotels (Casa andina) with a far nicer view of the lake than that of ugly Puno, Eco Inn has a lot going for it. A beautifully fragrant garden with llamas wandering about, helpful and friendly staff, computers, tv and comfy reading area - it was like being home! Breakfast was fantastic - buffet style with a variety of fruit, cereal, bread, cheese, ham, scrambled eggs and potatos plus juices and goof coffee.

The only criticism is the overpriced menu at the restaurant - walk out, turn right and walk towards puno for far cheaper alternatives!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel was outside the centre of Puno and had lovely view of the lake.
Rooms are clean, have a decent size and comfortable bed.
Corridors noisy from about 4am as lots of echoing when guests are moving through the hotel.
Taxi to Puno was s/8 each way- not walking distance to town centre.
Functional hotel and meets most of the travellers needs.
Love the Llamas/ Alpacas in the garden.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

In a beautiful spot overlooking the lake. Not walking distance to town but costs S/7-8 in taxi. Rooms were nice and have a heater. Good size with big beds. No bar. Restaurant was very very busy so make sure you book a table or come down to eat after about 7.45. The food however is excellent and well worth the wait. Breakfast very standard but ok. Llamas in garden a nice touch as was the topiary.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I got a very bad first impression of the town of Puno when we arrived at the sleazy bus terminal: huge mesh bags stuffed with suffocating live chickens and canvas draw-string bags with live animals inside them wriggling around, plus no one was there to meet us! Fortunately I speak Spanish, so we took a taxi to the Eco Inn and I breathed a sigh of relief as soon as we arrived. The hotel is located lakeside on the outskirts of the "real Puno," in a peaceful, scenic setting with gardens with a topiary and herd of llamas. Nice rooms, all with a view of the lake. Good restaurant with breakfast buffet included. The receptionist was kind enough to call our tour agency and found out that their rep had erroneously arrived at 6:30 to meet our 5:00 bus and then made sure that all was set for our tour the next day. The floating islands were absolutely incredible, very National Geographic, but Isla Taquille wasn't worth the five-hour round trip (plus 530 steps up and 530 down, nice views but not alot to see there).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake

Address: Avenida Chulluni 195 | Barrio Nueva Esperanza, Puno 00000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake Hotel Puno
Eco Hotel Puno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.