We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hostal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huchuy Wasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Huchuy Wasi to your Saves list
Huchuy Wasi
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Jr. Iquitos 186 | four blocks from Parque Manuel Pino, Puno, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good basic hostal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Don't expect frills but this is.a good basic hostal. After I got over the initial shock of the dirt street and wandering dog outside, I found the hostal was in a reasonably safe area not far from the main plaza. I booked on Hotels.com and blackout curtains and city views were promised. Well no - the view was over the dirt street and no blockout curtains. It was quiet though. The owners were nice and a trip to the Uros Islands and Taquile was arranged for us for 60 soles which I think was a good price. Laundry was also done for 7 soles a kg. everything was returned all washed and nicely folded. The room was very small as was the bathroom. The shower was over the toilet.

Room Tip: Our room was small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is clean. Rooms a bit outdated, but so is the entire town. Owners and stuff are helpful. Hostel is close to the main square, supermarket and market and a 10 minute taxi to the tour peru bus station.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Lovely hostal in Puno, we were only there for one night but we were very happy with our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful giving us a map on arrival with suggestions on where to go (all in walking distance). Room was clean, not very big but spacious enough with plenty of blankets. Bathroom was spotless as well. Could not fault this hostal. Breakfast was great - pancakes, fresh bread, eggs, juice & tea/coffee we were very happy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Friendly, if a touch overbearing staff, who went out of their way to help. Good security, comfortable rooms and a nice breakfast. We were on the top floor so it was nice and quiet. Our beds were very comfortable and it was a nice treat to have a television! Only complaint is it is a little far from the centre - 10min walk at the most though so not a hassle, and the wifi was slow but hey, this is Peru!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. You have to hike up the stairs but it is worth it for a quiet nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our trip to Peru was a combination of 4* hotels and hostels. I like to have a bit of local feeling while luxury hotels tend to be the same all over. besides, it allows me to save some money. But in case of Puno it turned out to be a rare blessing: my husband got common cold in Cusco where weather was changing from very hot to very cold in a matter of an hour. We learned to carrycoats, t-shirts and rain ponchos with us everywhere but by the time we arrived to Puno things were looking quite bad. He was coughing non-stop and had trouble breathing. Initially I thought we'd have to move to a luxury hotel but he was in no condition to be moved. It turned out that Huchuy Wasi was the place to be - despite of being a very basic hostel it had a great personnel with willingness to help and multiple connections. A physician was called to see my husband, diagnosed bronchitis aggravated by altitude sickness and prescribed antibiotics as IV, saying that we had no time to wait for pills to act. One of the Huchuy Wasi personnel was a nurse who administered IV to my husband and looked over him the whole night by staying in the next room. Marilin brough oxygen and it turned out to be a life saver as the nurse had to give it my husband at night twice. The physician came to see my husband next morning and declared him better but recommended to leave ASAP or stay at bed until next day when our flight was scheduled. My husband insisted of seeing Uros and could not be persuaded otherwise. Eventually Marilin organized a private trip - for S/. 200 only - to Uros with a very nice guide, Rivi, who picked us up by a car, got us on a boat (two of us only), and brought us to Uros. We visited a small island with very nice families and were able to enjoy all that Uros has to offer without the downside (pressure to purchase something). Then my husband was returned to the hostel, and was seen by the physician again at the evening. At that point my husband, though still coughing, was feeling much better and we left next day quite happy. The service of the physician and the nurse wereS/. 100 each and I paid S/. 60 for medical supplies and antibiotics (Marilin was so kind that she went to a pharmacy herself and brought me all the receipts). I guess my travel insurance would pay it but even if not - it's not a big deal. Rivi took us to airport in the morning and we were given a boxed breakfast since we left very early and did not have time to eat. Again, it was a basic hostel with a simple room and very basic bathroom with no frills but my husband and I could not thank Marilin and Glorelisa (the nurse) enough for what they did to us.

Room Tip: we got a room on 3d floor since everything on 2d floor was occupied (and 1st floor is reception). It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm not quite sure how all the other reviews of this place are glowing, because I found it very average.

We stayed in a private double ensuite room for one night, and left the next day.
The first room we were offered was small, right above the main entrance (which had a very loud, long and annoying door bell) and right next to a noisy street.
I asked for a different room, which was not a problem at all. The second room was far bigger, with a double and single bed, one was soft and the other very hard. The room had very thin curtains on the interior window, and no curtains at all on the high exterior window. I was glad to see carpet, but it was dirty. The room was also extremely cold at night, with no heaters offered, and 3 incredibly stiff, heavy, thick wool blankets on the bed that almost crushed us once in bed.
The shower was not good at all, very low pressure and ran out of hot water quickly. We notified the staff, and this was fixed.
The breakfast was basic, including stale bread, eggs, margarine, jam and tea.

The place could be great with a spruce up and attention to detail. Yes it was fairly cheap, but we checked out after one night and moved to Qelqatani Hotel, which was more expensive but far and away more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huchuywasihostel, Propietario at Huchuy Wasi, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Doddos

Thank you for the time dedicated in writing this review.

We strongly apologize for the inconvenient that you had during your stay at our hostel. It is the first advice that we have received about noise and the others inconvenient. Yet, be completely sure that we will revise this problems and solve it immediately.

Once again, we are so sorry that you did not sleep well in our hostel, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Huchuy Wasi Hostel
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Hostel is nice, small, quiet and well located, clean and with good wifi-connection. It is run by an extremely nice and helpful family! They arranged everything for us when we had problems with getting to Cusco and even offered to prepare breakfast at an earlier time, since we had to leave so early in the morning.
Very recommendable!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huchuy Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huchuy Wasi

Address: Jr. Iquitos 186 | four blocks from Parque Manuel Pino, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Huchuy Wasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Huchuy Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huchuy Wasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.